счастливый маг треугольник

Лучшие новые книги Хэппи

Еженедельно обновляемые прекрасными людьми из Happy Mag, это лучшие новые книги на этой неделе из Австралии и по всему миру!

Лиза Таддео Призрачный любовник

Потрясающая коллекция шорт от одного из лучших талантов Америки. От генерального директора, который окружил себя армией крутых и красивых девушек, управляющих службой знакомств Призрачный любовник к звездному политическому сбору средств в особняке Лос-Анджелеса, где три женщины соперничают за сердце почетного гостя, Таддео проливает яркий свет на лихорадку, одержимость, слепоту любви и горе.

КУПИТЬ ЗДЕСЬ

любовник-призрак

ЛИЗА ТАДДЕО
ПРИЗРАЧНЫЙ ЛЮБИТЕЛЬ

 

Рики Ли Джонс Последний шанс Тексако: Хроники американского трубадура

Рики Ли Джонс прославился после выступления на SNL в 1979 году. Чак Э влюблен, а вскоре после этого была провозглашена «герцогиней Кулсвилльской». ВРЕМЯ журнал. Последний шанс Тексако это открытый и откровенный рассказ о жизни одной из самых трудолюбивых женщин рок-н-ролла. Рики Ли Джонс рассказывает о своей исключительной жизни, рассказывая о своем кочевом детстве, о том, что ее отец бросил ее, и о годах, когда она была сбежавшим подростком, вплоть до ее начала в клубе «Трубадур» в Лос-Анджелесе; и ее отношения с Томом Уэйтсом.

КУПИТЬ ЗДЕСЬ

РИКИ ЛИ ДЖОНС

РИКИ ЛИ ДЖОНС
ПОСЛЕДНИЙ ШАНС TEXACO: ХРОНИКИ АМЕРИКАНСКОГО ТРУБАДУРА

 

Селеста Маунтджой Что это за хрень

Неизменно крутая и талантливая Селеста Маунтджой, наиболее известная своим инста-прозвищем «Filthyratbag», провела последний год, работая над новой книгой. Что это за хрень (Пэн Макмиллан). Что это за хрень потрясающая и оригинальная коллекция иллюстраций и наблюдений о том, каково это быть молодой и женщиной, и исследовать все эмоции, связанные с тем, что значит чувствовать себя в двадцать с небольшим лет. Маунтджой не боится делиться, и мы любим ее за это.

КУПИТЬ ЗДЕСЬ

что это за хрень

СЕЛЕСТ МАУНТДЖОЙ
Что это за хуйня

 

Лейла Моттли ночное ползание

Киара и ее брат едва сводят концы с концами в захудалом комплексе в Восточном Окленде. У обоих есть мечты, но обоим пришлось бросить школу, чтобы найти работу, чтобы выжить. Одна ночь, один разговор меняет все. Жизнь Киары переворачивается с ног на голову, поскольку ее новая работа «ночное ползание» приводит к тому, что она становится ключевым свидетелем скандала в полиции Окленда. Потрясающий дебютный роман Мотли сияет интуитивный свет на вопросы, которые слишком долго оставались в темноте.  

КУПИТЬ ЗДЕСЬ

ночное ползание

ЛЕЙЛА МОТТЛИ
НОЧНОЙ ПОЛЗ

 

Хейли Скривенор Грязный город

Жарким пятничным днем ​​в Дартоне лучшие друзья Ронни и Эстер вместе уходят из школы, только Эстер так и не возвращается домой. У Ронни есть план, и она собирается его найти. Ее подруга не может уйти, она отказывается в это верить. Детектив-сержант Сара Майклс может в это поверить, она видела, на что способны люди. Она знает лучше, чем кто-либо другой, как в момент слабости человека можно заставить сделать то, что он никогда не считал возможным. Оригинальный в своем начинании, Грязный город представляет собой роман с захватывающей дух глубиной и чувствительностью, показывающий, насколько важен каждый человек в сообществе, которое одновременно распадается и собирается вместе.

