访谈

查理柯林斯正在享受新的自由,因为她的下一章开始了

查理·柯林斯

查理柯林斯的第二张专辑收录了她迄今为止最亲密的歌曲创作 未完成 充满质感和个性。

在一段关系破裂后,她的生活彻底改变了,查理柯林斯重新发现了她的自发性并跳上了飞往伦敦的航班。

这次旅行包括探索、写作和自我发现,还有一小部分是与 Gang of Youths 一起在英国巡回演出。

现在查理回到澳大利亚 未完成 全世界都听到了,我们抓住机会聊了聊新纪录,被国王十字车站保安追赶,喝了太多泡菜。

查理柯林斯

快乐的: 嘿! 你好吗,查理?

查理: 嘿! 我很好。 你好吗? 

快乐的: 我很好,谢谢你。 你现在回澳洲了吗? 

查理: 是的! 我回来了。 回到阳光下真是太好了。 

快乐的: 好的。 伦敦怎么样? 我很想有一天能去那里。 

查理: 伙计,太好了。 这是一次改变人生的旅行。 

快乐的: 喔,不错! 你为什么那么喜欢它? 

查理: 只是周日烤肉,真的[笑]. 不,我不知道。 我只是喜欢寒冷的天气。 我喜欢这里的食物,音乐现场如此生动,一切都充满活力。 我不知道,当你在一个新的地方,一切都是新的和令人兴奋的。 

快乐的: 是的。 有什么东西需要一秒钟来适应吗?还是一切都很容易?

查理: 可能只有火车 [笑]. 我会说,‘哦,我完全坐错了火车。 我要去东方而不是西方。 

快乐的: [笑] 说到火车,视频 后座情人节,那是在伦敦火车站拍摄的吗? 

查理: 是的! 在国王十字车站和伦敦车站周围。 我们被一名保安追赶。 所以当我跑步时,我实际上是在跑步。 

快乐的: 哦,真的吗? [笑] 

查理: 是的,这很棒。 [笑] 

快乐的: 所以当你在楼梯间拍摄镜头时,你是否必须等待人们走过,然后在中间快速拍摄? 

查理: 是啊是啊。 不,从字面上看,人们会走过,然后我们会迅速射击,然后等待。 是的,就在那时保安来了,“你不能在这里拍摄,”我们就像,“啊! 去跑步!'

快乐的: 哇哦,真的吗? 他们在那里拍摄有什么问题? 

查理: 我不知道! 我认为您需要许可证或其他东西。

快乐的: 啊。 哎呀。

查理: 我们也在紧急楼梯间。 

快乐的: 哦对了,好吧 [笑].

查理: 当然,我们很狡猾。

快乐的: 为了剪辑,这一切都是值得的。 

查理: 没错。 一切都是为了艺术,宝贝。

快乐的: 嗯,当然咯。 你也刚刚结束了与Gang of Youths的巡演。 那是什么感觉? 

查理: 太棒了。 天啊。 首先,赶上他们真是太好了,因为我已经很久没有见过他们了。 我的第一次头条巡演是和他们一起在澳大利亚巡演,所以再做一次,真是太棒了。 去布里克斯顿学院玩简直是超现实的,但也很有趣。 看到他们真是太好了,因为我一直在听他们制作新唱片的时间很长,所以听到这一切现场直播就像……我觉得自己是一个自豪的妈妈。

查理·柯林斯
学分:麦迪梅

快乐的: 你第一次见到青年帮是在哪里?

查理: 所以我在他们 16 岁的时候认识了他们。他们的第一场演出实际上是在支持一个乐队 I 在... [笑]. 是的,他们超级年轻。 所以我们在某种程度上是一起长大的,现在我的兄弟管理着他们。 他们只是一种松散的家庭,这很好。 

快乐的: 不错哦。 所以当你在巡演时,让观众接受你推出的新材料是不是很好? 未完成.

查理: 是的,这很伤脑筋,因为我也在自己演奏,没有躲在乐队后面,而是现场演奏这些歌曲。 这真的很酷……我从新东西中得到的回应,我就像'酷,我认为这张唱片还可以。 人们喜欢它……我想。

快乐的: 你在写作的时候有没有感受到很多经典的二年级专辑压力? 未完成?

查理: 不,实际上。 有趣的是,我并没有感到压力。 我有太多需要离开的东西,所以这张专辑就是这样。 所以我并没有真正考虑其他任何事情,或者将它与上一个进行比较,因为它们是两个完全不同的故事。 我在生活中经历了完全不同的事情,所以这只是我现在所处位置和前进方向的进展。 

快乐的: 是的,不错。 我还读到你写的歌词 后座情人节 在 10 分钟内。 真的吗? 

