访谈

飞行设施在将他们的新记录“扔进虚空”后正在适应正常生活

喝酒之间已经有七年了,但飞行设施带着他们的第二张专辑回来了 永远,值得等待。

如果您在过去四年中看过 Telstra 的广告,那么您至少听过一个 飞行设施 歌曲。 但是很有可能你听到了更多,因为这对悉尼二人组自从他们的首张唱片以来就一直在掀起波澜 实际一点。

自 2009 年成立以来,Hugo Gruzman 和 James Lyell 已经积累了数十万的流量,在全球售罄的演出和音乐节上演出,甚至于上个月在悉尼举办了他们自己的音乐节 Airfields。

我们采访了 Hugo,聊了聊他们的新唱片 永远,侠盗猎车手,并与 Hugo Weaving 合作。

飞行设施

快乐的: 嘿雨果! 塔西怎么样?

雨果: 好耶。 太奇妙了! 很高兴能在这里度过美好的一天。 

快乐的: 我能想象。 好天气? 比悉尼好,我猜。 

雨果: 是的。 我的意思是,伙计,从悉尼来,看到我们已经连续几个月吃的垃圾,在阳光下真是一种解脱。 

快乐的: 听起来这将是一种绝对的乐趣。

雨果: 是的,我的精神一秒钟都没有崩溃 [笑]

快乐的: 所以我知道自发行以来已经有几个月了,但祝贺新专辑!

雨果: 谢谢! 是啊,现在怎么样了? 是十一月吗? 十一月初。 

快乐的: 是的,距离你首次亮相已经过去了七年。 发布过程如何 永远 与您推出时不同 脚踏实地?

雨果: 我想这更奇怪,因为我们正处于封锁之中。 所以我认为领先于 脚踏实地,就兴奋和一切的建立而言,还有更多的坡道,我们为这张专辑做准备并制作了多张单曲。 而随着 永远 我们经历了所有这些奇怪的停机时间,所以很难根据你在音乐中的受欢迎程度来衡量你的位置。

永远的飞行设施

所以这是最难的事情。 这很奇怪。 因为封锁就是这样,几乎感觉就像把它扔到虚空中,不知道它会如何反应。 我的意思是,我们真的很幸运,它很棒,但这是一种超级奇怪的体验,没有你身后的那些东西,你正在加速,做更多的节目,变得更令人兴奋。 就像,好吧,整个世界都重新回到了人们的视野中。 

快乐的: 说到演出,你最近参加了很多演出,包括你自己在悉尼的音乐节 Airfields。 那个节日背后的前提是什么? 

雨果: 我认为我们只是想展示一大堆本地人才,能够向人们展示这是一件好事。 我想我们应该以某种方式回馈我们从小受到其他澳大利亚艺术家的启发。 因此,展示一些与我认为我们几年前处于相同轨迹的东西有点酷。 而且我们一直很喜欢节日背后的文化,在这么久没有节日之后,感觉更加正确,因为每个人都需要在这些日子里度过一个重新设置并感觉自己再次正常的日子。 它们是让你走的那些东西之一,'哦,也许事情有点恢复到正常的样子。 我不得不说,起初它非常压倒性。 再次站在那么多人身边,让那么多人站在我们面前就像,“操,我差点忘了这是什么感觉。”

快乐的: 是的,这一切都感觉有点超现实。 我最后一次看到你演奏是在几年前的 Groovin。 从那时起,我们基本上一直处于封锁状态。 这次的现场表演是什么样的 永远 游览? 

雨果: 好吧,我们肯定加大了制作力度,我想我们已经有了一大堆新音乐。 那是紧张的一部分,我们从来没有演奏过很多这样的音乐,所以这本身就是一个很大的不同。 然后只是在照明制作中投入更多,并真正倾向于几年前启发我们的东西,比如 Daft Punk的化学兄弟,并从他们的书中取出叶子,试图让它成为一个更大、更令人印象深刻的节目,当我们看到我们喜欢玩的其他行为时,我们总是被迷住。

快乐的: 哦,太好了,这听起来不可思议。 记录中有很多合作。 你如何挑选出你想在不同的轨道上与谁合作? 