 

КУПИТЬ ЗДЕСЬ

Грязный город Роман

ХЕЙЛИ СКРАЙВЕНОР
Грязный город

 

Мавуньо Гбогбо Хип-хоп и гимны

Воспоминания о тяжелой работе и еще большей любви, включенные в невероятный плейлист. «Хип-хоп и гимны: для меня они всегда идут рука об руку. Моя жизнь всегда будет охватывать оба. Священное и мирское, все живущие в одном блоке, все божественное в конце концов. Мавуньо Гбогбо — африканская австралийка, которая ходит в церковь и растет в сонном шахтерском городке Масуэллбрук, Новый Южный Уэльс. От борьбы с хулиганами в начальной школе до старшей школы, где она влюбляется в две вещи, которые навсегда изменят ее жизнь: музыку в стиле хип-хоп и плохого парня Тайса Кэррингтона. Хип-хоп и гимны это история поиска своего места, искренние воспоминания о том, как осмелиться быть тем, кто ты есть, и о том, что значит быть чернокожим в Австралии.

КУПИТЬ ЗДЕСЬ

хип-хоп и гимны

МАУНЬО ГБОГБО
ХИП-ХОП И ГИМНЫ

 

Бенджамин Майерс Идеальный золотой круг

Действие происходит в 1989 году, в Англии, очень жарким летом, два очень разных человека берутся за секретный проект. Под покровом темноты двое мужчин тайно формируют круги на полях сложными и загадочными узорами. Летом их проекты становятся все более амбициозными, и двое мужчин обнаруживают, что их работа стала культовой международной сенсацией. В истории, которая использует символику кругов, чтобы изобразить тщетность войны, разрушение матери-природы и неравенство. В его сердце, Идеальный золотой круг красивая история мужской дружбы.

КУПИТЬ ЗДЕСЬ

идеальный золотой круг

БЕНДЖАМИН МАЙЕРС
ИДЕАЛЬНЫЙ ЗОЛОТОЙ КРУГ

 

Энтони Горовиц С намерением убить

Третий выпуск Горовица в саге о Бонде продолжается похоронами М, но отсутствует один известный человек, представляющий интерес. Бонд, обвиняемый в убийстве М, исчез. За железным занавесом группа бывших агентов Смерша хочет использовать Бонда в операции, которая склонит баланс мировых сил в их пользу. Бонд обнаруживает, что его тайно пронесли в логово льва, чтобы он выполнял приказы, но чьи приказы? И послушается ли он их, когда наступит момент истины? С предательством и недоверием вокруг него, и одно неверное движение означает смерть, Бонд борется с самыми мрачными вопросами о себе. Когда он смиряется с тем, что даже не знает, что случилось с человеком, которым он был раньше.

КУПИТЬ ЗДЕСЬ

с намерением убить

ЭНТОНИ ХОРОВИТЦ
С НАМЕРЕНИЕМ УБИВАТЬ

 

Ясмин Абдель-Магид Говоря о революции

Один из наших самых ярких и обсуждаемых молодых мыслителей, Ясмин Абдель-Магидс Новая часть работы представляет собой глубоко личную и мощную серию эссе о сопротивлении, трансформации и революции. Начав один из самых спорных разговоров 2017 года, после твита «Lest. Мы. Забывать. (Манус, Науру, Сирия, Палестина)» в день АНЗАК Ясмин Абдель-Магид не боится продолжать разговор и спрашивает: как нам построить лучший мир для всех нас?

КУПИТЬ ЗДЕСЬ

речь о революции

ЯССМИН АБДЕЛЬ – МАГИ
ГОВОРЯ О РЕВОЛЮЦИИ

 

Джоэл Мейеровиц Рыжие

Джоэл Мейеровиц Рыжие был впервые опубликован в 1990 году и получил признание критиков. Это новое издание представлены новые и ранее невиданные портреты, которые исследуют увлечение фотографа отчетливым цветом волос, в оде рыжеволосым людям, молодым и старым, мужчинам и женщинам, в ярких портретах на фоне контрастного синего. на фоне Кейп-Кода в конце 70-х. 

КУПИТЬ ЗДЕСЬ

Рыжие

Джоэл Мейеровиц
Рыжеволосые

 

Бо Со Хорошие аргументы

Seo учит искусству дебатов и дискуссий. Найдя свое призвание на пятом курсе, Со выиграл два дебата чемпиона мира и стал тренером национальной сборной Австралии по дебатам. В своей новой книге Сео делится взглядами на стратегию, структуру и историю. Касаясь всего, от Малкольма Икса до ИИ, все время обучая силе хорошего аргумента. 

