面试

Dora Jar 准备起飞

 

朵拉罐

Dora Jar 是一位深刻的艺术家,w凭借她独特的卧室流行音乐、垃圾摇滚和民谣品牌, 她是典型的自由精神,有着古老的灵魂。 

将创意控制提升到一个新的水平,搭配新鲜的单曲和自导视频,Dora 一直忙于完善这个过程,让她能够 展示她弹性的声音和引人注目的风格。

从指导她的第一个音乐视频到将自己演奏音乐的小片段上传到 Instagram,Dora Jar 的旅程带领她走向了许多人认为的“实现梦想”。

Billie Eilish's 刚刚开业 比以往任何时候都快乐 游览, 朵拉罐 一直忙于发布她的新单曲'熊蜂',与重量级唱片公司 Island Records 的首次签约,加入了 Justin Beiber、J Lo 和 Demi Lovato 的才华。 

多拉继续制作一些多产的c与制作人 Solomonophonic、Felix Joseph、Ralph Castelli、Vron 和 John DeBold 建立了联系——Dora 与他们一起制作了她取得巨大成就的首张 EP, 数字草地. Moses Sumney 和 Charli XCX 等人,以及 Grimes 和 Billie Eilish 等人的早期联合签名,用于突破性的轨道,如 “波莉” “乘”

舒适地痛苦,朵拉最近的 EP,今年早些时候下线,赢得了她的高度评价 广告牌, , 和, 洪水杂志.

去年,多拉分享了在阿拉斯加霍普拍摄的精简现场歌曲集(观看 此处)。 为纪念土著人民日,Bandcamp 的音频销售收入的 100% 捐给了阿拉斯加因纽特人极地委员会,该组织的存在是为了代表阿拉斯加因纽特人的统一声音和集体精神。 

朵拉发行了她的第一首单曲 大黄蜂,以及今天的官方视频,该视频是她自编自导的,展示了当地舞蹈学生 Olive 和 Ophelia 的才华。 

Bumblebee 这首歌试图逃避人类痛苦的现实,并用大黄蜂的视角来交换它,大黄蜂是一种可以看到更高频率光的生物,一种有翅膀并且可以从寒冷坚硬的地面上飞翔的生物,为自然服务的生物。 当我想起这些智能生物的存在时,我的问题似乎很愚蠢,它们永远不会被困扰我的琐碎事情所困扰。”

始终如一地提供编写良好的吉他流行音乐杰出曲目,例如 大黄蜂, Dora Jar 已经赢得了她的翅膀,并准备在今年余下时间及以后起飞 - 请继续关注即将推出的更多音乐。

快乐的: 你今天过得怎么样? 你通常如何开始你的一天?

朵拉: 伟大的。 今天我做了瑜伽。 大多数时候,我会做一些冥想,然后喝咖啡、写作、弹吉他,然后去上课。

快乐的: 你最喜欢住在加州的什么? 在你住过的所有地方中,你最喜欢的地方是哪里?

朵拉: 我不是全职住在加利福尼亚,但我的家人住在。 当我全职住在这里时,我喜欢徒步旅行,我喜欢在这里开车,和我妈妈的狗 Leo 一起散步。 我没有最喜欢居住的地方,但生活在波兰有一些特别之处,因为它是我 DNA 的重要组成部分,我开始更加欣赏历史和语言,并与我的波兰家庭联系在一起。 

快乐的: 恭喜你的最新单曲, 大黄蜂. 你能告诉我们这首歌背后的意义和灵感吗?

 朵拉: Bumblebee 这首歌试图逃避人类痛苦的现实,并用大黄蜂的视角来交换它,大黄蜂是一种可以看到更高频率光的生物,一种有翅膀并且可以从寒冷坚硬的地面上飞翔的生物,为自然服务的生物。 

当我想起这些智能生物的存在时,我的问题似乎很愚蠢,它们永远不会被困扰我的琐碎事情所困扰。

快乐的: 您为 Bumblebee 制作的音乐视频非常生动有趣。 你能告诉我们一些关于你在主题和视觉效果背后的灵感吗?

朵拉: 我的朋友教芭蕾的两个舞者的能量启发了我。 他们一直跟着我的音乐跳舞,我很荣幸,想在现实生活中见到他们,亲自为他们演奏。 

为 Bumblebee 视频捕捉那种体验的快乐和自由似乎是正确的。

快乐的: 到目前为止,您已经导演了所有的音乐视频。 你的创作过程是什么样的? 你从哪里得出你的想法?

朵拉: 我一直非常参与视频的创意指导和规划——我通常与另一位导演共同导演。 我的视觉效果受到了 Pina Bausch 舞蹈团、Jitterbug Perfume、芝麻街、我的梦想和 David Lynch 这本书的启发。

快乐的: 我读到你在伦敦生活的一段时间里找到了一些音乐灵感。 这座城市有什么特别的地方激发了你创作音乐的创作灵感吗?

朵拉: 伦敦只是我录制原创音乐的第一个地方。 这就是我开始相信自己是一名艺术家的地方,而不是一个因对下一步做什么感到困惑而从大学辍学的人。 

快乐的: 你将为 Billie Eilish 的 XNUMX 月巡演开幕。 你对这次经历最期待什么?

