Listen to TWO new tunes from Mac Demarco and suss all the details for his new record This Old Dog

Heads up. Everyone’s favourite goofball Mac Demarco has TWO new tracks out, the first we’ve heard from him since he dropped his breakup classic Another One in 2015. And he’s dropped the details for a brand new record.

mac demarco this old dog

Everyone’s favourite goofball Mac Demarco just dropped TWO new tracks and announced the details for his brand new record This Old Dog.

The new record is called This Old Dog and is set for release on May 5th via Captured Tracks. It was started in Queens, New York and finished in L.A. Explaining how the album came to fruition, he says:

“I demoed a full album, and as I was moving to the West Coast I thought I’d get to finishing it quickly. But then I realised that moving to a new city, and starting a new life takes time. Usually I just write, record, and put it out; no problem. But this time, I wrote them and they sat. When that happens, you really get to know the songs. It was a different vibe.” DeMarco continued, “The majority of this album is acoustic guitar, synthesiser, some drum machine, and one song is electric guitar. So this is a new thing for me.”

The record’s acoustic motif is immediately apparent in the two lead singles that have jus been released. This Old Dog and My Old Man are both played on acoustic guitar and feature sparse instrumentation, allowing a more introspective side of Mac to shine through.

Here’s the track-listing for This Old Dog – you can pre-order it here.

01 My Old Man
02 This Old Dog
03 Baby You’re Out
04 For the First Time
05 One Another
06 Still Beating
07 Sister
08 Dreams From Yesterday
09 A Wolf Who Wears Sheeps Clothes
10 One More Love Song
11 On the Level
12 Moonlight on the River
13 Watching Him Fade Away

this old dog