快乐三角

快乐的最佳新书

由 Happy Mag 的优秀人士每周更新,这些是 本周来自澳大利亚的最佳新书 和世界各地!

皮特·多尔蒂 一个可能的小伙子

Doherty 以其摇滚吸毒的生活方式以及与超模 Kate Moss 的关系而闻名,在他的新回忆录中讨论了诗歌、哲学、政治、音乐行业以及他的主要影响(从汉考克到波德莱尔) . 

在这里购买

皮特·多尔蒂回忆录

皮特·多尔蒂
一个可能的小伙子

 

JM大厅 一勺谋杀

Agatha Christie 和 Midsomer Murders 的粉丝将从第一页就被吸引住。 三位退休的教师 Liz、Thelma 和 Pat 定期会面,并在 Thirsk Garden Center 咖啡厅举行“咖啡点”课程。 与一位前同事(后来死了)的一次关键冲突让他们都意外地卷入了一起谋杀案,这取决于他们三个人来解决这个问题。  

在这里购买

一勺谋杀小说

杰姆霍尔
一勺谋杀

 

Rickie Lee Jones 最后机会德士古:美国游吟诗人编年史

1979 年,瑞奇·李·琼斯 (Rickie Lee Jones) 在 SNL 露面后一举成名,唱歌 查克 E 恋爱了,不久之后被宣布为“库尔斯维尔公爵夫人” 时间 杂志。 最后的机会德士古 是对摇滚乐最勤奋的女性之一的生活的公开和坦率的描述。 瑞奇·李·琼斯(Rickie Lee Jones)分享了她非凡的生活,讲述了她游牧的童年、父亲被遗弃的故事,以及她十几岁出逃的岁月,一直到她在洛杉矶的 Troubadour 俱乐部的开始。 以及她与汤姆·韦茨的关系。

在这里购买

瑞奇·李·琼斯

瑞奇·李·琼斯
最后机会德士古:美国游吟诗人的编年史

 

莱拉·莫特利 夜行

Kiara 和她的兄弟在东奥克兰的一个肮脏的建筑群中勉强维持生计。 两人都有梦想,但都不得不从高中辍学寻找工作以求生存。 一个晚上,一次谈话改变了一切。 Kiara 的生活发生了翻天覆地的变化,因为她的新工作“夜行”导致她成为涉及奥克兰警察局丑闻的关键证人。 莫特利令人惊叹的处女作大放异彩 对那些在黑暗中被遗忘太久的问题发自内心的光芒。  

在这里购买

夜行

莱拉·莫特利
夜游

 

海莉·斯克里维纳 土城

在达顿一个炎热的星期五下午,最好的朋友罗尼和埃丝特一起离开学校,只有埃丝特没有回家。 罗尼有一个计划,她要去找到她。 她的朋友不能走了,她不相信。 侦探警长莎拉迈克尔斯可以相信,她已经看到了人们能做什么。 她比任何人都清楚,一个人在软弱的时刻是如何被驱使去做他们从未想过的事情。 Dirt town 在其事业中独树一帜,提供了一部具有惊人深度和敏感性的小说,展示了每个人在一个分崩离析的社区中的重要性。

 

在这里购买

土城小说

海莉·斯克里维纳
土城

 

马乌尼奥·博博 嘻哈和赞美诗

一本关于努力工作和更加热爱的回忆录,设置为一个令人难以置信的播放列表。 '嘻哈和赞美诗:对我来说,两者总是齐头并进。 我的生活总是跨越两者。 神圣的和世俗的,都生活在同一个街区,最终都是神圣的。 Mawunyo Gbogbo 是一名在新南威尔士州沉睡的采矿小镇 Muswellbrook 长大的去教堂的非洲裔澳大利亚女孩。 从在小学面对恶霸的童年到上高中,她爱上了两件事,这将永远改变她的生活:嘻哈音乐和坏男孩 Tyce Carrington。 嘻哈与赞美诗 是寻找属于你的地方的故事,是关于敢于做你自己的真诚回忆录,以及在澳大利亚成为黑人意味着什么。

在这里购买

嘻哈和赞美诗

马乌尤·格博
嘻哈和赞美诗

 

本杰明迈尔斯 完美的黄金圈

故事发生在 1989 年的英格兰,一个非常炎热的夏天,两个截然不同的男人——开始了一个秘密项目。 在夜色的掩护下,两人暗中形成了复杂而神秘的麦田怪圈。 整个夏天,他们的设计变得越来越雄心勃勃,两人发现他们的作品已经成为一种狂热的国际轰动。 在一个使用圆圈的象征意义的故事中,描绘了战争的徒劳、大自然的破坏和不平等。 在它的核心, 完美的黄金圈 男性友谊的美丽故事。