КУПИТЬ ЗДЕСЬ

хорошие аргументы

БО SEO
ХОРОШИЕ АРГУМЕНТЫ

Йоргос Лантимос Книга сценариев "Лобстер"

Фильмы A24 опубликовали потрясающую серию книг со сценариями в качестве дополнения к своим фильмам. Книга 008 в Собрании сценариев включает в себя форвард Эммы Стоун, эссе автора Оттессы Мошфег под названием Ослепленный любовью, и закулисная съемка Лантимоса. Фото Рэйчел Вайс на съемочной площадке и Фарелл, курящий сигарету на подоконнике, сами по себе стоят того. 

КУПИТЬ ЗДЕСЬ

сценарий "Лобстер"

ЙОРГОС ЛАНТИМОС
КНИГА СЦЕНАРИЙ ЛОБСТЕРА

 

Энн Рул Незнакомец Beside Me

Новое издание бестселлера об одном из самых известных серийных убийц Америки от Энн Рул. Рул познакомилась с коллегой по работе, Тедом Банди, которого она описывает как чувствительного, харизматичного молодого человека, работающего в позднюю смену в кризисной клинике Сиэтла. Спустя три года восемь молодых женщин исчезли, и Ани начала расследовать дело, не подозревая, что жестокий массовый убийца все это время был рядом с ней. 

КУПИТЬ ЗДЕСЬ

Энн Рул

ПРАВИЛО ИНСТРУКЦИИ
НЕЗНАКОМЕЦ РЯДОМ СО МНОЙ

 

Джон Ланчестер Реальность и другие истории

Джон Ланчестер изображает современную жизнь очень жуткой и опасной. В своей последней книге, Реальность и другие истории, Ланчестер берет суть Поворот винта и смешивает его с захватывающим количеством Сумеречная зона, делая для одной адской поездки. Подчеркивая разъединение и отвлечение, с повседневными гаджетами, которые, кажется, имеют собственный разум, загадочные телефонные звонки с неизвестных номеров и реалити-шоу, которое заставляет вас задуматься, что, возможно, все это не реально. 

КУПИТЬ ЗДЕСЬ

реальность и другие истории

ДЖОН ЛАНЧЕСТЕР
РЕАЛЬНОСТЬ И ДРУГИЕ ИСТОРИИ

 

Миеко Каваками  Все любовники в ночи

Последний роман Миэко Каваками мил и утончен, и оставляет неизгладимое впечатление даже после того, как вы прочитали последнюю страницу. Действие происходит в современном Токио, история сосредоточена вокруг Фуюко, которая живет одна и, похоже, ей это нравится. Но в глубине души она знает, что это неустойчиво, и что для того, чтобы что-то изменить, ей придется выйти из своей зоны комфорта. Смело выходит Фуюко, и именно во время одной из своих прогулок она случайно сталкивается с учителем физики, мистером Мицкой, который подружился с Фуюко и дал ей возможность изменить свою жизнь.

КУПИТЬ ЗДЕСЬ

Миеко Каваками

МИЭКО КАВАКАМИ
ВСЕ ВЛЮБЛЕННЫЕ В НОЧЬ

 

Джей Берген  Леннон, бандит и адвокат

Малоизвестный судебный процесс между Джоном Ленноном и Моррис Леви, связанный с мафией владелец Roulette Records. Джей Берген, который в то время был адвокатом Леннона, собрал более Более 5,000 страниц во всех судебных протоколах, и последние четыре года он провел, расшифровывая и пересказывая судебный процесс так, как он происходил. Наполненный всей высокой драмой в зале суда, Леннон, бандит и адвокат также запечатлела жизнь Леннона накануне рождения его второго сына.

