面试

绿党领袖亚当班特谈他对德国家庭音乐鲜为人知的热爱

您可能知道 Adam Bandt 是澳大利亚绿党的领袖,但您知道他也是浩室音乐的忠实粉丝吗?

许多澳大利亚政客都尝试过打碟。 您可能已经看到 Albo 在甲板上出现红热的裂缝,或者报纸上对 John Howard DJ 的涂鸦“像个疯子一样”。 但绿党领袖亚当班特对德国家庭音乐有着真正的热情,我们想找出关于他鲜为人知的爱好的一切。

亚当班特

快乐的: 作为一名政治家,你的一天必须从很早开始,你每天早上有什么例行公事来炒作自己吗?

亚当: 我尝试以跑步开始大多数早晨——这有助于我长时间保持精力充沛,并且在长期的大流行封锁期间对我的心理健康也非常有帮助。

跑步基本上是我独自听音乐的唯一时间,所以我要么排队一些新版本,要么进入几个播放列表之一。 在一个阳光明媚的早晨,空气中带着一丝凉意,这个播放列表让我精神振奋,帮助我跟上节奏

快乐的: 我们听说您喜欢涉猎一点德国家庭音乐。 你对房子的爱从何而来?

亚当: 是的! 我真的很喜欢来自德国的旋律、低声到无声的房子。 像 Kompakt、Pampa、Smallville 和 Dial 这样的标签真的很适合我。 大约 XNUMX 年前,一位朋友向我介绍了它,唱片店和 Beatport 的空闲时间填补了空白。 在议会前的日子里,这里和海外的节日也很有趣。 这些家伙目前对我来说处于相当高的轮换状态。

快乐的: 你曾经是 DJ 吗?

亚当: 哈哈,是的。 我不想把任何人的期望定得太高! 我过去常常在朋友聚会和休息室里做偶尔的布景。 我有几个 Technics 1200 转盘在前厅积尘,因为自从成为绿党领袖和生孩子以来,在派对前线对我来说有点安静。

我的节拍匹配技巧相当平均,所以我估计这次我会投资某种控制器,让机器来完成工作。 我绝对会再做一次,我很想回到它。

快乐的: 你最近还听什么?

亚当: 剩下的时间,我的孩子们几乎可以决定我们听什么。 我知道的凯蒂佩里的歌曲比健康的要多得多。 幸运的是,孩子们刚刚对 Khruangbin 产生了兴趣,我非常鼓励他们,包括在 6 月带他们去看他们。 我会报告一下带着 7 岁和 XNUMX 岁的孩子去 Sidney Myer 音乐碗的情况。

快乐的: 棒棒糖的理想长度是多少,什么时候下降? 或者你更喜欢你的曲调自由落体?

亚当: 啊,大问题! 墨尔本 DJ Mike Callander 最近播放了这首令人惊叹的曲目 嘴对嘴 由 Audion 制作,我以前从未听过的旧款,它持续了将近 13 分钟,感觉就像大跌总是即将到来,但从来没有完全到来。 这是非常令人满意的。

快乐的: 如果绿党要策划一个音乐节,谁是头条新闻?

亚当: 哈哈好吧,如果我与它有任何关系,我会推动一个庞大的本地阵容。 我的许多朋友和志愿者都因 COVID 失去了演出,巡回计划被打断,失去了动力,当然也失去了收入。

所以我会为当地的表演寻找一个大阵容(有丰厚的报酬!),比如 King Stingray、Camp Cope、Emma Donovan 和 Putbacks、Cable Ties、Paul Dempsey、The Merindas、Gretta Ray、Cash Savage & the Last饮料,爵士派对……那将是一个很好的节日。

亚当班特

快乐的: 2022 年的选举对绿党来说意义重大。 您对结果的哪些方面最感兴趣?

亚当: 看到人们拒绝维持现状的政治,有很多启发。 我们传达了气候行动和不平等行动的明确信息,我们在全国范围内获得了很大一部分选票。

我很高兴看到我们有望在未来几年内紧急摆脱煤炭和天然气。 我也很高兴看到那些在联盟党领导下长期坚持不懈的人会发生什么,包括租房者、艺术家、临时工和 Centrelink 上的人。 我们已经制定了完全成本的计划,对亿万富翁和大公司征税,并用这笔钱重建基本服务,并为可再生能源转型提供资金。 所以你可以说我很高兴回到议会开始工作。

快乐的: 最后我想问一下,你认为未来 3 年音乐的趋势是什么?

亚当: 我很想看到人们从大流行的封锁中走出来并进入下一个未知领域的音乐。 我知道我们都厌倦了前所未有的时代,我们都希望再次进入先例时代,但无论艺术家如何利用这一刻和未来几年来帮助我们了解我们是谁,并希望在我们需要的地方划清界限去。

未来三年对于人类应对气候危机至关重要,而艺术家将是建立社区运动以迫使政府采取行动的关键。 我将在议会中战斗,但我需要你们所有人为你们的音乐、你们的活动、你们的写作和你们的社区而战。 你会让改变不可避免,我迫不及待地想看到它。

在下面的亚当派对播放列表中欣赏一下。

提供的照片

洛奇·舒斯特采访

Interviews

Greens leader Adam Bandt on his little-known love for German house music

You probably know Adam Bandt as the leader of The Australian Greens, but did you know he’s also a huge fan of house music?