在这里购买

完美的黄金圈

本杰明迈尔斯
完美的黄金圈

 

安东尼霍洛维茨 怀着杀戮之心

霍洛维茨在邦德传奇中的第三部分继续进行 M 的葬礼,但一位值得注意的人物失踪了。 被控谋杀 M 的邦德失踪了。 在铁幕背后,一群前 Smersh 特工想要利用邦德进行一项行动,以使世界力量的平衡向有利于他们的方向倾斜。 邦德发现他被偷运到狮子窝听从命令,但谁的命令? 当关键时刻到来时,他会服从他们吗? 背叛和不信任在他身边,一个错误的举动意味着死亡,邦德与关于他自己的最黑暗的问题作斗争。 当他接受甚至不知道他曾经的男人发生了什么事时。

在这里购买

有杀人的念头

安东尼霍洛维茨
有杀人的念头

 

Yassmin Abdel-Magied 谈论革命

我们最聪明和谈论最多的年轻思想家之一, Yassmin Abdel-Magied 的 新的作品是一系列关于抵抗、转型和革命的深刻个人和强有力的论文。 在开始了 2017 年最有争议的对话之一之后,在推特上发布了“Lest”。 我们。 忘记。 (马努斯、瑙鲁、叙利亚、巴勒斯坦)'在澳新军团日,Yassmin Abdel-Magied 不怕继续对话,并问道:我们如何为我们所有人建立一个更美好的世界?

在这里购买

谈论一场革命

YASSMIN ABDEL – 魔法
谈论一场革命

 

乔尔·梅耶罗维兹 红发

乔尔·迈耶罗维茨 红发 于 1990 年首次出版,广受好评。 这个新版本 以新的和以前从未见过的肖像为特色,探索摄影师对独特发色的迷恋,在对红发人、年轻人和老年人、男性和女性的颂歌中,在对比鲜明的蓝色背景下,引人注目的人像 70 年代后期科德角的背景。 

在这里购买

红发

乔尔·迈耶罗维茨
红发女郎

 

宝瑞 好的论据

Seo 教授辩论和讨论的艺术。 在五年级找到自己的使命后,Seo 赢得了两次世界冠军辩论,并继续执教澳大利亚国家辩论队。 在他的新书中,Seo 分享了对战略、结构和历史的见解。 触及从 Malcolm X 到 AI 的所有内容,同时教授一个好的论点的力量。 

在这里购买

好论据

博搜索
好论据

Yorgos Lanthimos 龙虾剧本书

A24 电影公司出版了一系列令人惊叹的剧本书籍,作为他们电影的配套作品。 剧本集中的第 008 册包括 Emma Stone 的前锋,作者 Ottessa Moshfegh 的一篇题为 被爱蒙蔽了双眼,以及 Lanthimos 的幕后摄影。 Rachel Weisz 在片场的照片和 Farell 在窗台上抽雪茄的照片本身就值得。 

在这里购买

龙虾剧本

约格斯·兰提莫斯
龙虾剧本

 

安规则 我旁边的陌生人

安妮·鲁尔 (Anne Rule) 对美国最著名的连环杀手之一的畅销书的新版本。 Rule 遇到了一位同事 Ted Bundy,她将他描述为一个敏感、有魅力的年轻人,在西雅图的一家危机诊所上晚班。 三年后,八名年轻女子失踪,阿妮开始调查此案,却不知道残忍的大屠杀凶手一直在她身边。 

在这里购买

安妮规则

安规则
我身边的陌生人

 

约翰·兰切斯特 现实和其他故事

约翰兰切斯特以一种非常诡异和危险的方式捕捉当代生活。 在他的最新著作中, 现实和其他故事,兰彻斯特取精髓 螺丝转动 并将其与大量令人兴奋的 暮色区域,一趟地狱般的旅程。 突出断开和分心,日常小工具似乎有自己的想法,来自未知号码的神秘电话,以及一个让你质疑的真人秀节目,也许这些都不是真的。 

在这里购买

现实和其他故事

约翰·兰切斯特
现实和其他故事

 