КУПИТЬ ЗДЕСЬ

Леннон суд

ДЖЕЙ БЕРГЕН
ЛЕННОН, МАФИСТ И АДВОКАТ

 

Минни Драйвер  Управление ожиданиями

Минни Драйвер: известная актриса, мама, певица и автор песен рассказывает в этих откровенных мемуарах истории о необычной жизни. Честный и забавный, Драйвер рассказывает о том, как вещи, которые не сработали, так часто срабатывали к лучшему, и о том, как стремление к мечте может быть более интересным, обширным, грустным и забавным, чем сама мечта. Лучше всего об этом говорит Минни:Теперь, однако, я понимаю, насколько уместной была эта амбиция. Это установило в моей жизни шаблон желания чего-то невозможного, чтобы стать правдой. Как в попытках сделать что-то невозможное и неоднократно терпящих неудачу, случались другие вещи. Вещи, которые стали моей жизнью. Жизнь, которую я люблю, потому что в ней так много дыр, которые мне нравится заполнять».

КУПИТЬ ЗДЕСЬ

Минн Драйвер

МИННИ ДРАЙВЕР
УПРАВЛЯЯ ОЖИДАНИЯМИ

 

Изобель Бич  Солнечные ванны

Дебютный роман мельбурнской писательницы Изоабель Бич. Солнечные ванны - это милое, смешное и трогательное исследование жизни, смерти и восстанавливающей силы дружбы под теплым летним солнцем Абруццо. Пригласил остаться с друзьями Джулия и Фаб на старой вилле в горах Абруццо, за три недели до свадьбы, переживая утрату и интересно, как продолжать, или если она может. С большим чувством Бич исследует работу внутреннего «я» после опустошения и сожаления и раскрывает множество способов, которыми каждый день может дать исцеление и надежду.

КУПИТЬ ЗДЕСЬ

Солнечные ванны

ИЗОБЕЛЬ БУК
СОЛНЕЧНЫЕ ВАННЫ

happy mag triangle

Happy’s Best New Books

Updated weekly by the fine folk at Happy Mag, these are the best new books that this week has to offer from Australia and around the world!

Lisa Taddeo Ghost Lover

An stunning collection of shorts from one of America’s finest talents. From the CEO who surrounds herself with an army of cool and beautiful girls who manage the dating service Ghost Lover to a star-studded political fundraiser in a LA mansion, where a trio of women vie to win the heart of the guest of honour, Taddeo shines a bright light on fever, obsession, the blindness of love, and grief.

BUY HERE

ghost lover

LISA TADDEO
GHOST LOVER

 

Rickie Lee Jones Last Chance Texaco: Chronicles of an American Troubadour

Rickie Lee Jones shot to fame after an appearance on SNL in 1979, singing Chuck E’s in Love, and not long after was pronounced “Duchess of Coolsville” by TIME magazine. Last Chance Texaco is an open and candid account of the life of one of rock and rolls hardest-working women. Rickie Lee Jones shares her exceptional life, with tales of her nomadic childhood, her father’s abandonment, and her years as a teenage runaway, all the way to her beginnings at LA’s Troubadour club; and her relationship with Tom Waits.

BUY HERE

RICKIE LEE JONES

RICKIE LEE JONES
LAST CHANCE TEXACO: CHRONICLES OF AN AMERICAN TROUBADOUR

 

Celeste Mountjoy What the Fuck Is This

The perennially cool and talented Celeste Mountjoy, best known for her insta moniker ‘Filthyratbag’, has spent the last year working on a new book What the fuck is this (Pan Macmillan). What the fuck is this is a stunning and original collection of illustrations and observations on what it’s like to be young and female, and exploring all of the emotions of what it means to feel your way through being a twenty-something. Mountjoy is not afraid to share, and we love her for it.

BUY HERE

what the fuck is this

CELESTE MOUNTJOY
WHAT THE FUCK IS THIS

 

Leila Mottley Nightcrawling

Kiara and her brother are barely making ends meet in A dingy complex in East Oakland. Both have dreams, but both have had to drop out of high school to find jobs to survive. One night, one conversation changes everything. Kiara’s life gets turned upside down as her new job ‘nightcrawling’ leads her to be a key witness that involves a scandal within the Oakland PD. Mottley’s stunning debut novel shines a visceral light on the issues that have been left too long in the dark.  