雨果: 事实是,我们会和任何人一起工作,而且我们很乐意和以前共事过的人一起工作。 我认为我们会爱上某些旋律以及制作它们的人。 通道树,例如,我们爱他,他所做的任何事情听起来都像是一首歌。 那家伙说话,你只想记录他说的每一个字,因为听起来你可以把它放在轨道上 [笑].

雨果: 但我们仍然会回到我们以前合作过的人,比如 Emma Louise 和 Elizabeth Rose。 所以我们回到了一些我们发现熟悉的人,我不知道我们是否对与我们合作的人感到满意,或者我们是否知道我们喜欢什么并且他们知道如何制作它。 所以我认为最终如果它听起来不错,我们会接受它。 

快乐的: 我读到您喜欢在实际录制之前与您合作的人共度时光。 那看起来像什么? 

雨果: 很多时候它可能只是在工作室里闲逛,但我们不一定立即开始工作。 当你们一起坐在录音室里时,互相感受对方的感觉就像是一件很奇怪的事情,你们就像,‘嘿,我们来做一首歌吧。 这是一种奇怪的个人事情,你不想承担太多风险。 所以当你和某人相处融洽时,你可以到处乱搞,大笑,你可以开玩笑,你不必一直在做严肃的事情。 如果你进入那个区域,你会产生更好的结果,因为没有人害怕尝试。 那是最重要的空间,因为如果你太紧张而且你有点太紧了,你会觉得你不能放手。 而且我们对很多事情都持开放态度,所以我想让他们对我们感到满意意味着我们将为自己获得最好的结果。 然后我想如果是这样的话,我们将来会有更好的合作。 

快乐的: 是的,说到合作,你让 Hugo Weaving 出演音乐视频 . 你是怎么联系上他的? 

雨果: 所以我们需要一个视频 ... [笑] 它本来是要在巴黎拍摄的,但由于新冠疫情,整个事情都分崩离析了。 我们需要在几周内制作一个新视频,所以我们和我学校的一个朋友交谈,我说,‘嘿,你知道,我有一个视频的想法。 他就像,'哦,很酷。 这是一个有趣的想法'或其他什么,但我有这个想法'。 他就像,'所以我们得到了 Hugo Weaving,等等,等等,等等。 我当时想,‘哇,伙计,如果你能得到 Hugo Weaving,你就可以为所欲为。 [笑] 所以他就像,'把它留给我。 我想我有联系。 他的名字是蒂姆·伯内特,他在 Entropico 工作,是的,他刚刚联系了他,打了电话,两天之内,他就说,“是的,Hugo Weaving 加入了这个音乐视频。” 我们就像,'天哪。 所以我必须把它完全交给他。 他做得很棒,我们所要做的就是说,“啊,是的。”

快乐的: 哦,哇,你有没有花很多时间和他在一起? 

雨果: 有一天我出去拍摄了。 我想他们在两天内就做到了,最后我去拜访了一两个小时,然后在剪辑结束时开车送他回家,因为他住的地方离我不远。 太棒了,当蒂姆和他说话时,蒂姆就像,‘哇,这太不可思议了。 谢谢你这样做。 雨果就像,“嗯,我已经完成了……”这家伙曾在《黑客帝国》、《指环王》中,他甚至是变形金刚中的配音。 就像,真的有什么东西不在遗愿清单上吗? 所以他就像,'哦,我只是拿我喜欢的东西。 而且我认为他对独立电影场景非常熟悉,他年轻时曾在悉尼参加过大学戏剧之类的事情。 所以我认为他在那里站稳脚跟,他显然愿意在这方面做出回报。 

快乐的: 是的,这太神奇了。 关于音乐视频的主题,我喜欢视频的方式 永远 完全由空中镜头组成。 那个背后的创作过程是什么? 