川上美惠子  夜里所有的恋人

Mieko Kawakami 的最新小说甜美而微妙,在您阅读最后一页很久之后就会留下持久的影响。 故事发生在当代东京,故事围绕着冬子,他独自生活,似乎喜欢这样。 但在内心深处,她知道这是不可持续的, 为了改变事情,她将不得不走出自己的舒适区。 冬子勇敢地走了出来,在她的一次郊游中,她偶然遇到了一位物理老师米茨卡先生,他与冬子成为了朋友,并给了她改变生活的机会。

在这里购买

川上美惠子

川上美惠子
夜晚的所有恋人

 

杰伊卑尔根  列侬、黑帮和律师

约翰列侬和他之间鲜为人知的法庭案件 与黑帮有联系的轮盘唱片所有者莫里斯·利维(Morris Levy). 当时列侬的律师杰伊·伯根(Jay Bergen)已经整理过 超过 5,000 页的所有法庭记录,在过去的四年里,他一直在抄写和讲述审判的真实情况。 充满了法庭上所有的高调戏剧, 列侬、黑帮和律师 还记录了列侬第二个儿子出生时的生活。

在这里购买

列侬审判

杰·伯根
列侬,黑帮和律师

 

米妮  管理期望

Minnie Driver:A-list 演员、妈妈、歌手和词曲作者,在这本讲述/回忆录中探索非凡生活的故事。 诚实有趣,Driver 分享了那些没有成功的事情是如何得到最好的结果的,以及实现梦想是如何比梦想成真更容易更有趣、更广阔、更悲伤和更有趣的。 米妮说得最好,'不过,现在我意识到这种野心是多么恰当。 它在我的生活中树立了一个模板,让我想要一些不可能成为现实的事情。 在试图使不可能发生的事情发生并反复失败时,其他事情如何发生。 成为我生命的东西。 我热爱的生活,因为它有很多我喜欢填补的漏洞。

在这里购买

明尼司机

米妮司机
管理期望

 

伊莎贝尔山毛榉  日光浴

墨尔本作家伊索贝尔·比奇的处女作, 日光浴 在阿布鲁佐温暖的夏日阳光下,对生命、死亡和友谊的恢复力量的甜蜜、有趣和感人的探索。 受邀与朋友同住 朱利亚 和 Fab 在阿布鲁佐山区的一座老别墅里,距离他们的婚礼还有三周的时间,经历了失落,以及 想知道如何继续,或者她是否可以。 Beech 怀着伟大的感情探索了在毁灭和遗憾之后的内在自我的运作,并揭示了每天可以提供治愈和希望的许多方式。

在这里购买

日光浴

伊莎贝尔山毛榉
日光浴

happy mag triangle

Happy’s Best New Books

Updated weekly by the fine folk at Happy Mag, these are the best new books that this week has to offer from Australia and around the world!

Lisa Taddeo Ghost Lover

An stunning collection of shorts from one of America’s finest talents. From the CEO who surrounds herself with an army of cool and beautiful girls who manage the dating service Ghost Lover to a star-studded political fundraiser in a LA mansion, where a trio of women vie to win the heart of the guest of honour, Taddeo shines a bright light on fever, obsession, the blindness of love, and grief.

BUY HERE

ghost lover

LISA TADDEO
GHOST LOVER

 

Rickie Lee Jones Last Chance Texaco: Chronicles of an American Troubadour

Rickie Lee Jones shot to fame after an appearance on SNL in 1979, singing Chuck E’s in Love, and not long after was pronounced “Duchess of Coolsville” by TIME magazine. Last Chance Texaco is an open and candid account of the life of one of rock and rolls hardest-working women. Rickie Lee Jones shares her exceptional life, with tales of her nomadic childhood, her father’s abandonment, and her years as a teenage runaway, all the way to her beginnings at LA’s Troubadour club; and her relationship with Tom Waits.

BUY HERE

RICKIE LEE JONES

RICKIE LEE JONES
LAST CHANCE TEXACO: CHRONICLES OF AN AMERICAN TROUBADOUR

 

Celeste Mountjoy What the Fuck Is This

The perennially cool and talented Celeste Mountjoy, best known for her insta moniker ‘Filthyratbag’, has spent the last year working on a new book What the fuck is this (Pan Macmillan). What the fuck is this is a stunning and original collection of illustrations and observations on what it’s like to be young and female, and exploring all of the emotions of what it means to feel your way through being a twenty-something. Mountjoy is not afraid to share, and we love her for it.