朵拉: 首先,只是在 Billie 和她令人惊叹的团队和家人身边,他们是如此脚踏实地和热情好客,并拥有观看他们试音的令人难以置信的体验。 然后显然只是向这么多比莉粉丝表演,他们中的大多数人可能还不认识我,但比莉粉丝群有一些东西让他们成为最好的粉丝群。 他们的能量是无与伦比的。  

快乐的: 如果你可以和世界上任何一位艺术家合作,你会是谁?

朵拉: 大卫林奇或拉比西弗尔

听大黄蜂 这里

Interviews

Dora Jar is poised to take flight

 

dora jar

Dora Jar is an artist of deep substance, with her unique brand of bedroom pop, grunge, and folk, she is the quintessential free spirit with an old soul. 

Taking creative control to the next level with a fresh single and self-directed video to match, Dora has been busy perfecting the process that allows her to showcase her elastic sound and eye-catching style.

From directing her first music video to uploading little snippets of herself playing music to Instagram, Dora Jar’s journey has led her to what many consider to be ‘living the dream’.

Fresh off opening for Billie Eilish’s Happier Than Ever tour, Dora Jar has been busy releasing her new single ‘Bumblebee’, the first signing with label heavyweights Island Records, joining the talents of Justin Beiber, J Lo, and Demi Lovato. 

Dora has gone on to make some prolific connections with producers Solomonophonic, Felix Joseph, Ralph Castelli, Vron, and John DeBold – with whom Dora crafted her hugely accomplished debut EP, Digital Meadow. Early co-signs followed from the likes of Moses Sumney and Charli XCX, as well as Grimes and Billie Eilish for breakout tracks like “Polly” and “Multiply”

Comfortably In Pain, Dora’s most recent EP, dropped earlier this year, earning her high praise from Billboard, Pitchfork, and, FLOOD Magazine.

Last year, Dora shared a stripped-down live collection of songs filmed in Hope, Alaska (watch here). In recognition of Indigenous Peoples Day, 100% of proceeds from the sale of the audio on Bandcamp went to Inuit Circumpolar Council-Alaska, an organization that exists to be the unified voice and collective spirit of Alaskan Inuit. 

Dora has released her first single Bumblebee, alongside the official video today, which she self-directed, featuring the talent of local dance students Olive and Ophelia. 

Bumblebee the song is an attempt to escape the painful reality of human experience and trade it with the perspective of a bumblebee, a creature who can see a higher frequency of light, a creature who has wings and can fly off the cold hard ground, a creature that lives in service of nature. My problems seem silly when I remember the existence of these intelligent creatures who could never be bothered by the trivial things that bother me.”

Consistently delivering well-written guitar pop standout tracks like Bumblebee, Dora Jar has well earned her wings and is poised to take flight for the rest of the year and beyond – stay tuned for more music coming very soon.

Happy: How’s your day been? How do you usually start your days?

Dora: Great. Today I did Yoga. Most days I do a little meditation and then get coffee, write, play guitar and go to a session.

Happy: What’s your favourite thing about living in California? And of all the places you have lived, where was your favourite?

Dora: I don’t live in California full time but my family does. When I did live here full time, I loved hiking and I like driving when I’m here and walking with my mama’s dog Leo. I don’t have any favourite places to live, but there was something special about living in Poland because it’s a big part of my DNA and I began to appreciate the history and language a lot more and connected to my Polish family. 

Happy: Congrats on your latest single, Bumblebee. Can you talk us through the meaning and inspiration behind the song?

 Dora: Bumblebee the song is an attempt to escape the painful reality of human experience and trade it with the perspective of a bumblebee, a creature who can see a higher frequency of light, a creature who has wings and can fly off the cold hard ground, a creature that lives in service of nature. 

My problems seem silly when I remember the existence of these intelligent creatures who could never be bothered by the trivial things that bother me.

Happy: The music video you directed for Bumblebee is so vibrant and fun. Can you tell us a bit about your inspiration behind the theme and visuals?

Dora: I was inspired by the energy of the two dancers my friend teaches ballet to. They had been dancing to my music and I was so honored and wanted to meet them in real life and play for them in person. 

It seemed right to capture the joy and freedom of that experience for the Bumblebee video.

Happy: You’ve directed all of your music videos so far. What does your creative process look like? Where do you draw your ideas from?

Dora: I’m always very involved in the creative direction and planning of the videos – I normally co-direct with another director. My visuals have been inspired by the Pina Bausch dance company, the book Jitterbug Perfume, Sesame Street, my dreams, and David Lynch.

Happy: I read that you found some musical inspiration during a period of time when you were living in London. Was there anything in particular about the city that sparked the creative inspiration behind the music you were making?

Dora: London was just the first place I ever recorded my original music. And it’s where I started believing in myself as an artist and not a person who dropped out of college with confusion about what to do next. 

Happy: You’re opening for Billie Eilish on her tour in September. What are you most looking forward to about that experience?

Dora: First of all, just being around Billie and her amazing team and family who are so down to earth and welcoming, and having the incredible experience of watching their soundcheck. And then obviously just performing to so many Billie fans most of whom probably don’t know me yet but there is something about the Billie fanbase that makes them the best possible fanbase to perform to. Their energy is unmatched.  

Happy: If you could collaborate with any artist in the world, who would it be?

Dora: David Lynch or Labi Siffre

Listen to Bumblebee HERE