雨果: 是的,伙计,我不知道你是否在 GTA 成为现在的野兽之前玩过 GTA,但这就是整个游戏过去的样子。 它是从空中拍摄的。 所以当我们第一次看到的时候,实际上是那个导演拍摄的一些片段,他给我们看了,我们需要一个剪辑 永远. 所以这是一个重新利用他所拥有的东西并将其添加到我们的歌曲中的过程,因为从风格上讲,我们非常喜欢它,而且它看起来真的很合适。 所以我们想,'如果这个视频非常合适,我们会疯狂地去尝试找到另一个视频。 但据我所知,有一些他从未完全探索过的更深层次的情节。 但我很高兴我们能够使用它,我很想再次探索那个,整个空中的东西。 我认为现在随着无人机的出现,有一个真正的机会可以在风格上倾向于这种风格,也许可以拍摄后续作品。

快乐的: 是的,尤其是考虑到你的航空主题。 这太合适了。 所以视频有点巧合真是太疯狂了。 

雨果: 天哪,我什至没想到! 这是一个很好的观点 [笑]

快乐的: [笑] 是的,我认为这就是它背后的全部想法。 所以我看了你所有的其他视频,看看你以前是否做过,因为我认为这可能是一个反复出现的航空主题。 但是,是的,效果很好。 

雨果: 那太有趣了。 从概念上我并没有真正想到这一点,但你他妈的太棒了 [笑].

快乐的: 您是否厌倦了航空主题或完全接受它? 

雨果: 不,我想有时在场景中会有这样的感觉,“哦,上帝,让我们不要太过分了”,因为你不想看起来太像万圣节派对。 但我认为人们可以依靠这是一件好事,你可以给你的品牌一个额外的钩子。 你知道,当机器人让机器人变得如此具有标志性时,就像傻朋克厌倦了机器人一样。 所以我认为有必要为你的品牌提供额外的维度。 所以不要太荒谬和笨拙,比如,“嘿,我们是飞行员。”

但就个人而言,我小时候喜欢它。 我痴迷于飞机和飞行,我的祖父是一名飞行员,父亲有他的飞行员执照。 所以他偶尔会带我们飞来飞去。 我祖父有一架小飞机,它曾经被称为“呕吐彗星” [笑]. 我想他有其中之一。 我们会在塞斯纳 310 周围飞行,因为他经营着一家公司,他有一家包机公司。 所以我几乎接触到了整个生活,我想这就像一种让自己参与其中并将其用作优势的非常奇怪的、创造性的方式。 但是,是的,我不认为人们会像他们一样接受它。 但是现在太棒了,我们去看表演,人们都打扮得漂漂亮亮,是的,太棒了。 我喜欢看它,我很高兴我们得到了它,因为正是这个维度让整个事情变得更有趣。 有时也消除了一些严肃性。 我认为很多音乐家偶尔会倾向于自己的屁股有点远 [笑] 拥有这样的东西至少让你知道这很有趣。 

快乐的: 是的,我是这个主题的忠实粉丝。 你是如何挑选每顶帽子的人选的?

雨果: 哦,伙计,你知道吗,我愚蠢地给了自己我戴的帽子,那是 Biggles 的。 疯狂的 1940 年代旧款。

飞行设施

快乐的: 哦,我想说你有一个好的。 没有冒犯吉米.

雨果: 是的,我喜欢它,因为它有点有趣。 我当时想,'是的,我会穿这个。 多年后,就像,“上帝,我看起来像沃利” [笑]. 但它有点适合我们的个性。 我认为,如果我穿一套带飞行员帽的西装,我会合法地看起来像是在玩服装装扮。 而吉米看起来是半合法的。 我有点在愚蠢的一面。 所以我戴那顶帽子很合适。

快乐的: 好的。 嗯,非常感谢聊天。 我会让你继续做事,因为你今晚要在塔西打球。

雨果: 是的,我们要去做声音检查和所有类似的事情。 但我很感激。 谢谢你这样做。 

快乐的: 完全不用担心! 祝你演出顺利。

雨果: 谢谢大佬,我很感激。 我们可能会在悉尼见到你。 

快乐的: 是的,非常感谢。

雨果: 传奇,非常感谢。 

快乐的: 再见!