BUY HERE

what the fuck is this

CELESTE MOUNTJOY
WHAT THE FUCK IS THIS

 

Leila Mottley Nightcrawling

Kiara and her brother are barely making ends meet in A dingy complex in East Oakland. Both have dreams, but both have had to drop out of high school to find jobs to survive. One night, one conversation changes everything. Kiara’s life gets turned upside down as her new job ‘nightcrawling’ leads her to be a key witness that involves a scandal within the Oakland PD. Mottley’s stunning debut novel shines a visceral light on the issues that have been left too long in the dark.  

BUY HERE

nightcrawling

LEILA MOTTLEY
NIGHTCRAWLING

 

Hayley Scrivenor Dirt Town

On a hot Friday afternoon in Durton, best friends Ronnie and Esther leave school together, only Esther never makes it home. Ronnie has a plan, and she is going to find her. Her friend can’t be gone, she refuses to believe it. Detective Sergeant Sarah Michaels can believe it, she has seen what people can do. She knows more than anyone how, in a moment of weakness, a person can be driven to do something they never thought possible. Original in its undertaking, Dirt town delivers a novel with breathtaking depth and sensitivity, showing just how much each person matters in a community that is at once falling apart and coming together.

 

BUY HERE

Dirt Town Novel

HAYLEY SCRIVENOR
DIRT TOWN

 

Mawunyo Gbogbo Hip Hop and Hymns

A memoir of working hard and loving harder, set to an incredible playlist. ‘Hip hop and hymns: the two would always go hand in hand for me. My life would always straddle both. The sacred and the profane, all living on the same block, all divine in the end.’ Mawunyo Gbogbo is a church-going African Australian girl growing up in the sleepy mining town of Muswellbrook, NSW. From a childhood of confronting bullies at primary school to reaching high school where she falls in love with two things that will change her life forever: hip hop music and bad boy Tyce Carrington. Hip Hop & Hymns is the story of searching for where you belong,  a heartfelt memoir about daring to be who you are, and what it means to be Black in Australia.

BUY HERE

hip hop and hymns

MAWUNYO GBOGBO
HIP HOP AND HYMNS

 

Benjamin Myers The Perfect Golden Circle

Set in 1989, England over a very hot summer, two very different men – embark on a secret project. Under cover of darkness, the two men secretly form crop circles in complex and mysterious patterns. Over the summer, their designs become increasingly ambitious, and the two men find that their work has become a cult international sensation.  In a story that uses the symbolism of the circles, to depict the futility of war, the destruction of mother nature, and inequality. At its heart, The Perfect Golden Circle a beautiful story of male friendship.

BUY HERE

the perfect golden circle

BENJAMIN MYERS
THE PERFECT GOLDEN CIRCLE

 

Anthony Horowitz With a Mind to Kill

Horowitz’s third installment in the Bond saga continues with M’s funeral, but one notable person of interest is missing. Bond, accused of M’s murder has vanished. Behind the Iron Curtain, a group of former Smersh agents wants to use Bond in an operation that will tip the balance of world power in their favour. Bond finds he has been smuggled into the lion’s den to follow orders, but whose orders? And will he obey them when the moment of truth arrives? With betrayal and mistrust all around him, and one false move means death, Bond wrestles with the darkest questions about himself. As he comes to terms with not even knowing what has happened to the man he used to be.

BUY HERE

with a mind to kill

ANTHONY HOROWITZ
WITH A MIND TO KILL

 

Yassmin Abdel-Magied Talking about a Revolution

One of our brightest and most talked-about young thinkers, Yassmin Abdel- Magied’s new body of work is a deeply personal, and powerful series of essays on resistance, transformation, and revolution. After having started one of the more contentious conversations of 2017, after tweeting ‘Lest. We. Forget. (Manus, Nauru, Syria, Palestine)’ on ANZAC day, Yassmin Abdel-Magied is not afraid to keep the conversation going, and asks: how do we build a better world for us all?

BUY HERE

talking about a revolution

YASSMIN ABDEL – MAGIED
TALKING ABOUT A REVOLUTION

 

Joel Meyerowitz Redheads

Joel Meyerowitz’s Redheads was first published in 1990 to critical acclaim. This new edition features new and previously unseen portraits that explore the photographer’s fascination with the distinct hair colour, in an ode to redheaded people, young and old, male and female, in striking portraits set against the contrasting blue backdrop of Cape Cod in the late 70’s. 

BUY HERE

Redheads

JOEL MEYEROWITZ
REDHEADS

 

Bo Seo Good Arguments

Seo teaches the art of debating and discussion. After finding his calling in year five, Seo has won two World Champion debates and gone on to coach the Australian National Debate Team. In his new book, Seo shares insights into strategy, structure, and history. Touching on everything from Malcolm X to AI, all the while teaching the power of a good argument. 

