Performer lineup has been announced for the Carlton Dry Independent Music Awards

This year marks the 10th annual Carlton Dry Independent Music Awards, and with it comes an appropriately talent-heavy lineup of performers who will grace the stage on the night.

Bad Dreems dumb idea

The event will take place on October 22nd, celebrating the best in independent Aussie music. Among the performers will be Adeliade pub-rockers Bad//Dreems, Brisbane indie-soul singer Airling, heavy-rockers Dead Letter Circus, indigenous songer-songwriter Frank Yamma, and shredder Harts.

Check out the full lineup and nominees below:


Dead Letter Circus
Frank Yamma


Best Independent Artist
#1 Dads
Chet Faker
Courtney Barnett
Vance Joy

Best Independent Album
#1 Dads – About Face
Courtney Barnett – Sometimes I Sit And Think, And Sometimes I Just Sit
Flight Facilities – Down To Earth
Hermitude – Dark Night Sweet Light
Vance Joy – Dream Your Life Away

Best Independent Single Or EP
Bad//Dreems – Cuffed & Collared
Courtney Barnett – Depreston
Courtney Barnett – Pedestrian At Best
Hermitude – The Buzz (Feat. Mataya & Young Tapz)
Vance Joy – Fire And The Flood

Breakthrough Independent Artist Of The Year
#1 Dads
Client Liaison
Japanese Wallpaper
Totally Mild

Best Independent Hip Hop Album
Baro – 17/18
Briggs – Sheplife
Citizen Kay – Demokracy
One Day – Mainline
Seth Sentry – Strange New Past

Best Independent Country Album
Amber Lawrence – Superheroes
Frank Yamma – Uncle
Jim Lawrie – Eons
Raised By Eagles – Diamonds In The Bloodstream
Troy Cassar-Daley – Freedom Ride

Best Independent Blues And Roots Album
C.W. Stoneking – Gon’ Boogaloo
Fraser A. Gorman – Slow Gum
Gurrumul – The Gospel Album
Marlon Williams – Marlon Williams
Paul Kelly Presents The Merri Soul Sessions – Paul Kelly Presents The Merri Soul Sessions

Best Independent Hard Rock, Heavy Or Punk Album
British India – Nothing Touches Me
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – I’m In Your Mind Fuzz
Northlane – Node
The Peep Tempel – Tales
The Smith Street Band – Throw Me In The River

Best Independent Dance/Electronica Album
Collarbones – Return
Flight Facilities – Down To Earth
Hermitude – Dark Night Sweet Light
Seekae – The Worry
Ta-Ku – Songs To Make Up To

Best Independent Dance, Electronica Or Club Single
Collarbones – Turning
Generik – The Weekend (Feat. Nicky Van She)
Hayden James – Something About You
Nicky Night Time – Gonna Get Better (Feat. Nat Dunn)
Rüfüs – You Were Right

Best Independent Jazz Album
Allan Browne Quintet – Ithaca Bound
Barney Mcall – Mooroolbark
Gian Slater – Still Still
Mike Nock Octet – Suite Sima
Sarah Mckenzie – We Could Be Lovers

Best Independent Classical Album
Alicia Crossley – Alchemy
Amir Farid – Amir Farid Plays Javad Maroufi: Golden Dreams And Other Works
Amy Dickson / Sydney Symphony Orchestra – Island Songs
Australian Brandenburg Orchestra – Brandenburg Celebrates
Zubin Kanga – Piano Inside Out