Plenty of Aussie politicians have tried their hand at DJing. You’ve probably seen Albo having a red hot crack on the decks, or the newspaper doodles of John Howard DJing “like a mad c*nt”. But Greens leader Adam Bandt has a genuine passion for German house music, and we wanted to find out everything we could about his little-known hobby.

Adam Bandt

HAPPY: As a politician, your day must start pretty early, do you have any routines to hype yourself up each morning?

ADAM: I try to start most mornings with a run – it helps me keep my energy up for long days and was also really helpful for my mental health during the long pandemic lockdowns.

Running is basically the only time I get to listen to music alone, so I’ll either queue up some new releases or dip into one of a few playlists. On a sunny morning with a slight chill in the air, this playlist lifts the spirits and helps me keep the pace up

HAPPY: We heard you like to dabble with a bit of German House Music. Where did your love of house come from?

ADAM: Yes! There’s something I really love about the melodic, low- to no-vocal house from Germany. Labels like Kompakt, Pampa, Smallville and Dial really do it for me. A friend introduced me to it almost two decades ago, and idle hours in record shops and Beatport filled in the gaps. Festivals here and overseas in my pre-Parliament days were lots of fun too. These guys are on pretty high rotation for me at the moment.

HAPPY: And you used to DJ a bit?

ADAM: Haha, yeah. I don’t want to set anyone’s expectations too high! I used to do the occasional set at friends’ parties and in the lounge room. I’ve got a couple of Technics 1200 turntables gathering dust in the front room as it’s been a bit quieter for me on the parties front since becoming the Greens Leader and having kids.

My beat matching skills were pretty average, so I reckon this time I’d invest in some kind of controller and let the machines do the work. I’d absolutely do it again, I’d love to get back into it.

HAPPY: What else have you been listening to lately?

ADAM: The rest of the time, my young kids pretty much get to decide what we listen to. I know far more Katy Perry songs than is healthy. Fortunately, the kids have just developed a taste for Khruangbin, which I’m strongly encouraging, including by taking them to see them in December. I’ll report back on what going to Sidney Myer Music Bowl with a 6 and 7 year old is like.

HAPPY: What’s the ideal length of a club banger, and when does the drop come in? Or do you prefer your tunes drop free?

ADAM: Ah, the big question! Melbourne DJ Mike Callander recently played this amazing track Mouth to Mouth by Audion, an old one I’d never heard before, it goes for almost 13 minutes, and it feels like the big drop is always just about to come but never quite does. It’s immensely satisfying.

HAPPY: If the Greens were to curate a music festival, who’s headlining?

ADAM: Haha well, if I had anything to do with it, I’d be pushing for a huge local lineup. So many of my friends and volunteers have lost gigs to COVID, had touring plans interrupted, lost momentum and of course lost income.

So I’d be looking for a big line up (with generous remuneration!) for local acts like King Stingray, Camp Cope, Emma Donovan and the Putbacks, Cable Ties, Paul Dempsey, The Merindas, Gretta Ray, Cash Savage & the Last Drinks, JAZZ Party… That’d be a good festival.

Adam Bandt

HAPPY: The 2022 election was huge for the Greens. What aspects of the results are you most excited about?

ADAM: There’s just so much to be inspired by seeing people reject the status quo politics. We ran on an unequivocal message of climate action and action on inequality, and we were rewarded with a huge share of the vote around the country.

I’m excited to see us hopefully urgently getting out of coal and gas in the next few years. I’m also excited to see what will happen to people who have been doing it tough under the Coalition for too long, including renters, artists, casual workers and people on Centrelink. We’ve got fully-costed plans to tax the billionaires and big corporations and use that money to rebuild essential services, as well as fund the renewable energy transition. So you could say I’m pretty excited to get back to parliament and get to work.

HAPPY: And finally I wanted to ask, what trends do you see in music over the next 3 years?

ADAM: I’m keen to see the music people make coming out of pandemic lockdowns and entering this next, uncharted territory. I know we’re all sick of the unprecedented times, we’re all wishing for precedented times again, but whatever artists make out of this moment and the coming years will help us understand who we are and hopefully draw a line to where we need to go.

The next three years will be crucial for humanity to act on the climate crisis, and artists will be key to building the community movements that force governments to take action. I’ll be fighting in parliament, but I need all of you out there to fight in your music, in your events, in your writing, in your communities. You’ll make change inevitable, and I can’t wait to see it.

Have a geez at Adam’s party playlist below.

Photos provided

Interview by Lochie Schuster