BUY HERE

good arguments

BO SEO
GOOD ARGUMENTS

Yorgos Lanthimos The Lobster Screenplay Book

A24 films have published a stunning series of screenplay books, as a companion piece to their films. Book 008 in the Screenplay Collection includes a forward by Emma Stone, an essay by author Ottessa Moshfegh titled Blinded By Love, and behind-the-scenes set photography by Lanthimos. The photo’s of Rachel Weisz on set, and Farell smoking a ciggie on the window ledge is worth it in itself. 

BUY HERE

The Lobster screenplay

YORGOS LANTHIMOS
THE LOBSTER SCREENPLAY BOOK

 

Ann Rule The Stranger Beside Me

A new edition of the best-selling account of one of America’s most famous serial killers by Anne Rule.  Rule met a fellow co-worker, Ted Bundy whom she describes as a sensitive, charismatic young man,  working the late shift at a Seattle crisis clinic.  Three years later, eight young women disappeared and Anee began to investigate the case, not knowing that the brutal mass murderer was beside her the entire time. 

BUY HERE

Anne Rule

ANN RULE
THE STRANGER BESIDE ME

 

John Lanchester Reality and Other Stories

John Lanchester captures contemporary life in a very eerie and perilous manner. In his latest book, Reality and Other Stories, Lanchester takes the essence of the Turn of the Screw and mixes it with a thrilling amount of Twilight Zone, making for one hell of a ride. Highlighting disconnection and distraction, with everyday gadgets that seem to have a mind of their own, mysterious phone calls from unknown numbers, and a reality tv show that leads you to question, that maybe none of this is real. 

BUY HERE

reality and other stories

JOHN LANCHESTER
REALITY AND OTHER STORIES

 

Mieko Kawakami  All the Lovers in the Night

Mieko Kawakami’s latest novel is sweet, and subtle, and leaves a lasting impact long after you’ve read the last page. Set in contemporary Tokyo,  the story centers around Fuyuko, who lives alone and seems to like it that way. But deep down, she knows it’s not sustainable, and that in order to change things, she is going to have to step out of her comfort zones. Bravely, Fuyuko steps out, and it is on one of her outings that she has a chance encounter with a physics teacher, Mr. Mitstka, who befriends Fuyuko and gives her the opportunity to change her life.

BUY HERE

mieko kawakami

MIEKO KAWAKAMI
ALL THE LOVERS IN THE NIGHT

 

Jay Bergen  Lennon, the Mobster & the Lawyer

A little-known court case between John Lennon and Morris Levy, the Mob-connected owner of Roulette Records. Jay Bergen, who was Lennon’s lawyer at the time, has collated over 5,000+ pages in all of the court records and has spent the last four years, transcribing, and recounting the trial as it happened. Filled with all the high drama in the courtroom, Lennon, the Mobster, and the Lawyer also captures Lennon’s life on the cusp of the birth of his second son.

BUY HERE

Lennon trial

JAY BERGEN
LENNON, THE MOBSTER AND THE LAWYER

 

Minnie Driver  Managing Expectations

Minnie Driver: A-list actor, mum, singer, and songwriter, explores in this tell-all/memoir shares tales of an extraordinary life. Honest and funny,  Driver shares how the things that didn’t work out, so often worked out for the best, and how reaching for the dream is easily more interesting, expansive, sad, and funny than the dream itself coming true. Minnie states it best, ‘Now, though, I realize how apt that ambition was. It set up a template in my life of wanting something impossible to become true. How in trying to make something impossible happen, and failing repeatedly, other things happened. Things that became my life. A life I love, because it was made with so many holes that I enjoy filling in’.

BUY HERE

Minne Driver

MINNIE DRIVER
MANAGING EXPECTATIONS

 

Isobel Beech  Sunbathing

Melburnian writer Isoabel Beech’s debut novel, Sunbathing is a sweet, funny, and moving exploration of life, death, and the restorative power of friendship under the warm summer sun of Abruzzo. Invited to stay with friends Giulia and Fab in an old villa in the mountains of Abruzzo, three weeks shy of their wedding, traversing through loss, and wondering how to go on, or if she can. With great feeling, Beech explores the workings of the inner self in the wake of devastation and regret and reveals the many ways that the every day can offer healing and hope.

BUY HERE

Sunbathing

ISOBEL BEECH
SUNBATHING