飞行设施将于本周末结束在珀斯的巡回演出。 你可以自己抢票 此处.

两人的二年级专辑 FOREVER 目前正在各大平台上播放,请欣赏下面的专辑。

提供的照片

洛奇·舒斯特采访

Interviews

Flight Facilities are adjusting to normal life after throwing their new record ‘into the void’

It’s been seven years between drinks, but Flight Facilities are back with their sophomore album FOREVER, and it was well worth the wait.

If you’ve seen a Telstra ad in the last four years, you’ve heard at least one Flight Facilities song. But there’s a high chance you’ve heard many more because the Sydney duo have been making waves since their debut record Down To Earth.

Since forming in 2009, Hugo Gruzman and James Lyell have racked up hundreds of thousands of streams, performed at sold out shows and festivals worldwide, and even launched their own festival, Airfields, that took place in Sydney last month.

We caught up with Hugo to chat about their new record FOREVER, Grand Theft Auto, and working with Hugo Weaving.

Flight Facilities

HAPPY: Hey Hugo! How’s Tassie?

HUGO: Yeah, good. It’s amazing! Nice day to be out here actually. 

HAPPY: I can imagine. Good weather? Better than in Sydney, I’m guessing. 

HUGO: Yeah. I mean, dude coming from Sydney and seeing the garbage that we’ve had for just months straight, it’s such a relief to be in some sun. 

HAPPY: It sounds like it would be an absolute delight.

HUGO: Yeah, my spirit is not broken for a second [laughs]

HAPPY: So I know it’s been a couple of months since the release, but congrats on the new album!

HUGO: Thanks! Yeah, what’s it been now? Was it November? Early November. 

HAPPY: Yeah, and it’s been a massive seven years since you released a debut. How did the release process for FOREVER differ from when you put out Down to Earth?

HUGO: I guess it was weirder because we were in the middle of lockdown. And so I think being in the lead up to Down to Earth, there was more of a ramp in terms of the excitement and everything building up, and us building up to this album and having done multiple singles. Whereas with FOREVER we had all this weird downtime, so it was hard to sort of gauge where you were at in terms of your popularity within music.

Flight Facilities Forever

So it was the hardest thing. It was just weird. Because the lockdown was the way it was, it almost felt like throwing it out into the void and not knowing how it was going to react. I mean, we’ve been really lucky that it’s been great, but it was a super strange experience not having that flurry of stuff behind you where you’re ramping up and doing more shows and becoming more exciting. It was just like, all right, the whole world was kind of getting back out into seeing people again. 

HAPPY: Speaking of shows, you’ve been playing a bunch recently, including your own festival, Airfields, in Sydney. What was the premise behind that festival? 

HUGO: I think we just wanted to showcase a whole bunch of local talent, which was a nice thing to be able to show people. I suppose it’s for us to give back in some way that we grew up being really inspired by other Australian artists. So it’s kind of cool to showcase some that are on the same sort of trajectory as I think we were years ago. And we’ve always loved the culture behind festivals and after not having one for so long, it felt even more right because everyone needs to have one of these days to reset and feel like you’re normal again. They’re one of those things that makes you go, ‘Oh, maybe stuff is kind of getting back to some semblance of normal.’ It was pretty overwhelming, I gotta say, at first. Standing around that many people again and having that many people in front of us was like, ‘Fuck, I almost forgot what this was like.’

HAPPY: Yeah it all feels a bit surreal. The last time I saw you play was at Groovin a few years back. And we’ve basically been in lockdown since then. What does the live show look like this time around for the FOREVER tour? 

HUGO: Well, we’ve definitely ramped up the production and I suppose we’ve got a whole bunch of new music. That was part of where the nerves were, we’d never performed a bunch of this music, so that was a big, big difference in itself. And then just putting more into the lighting production, and really leaning into the stuff that inspired us years ago like Daft Punk and The Chemical Brothers, and taking leafs out of their books to try and make it a bigger, more impressive show that we’ve always been enamoured by when we’ve seen other acts that we love play.