BUY HERE

nightcrawling

LEILA MOTTLEY
NIGHTCRAWLING

 

Hayley Scrivenor Dirt Town

On a hot Friday afternoon in Durton, best friends Ronnie and Esther leave school together, only Esther never makes it home. Ronnie has a plan, and she is going to find her. Her friend can’t be gone, she refuses to believe it. Detective Sergeant Sarah Michaels can believe it, she has seen what people can do. She knows more than anyone how, in a moment of weakness, a person can be driven to do something they never thought possible. Original in its undertaking, Dirt town delivers a novel with breathtaking depth and sensitivity, showing just how much each person matters in a community that is at once falling apart and coming together.

 

BUY HERE

Dirt Town Novel

HAYLEY SCRIVENOR
DIRT TOWN

 

Mawunyo Gbogbo Hip Hop and Hymns

A memoir of working hard and loving harder, set to an incredible playlist. ‘Hip hop and hymns: the two would always go hand in hand for me. My life would always straddle both. The sacred and the profane, all living on the same block, all divine in the end.’ Mawunyo Gbogbo is a church-going African Australian girl growing up in the sleepy mining town of Muswellbrook, NSW. From a childhood of confronting bullies at primary school to reaching high school where she falls in love with two things that will change her life forever: hip hop music and bad boy Tyce Carrington. Hip Hop & Hymns is the story of searching for where you belong,  a heartfelt memoir about daring to be who you are, and what it means to be Black in Australia.

BUY HERE

hip hop and hymns

MAWUNYO GBOGBO
HIP HOP AND HYMNS

 

Benjamin Myers The Perfect Golden Circle

Set in 1989, England over a very hot summer, two very different men – embark on a secret project. Under cover of darkness, the two men secretly form crop circles in complex and mysterious patterns. Over the summer, their designs become increasingly ambitious, and the two men find that their work has become a cult international sensation.  In a story that uses the symbolism of the circles, to depict the futility of war, the destruction of mother nature, and inequality. At its heart, The Perfect Golden Circle a beautiful story of male friendship.

BUY HERE

the perfect golden circle

BENJAMIN MYERS
THE PERFECT GOLDEN CIRCLE

 

Anthony Horowitz With a Mind to Kill

Horowitz’s third installment in the Bond saga continues with M’s funeral, but one notable person of interest is missing. Bond, accused of M’s murder has vanished. Behind the Iron Curtain, a group of former Smersh agents wants to use Bond in an operation that will tip the balance of world power in their favour. Bond finds he has been smuggled into the lion’s den to follow orders, but whose orders? And will he obey them when the moment of truth arrives? With betrayal and mistrust all around him, and one false move means death, Bond wrestles with the darkest questions about himself. As he comes to terms with not even knowing what has happened to the man he used to be.

BUY HERE

with a mind to kill

ANTHONY HOROWITZ
WITH A MIND TO KILL

 

Yassmin Abdel-Magied Talking about a Revolution

One of our brightest and most talked-about young thinkers, Yassmin Abdel- Magied’s new body of work is a deeply personal, and powerful series of essays on resistance, transformation, and revolution. After having started one of the more contentious conversations of 2017, after tweeting ‘Lest. We. Forget. (Manus, Nauru, Syria, Palestine)’ on ANZAC day, Yassmin Abdel-Magied is not afraid to keep the conversation going, and asks: how do we build a better world for us all?

BUY HERE

talking about a revolution

YASSMIN ABDEL – MAGIED
TALKING ABOUT A REVOLUTION

 

Joel Meyerowitz Redheads

Joel Meyerowitz’s Redheads was first published in 1990 to critical acclaim. This new edition features new and previously unseen portraits that explore the photographer’s fascination with the distinct hair colour, in an ode to redheaded people, young and old, male and female, in striking portraits set against the contrasting blue backdrop of Cape Cod in the late 70’s. 

BUY HERE

Redheads

JOEL MEYEROWITZ
REDHEADS

 

Bo Seo Good Arguments

Seo teaches the art of debating and discussion. After finding his calling in year five, Seo has won two World Champion debates and gone on to coach the Australian National Debate Team. In his new book, Seo shares insights into strategy, structure, and history. Touching on everything from Malcolm X to AI, all the while teaching the power of a good argument. 

