Prophets Of Rage announce split ahead of Rage Against The Machine reunion

Prophets Of Rage, the rap-rock supergroup formed by members of Rage Against The Machine, Audioslave and Public Enemy, have announced their split.

Formed in 2016, the band released a self-titled studio album the following year before embarking on the extensive Make America Rage Again tour, which took place across the six months leading up to the (now infamous) U.S. presidential election.

Prophets Of Rage announced their split a day after Rage Against The Machine’s surprise 2020 reunion announcement.

Band member B-Real announced the news on Instagram, saying:

“I want to say thank you to the fans that supported Prophets of Rage for the time we’ve been rocking together. It’s been an honor to rock stages and people of all ages with these guys. It’s been a great time and great memories in a short time. It was fun while it lasted and I hope we left a big impression and that the music has been a source of inspiration for those that needed it. That was the purpose we got together. So I say to y’all stay informed, stay engaged and fight the good fight.”

The news comes a day after the surprise reunion announcement by Rage Against The Machine. The band will reform for a series of comeback shows in 2020, including five headline shows and a headline slot at Coachella Festival in April.