HAPPY: Oh nice, that sounds incredible. And there’s a lot of collaborations on the record. How do you pick out who you’d like to work with on different tracks? 

HUGO: Truth is, we’ll sort of work with anyone and we’re very comfortable working with people we’ve worked with before. I think there are certain melodies that we fall in love with and the people who produced them. Channel Tres, for example, we loved him and anything he does sounds like a song. The guy talks and you just want to record every word he says because it all sounds like you could put it in a track [laughs].

HUGO: But we still return to people we’ve worked with before, like Emma Louise and Elizabeth Rose. So there were people we went back to, that we found familiar, and I don’t know whether that’s us being comfortable with who we work with or whether we know what we like and they know how to produce it. So I think ultimately if it sounds good, we’ll go with it. 

HAPPY: I read that you like to spend time with the people you collaborate with before actually recording. What does that look like? 

HUGO: A lot of the time it can just be hanging out in the studio, but we don’t necessarily start working straight away. It can be like a weird thing to feel each other out when you sit in the studio together and you’re like, ‘Hey, let’s make a song.’ It’s kind of a weird personal thing and you don’t want to take too many risks. So when you get comfortable with someone, you can just fuck around and laugh and you can make jokes and you don’t necessarily have to be doing serious stuff the whole time. If you get into that zone, you’re going to produce better results because no one’s afraid of trying things. And that’s sort of the most important space to be in, because if you get too wound up and you’re a bit too tight, you kind of feel you can’t let go. And we’re sort of open to so much so I guess getting them comfortable with us means that we’re going to get the best results out of it for ourselves. And then I suppose if that’s the case, we wind up with better collaborations in future. 

HAPPY: Yeah, and speaking of collabs, you got Hugo Weaving to star in the music video for Heavy. How did you get in contact with him? 

HUGO: So we needed a video for Heavy[laughs] It was meant to be shot in Paris but the whole thing fell apart because of COVID. And we needed a new video within a couple of weeks, so we spoke to a friend of mine from school, and I was like, ‘Hey, you know, I’ve got an idea for a video.’ And he was like, ‘Oh, cool. That’s a fun idea’ or whatever, but I’ve got this idea’. He’s like, ‘So we get Hugo Weaving, blah, blah, blah.’ And I was like, ‘Woah, dude, if you can get Hugo Weaving, you can do whatever you want.’ [laughs] So he was like, ‘Leave it with me. I think I’ve got a contact.’ His name’s Tim Burnett, he works at Entropico, and yeah, he just had the contact to make it happen, made the calls, and within two days, he was like, ‘Yeah, Hugo Weaving’s on board for this music video.’ We were like, ‘holy shit.’ So I got to completely hand it to him. He did an amazing job, and all we had to do was be like, ‘Ah, yes.’

HAPPY: Oh wow, did you get to spend much time with him? 

HUGO: I went out to the shoot on one of the days. I think they did it in two days, and I went and visited for an hour or two at the end and drove him home at the end of the clip because he lives not too far away from me. It was just awesome that, when Tim was speaking to him, Tim was like, ‘Wow, this is unbelievable. Thank you for doing this.’ And Hugo was like, ‘Well, I’ve kind of done…’ The guy’s been in The Matrix, Lord of the Rings, he was even a voice in Transformers. Like, is there really anything that’s not on the bucket list there? So he was just like, ‘Oh, I just take things I like.’ And I think he’s getting pretty familiar with the independent movie scene, and he was young in Sydney once in University plays and that sort of stuff. So I think he keeps a foot grounded there and he was obviously willing to give back in that regard. 

HAPPY: Yeah, that’s amazing. On the topic of music videos, I love the way that the video for FOREVER is made up entirely of aerial shots. What was the creative process behind that one? 