BUY HERE

good arguments

BO SEO
GOOD ARGUMENTS

Yorgos Lanthimos The Lobster Screenplay Book

A24 films have published a stunning series of screenplay books, as a companion piece to their films. Book 008 in the Screenplay Collection includes a forward by Emma Stone, an essay by author Ottessa Moshfegh titled Blinded By Love, and behind-the-scenes set photography by Lanthimos. The photo’s of Rachel Weisz on set, and Farell smoking a ciggie on the window ledge is worth it in itself. 

BUY HERE

The Lobster screenplay

YORGOS LANTHIMOS
THE LOBSTER SCREENPLAY BOOK

 

Ann Rule The Stranger Beside Me

A new edition of the best-selling account of one of America’s most famous serial killers by Anne Rule.  Rule met a fellow co-worker, Ted Bundy whom she describes as a sensitive, charismatic young man,  working the late shift at a Seattle crisis clinic.  Three years later, eight young women disappeared and Anee began to investigate the case, not knowing that the brutal mass murderer was beside her the entire time. 

BUY HERE

Anne Rule

ANN RULE
THE STRANGER BESIDE ME

 

John Lanchester Reality and Other Stories

John Lanchester captures contemporary life in a very eerie and perilous manner. In his latest book, Reality and Other Stories, Lanchester takes the essence of the Turn of the Screw and mixes it with a thrilling amount of Twilight Zone, making for one hell of a ride. Highlighting disconnection and distraction, with everyday gadgets that seem to have a mind of their own, mysterious phone calls from unknown numbers, and a reality tv show that leads you to question, that maybe none of this is real. 

BUY HERE

reality and other stories

JOHN LANCHESTER
REALITY AND OTHER STORIES

 

Mieko Kawakami  All the Lovers in the Night

Mieko Kawakami’s latest novel is sweet, and subtle, and leaves a lasting impact long after you’ve read the last page. Set in contemporary Tokyo,  the story centers around Fuyuko, who lives alone and seems to like it that way. But deep down, she knows it’s not sustainable, and that in order to change things, she is going to have to step out of her comfort zones. Bravely, Fuyuko steps out, and it is on one of her outings that she has a chance encounter with a physics teacher, Mr. Mitstka, who befriends Fuyuko and gives her the opportunity to change her life.

BUY HERE

mieko kawakami

MIEKO KAWAKAMI
ALL THE LOVERS IN THE NIGHT

 

Jay Bergen  Lennon, the Mobster & the Lawyer

A little-known court case between John Lennon and Morris Levy, the Mob-connected owner of Roulette Records. Jay Bergen, who was Lennon’s lawyer at the time, has collated over 5,000+ pages in all of the court records and has spent the last four years, transcribing, and recounting the trial as it happened. Filled with all the high drama in the courtroom, Lennon, the Mobster, and the Lawyer also captures Lennon’s life on the cusp of the birth of his second son.

BUY HERE

Lennon trial

JAY BERGEN
LENNON, THE MOBSTER AND THE LAWYER

 

Minnie Driver  Managing Expectations

Minnie Driver: A-list actor, mum, singer, and songwriter, explores in this tell-all/memoir shares tales of an extraordinary life. Honest and funny,  Driver shares how the things that didn’t work out, so often worked out for the best, and how reaching for the dream is easily more interesting, expansive, sad, and funny than the dream itself coming true. Minnie states it best, ‘Now, though, I realize how apt that ambition was. It set up a template in my life of wanting something impossible to become true. How in trying to make something impossible happen, and failing repeatedly, other things happened. Things that became my life. A life I love, because it was made with so many holes that I enjoy filling in’.

BUY HERE

Minne Driver

MINNIE DRIVER
MANAGING EXPECTATIONS

 

Isobel Beech  Sunbathing

Melburnian writer Isoabel Beech’s debut novel, Sunbathing is a sweet, funny, and moving exploration of life, death, and the restorative power of friendship under the warm summer sun of Abruzzo. Invited to stay with friends Giulia and Fab in an old villa in the mountains of Abruzzo, three weeks shy of their wedding, traversing through loss, and wondering how to go on, or if she can. With great feeling, Beech explores the workings of the inner self in the wake of devastation and regret and reveals the many ways that the every day can offer healing and hope.

BUY HERE

Sunbathing

ISOBEL BEECH
SUNBATHING