HUGO: Yeah man, I don’t know if you ever played GTA before GTA was the beast that it is now, but that’s how the whole game used to look. It was shot from aerial. So when we first saw that, it was actually some footage that that director had shot and he showed it to us and we needed a clip for FOREVER. So it was a process of repurposing what he had and adding it to our song because stylistically, we loved it so much and it just really seemed to fit. So we were like, ‘We’d be crazy to go try and find another video when this one fits so well.’ But from what I heard there’s somewhat a deeper plot to it that he never fully explored. But I’m just glad that we got to use it and I’d love to almost explore that one again, that whole aerial thing. I think now with the emergence of drones, there’s a real opportunity to lean into that sort of stylistically and perhaps shoot a follow up.

HAPPY: Yeah, especially given your aviation theme. It was so fitting. So it’s crazy that the video was kind of coincidental. 

HUGO: Oh my God, I didn’t even think about that! That’s such a good point [laughs]

HAPPY: [laughs] Yeah, I thought that that was the whole idea behind it. So I was looking at all of your other videos to see if you’d done it before because I thought it could be a recurring aviation theme. But yeah, it worked out well. 

HUGO: That’s so funny. I didn’t really think of that conceptually, but you’re fucking bang on [laughs].

HAPPY: Do you ever get sick of having the aviation theme or have you completely embraced it? 

HUGO: Nah, I think sometimes within the scene there’s like, ‘oh God, let’s not go too heavy handed on it’ because you don’t want to look too much like a Halloween party. But I think it’s a nice thing that people can lean into, and you give your brand an additional hook. You know, it’d be like Daft Punk getting sick of the robots when it’s the robots that make them so iconic. So I think there’s sort of a necessity to have that extra dimension to your brand. So without it being too ridiculous and ham-fisted like, ‘hey, we’re pilots.’

But personally, I loved it as a kid. I was obsessed with planes and flying, and my grandfather was a pilot and dad had his pilot’s license. So he used to fly us around occasionally. My grandfather had a small plane, it used to be referred to as the ‘Vomit Comet’ [laughs]. I think he had one of them. And we would fly around the Cessna 310, because he ran a business out of it, he had a charter company. So I was very much sort of exposed to the whole life, and I guess this was like a really strange, creative way of getting myself involved with it and using it as an edge. But yeah, I didn’t think people would take to it as much as they have. But now it’s awesome, we go to shows and people are dressed up and yeah, it’s amazing. I love seeing it and I’m glad we’ve got it because it’s just this dimension that makes the whole thing more fun. Takes some of the seriousness out of it too sometimes. I think a lot of musicians can tend to get a bit far up their own ass occasionally [laughs] and having something like that at least lets you know it’s a bit of fun. 

HAPPY: Yeah I’m a big fan of the theme. How did you pick who gets to wear each hat?

HUGO: Oh man, you know what, I stupidly gave myself the hat that I wear, which is the Biggles one. The crazy old 1940s one.

Flight Facilities

HAPPY: Oh, I was going to say you’ve got the good one. No offence to Jimmy.

HUGO: Yeah, I loved it because it was a bit of fun. I was like, ‘Yeah, I’ll wear this.’ And after years, it’s like, ‘God, I look like Wally’ [laughs]. But it’s sort of suited to our personalities. I think that if I wore a suit with the pilot’s hat, I would legitimately look like I was playing costume dress-up. Whereas Jimmy looks semi-legitimate. I’m sort of a bit on the on the sillier side of things. So me having that hat kind of fits.

HAPPY: Nice. Well, thanks so much for chatting. I’ll let you go and get on with things because you’re playing in Tassie tonight.

HUGO: Yeah, we’re about to go do the sound check and all that sort of stuff. But I appreciate it. Thanks for doing this. 

HAPPY: No worries at all! And good luck with the show.

HUGO: Thanks man, I appreciate it. We’ll probably see you around in Sydney. 

HAPPY: Yeah definitely, thanks so much.

HUGO: Legend, thanks a lot. 

HAPPY: Bye!

Flight Facilities are finishing off their tour in Perth this weekend. You can grab yourself a ticket here.

The duo’s sophomore record FOREVER is currently streaming on all major platforms, get a taste for the album below.

Photos provided

Interview by Lochie Schuster