查理: 10分钟! 这就像世界纪录一样。 太有趣了。 我见过一些像“在两个小时内写完”,“在一个小时内写完”,但我没有看到 10 分钟。 不过也就一个小时左右,很快。 我和 Xavier Dunn 一起写的,他是我的好朋友之一,他就像,‘你有所有这些美丽、悲伤的歌曲,意义重大,但我知道你,你喜欢聚会,你有点像野婊子。 

所以他说,'让我们写一些这样的东西,它会带出人们从未见过的你的一面。 所以我们只是在互相嘲笑。 他会写一行然后他会说,“走吧!” 我当时想,'是的! 然后就像,'天哪,我们有一首歌' [笑].

查理·柯林斯

快乐的: 所以这是一个非常顺利的过程?

查理: 很滑! 然后我录制了人声,在 10 分钟内直接录制了一个,那首歌中的所有内容都来自写作阶段。 

快乐的: 不错哦。 我一定把 10 分钟内的录音和 10 分钟内的写作混淆了。 这就是我在那里所做的 [笑]

查理: 哦对,对,对。 

快乐的: 那还是那么令人印象深刻。 

查理: 是的,它非常快速和有趣,我喜欢它。 我喜欢你能在其中看到那种快节奏的能量。 甚至当我在唱歌的时候,就像,‘好吧,去吧! 记录,唱歌! 我就像'啊! 我考虑过重做人声,因为它就在他卧室的小工作室里。 但我只是想,我不认为我能重现它,因为它的声音中有那种绝望和混乱。 所以我们只保留了这一切。

快乐的: 这是命中注定的。 我也想问,因为这是你迄今为止写的最亲密的音乐。 当你与其他人一起工作时,你是否觉得很难以那种脆弱的方式敞开心扉? 

查理: 我认为因为与我一起工作的所有人都是好朋友,所以无论如何我们都会谈论它。 但在这种情况下,我们写了它。 所以我会告诉他们所有这些东西,但它恰好变成了一首歌。 所以这实际上很容易。 是的,它非常无缝。 

快乐的: 你认为独自旅行是否有助于打开你的歌曲创作以达到那种脆弱程度? 或者那是无关的? 

查理: 我不知道……我认为我的脆弱真的只是来自内心 [笑]. 这听起来很愚蠢。 但这是真的。 我一直是一个无法编造故事的作家。 这真的很难。 当我写作时,它必须是真实的,以及我的感受。 所以这一切都出来了,因为本质上它就像对我自己的治疗。 如果我不准确地说出我的真实感受,那我就会埋葬它,它会把我吃掉。 是的。 始终保持诚实。 有时太诚实 [笑].

快乐的: 您还谈到了您过去几年如何敦促您再次与您更自发的一面取得联系。 除了飞往伦敦,你还做过哪些自发的事情? 

查理: 嗯,伦敦绝对是最自发的。 我才回到这个国家一个星期,我还在克服时差。 所以我还没有机会做一些自发的事情……还没有。 哦! 前几天晚上我出去了,确实喜欢 泡菜 射击,我很遗憾。 我不知道这是否是自发的。 我认为这只是愚蠢的。 

快乐的: 不,这是自发的。 是的,这很重要 [笑].

查理: 好吧,这算不算? [笑] 好吧,生病了。 我刚做了一堆泡菜,很棒。 然后一个小时后喷了出来! [笑]

快乐的: 不好了! 这太粗糙了。 

查理: 这很粗糙,是的。 我有点不能喝威士忌。 

快乐的: [笑] 所以随着新唱片的发行,你也有一些节目在澳大利亚上演。 粉丝们可以从这些节目中期待什么?

查理: 显然是新歌,我有一个新乐队,我认为这只是一种情感体验。 只是现场播放这些歌曲,想知道我是否可以在不崩溃的情况下通过它们,是的。 这将是非常原始和情绪化的。 我也很高兴能与其他人分享这一点,这样我们就可以联系在一起,一起参与其中。 

快乐的: 当你在没有乐队的情况下表演时,你是否有任何策略来复制类似数量的能量,当你只表演时,或者你只是完全剥离它并使其成为独奏表演?

查理: 是的,我认为这是你必须有意识地思考的事情,绝对。 甚至在我做青年帮的演出时,我也确实把事情放低了一点,因为你也负责创造光影和动态,只有你和你的吉他。 所以你必须考虑一下。 对我来说,我不只是粉碎它。 你有时刻和更柔和的时刻,你可以创造新的时刻。 所以,是的,当然。 我确实考虑过 [笑].

快乐的: 好的。 嗯,这就是我要问你的所有问题。 你要参加排练吗? 

查理: 是的,我有一个排练。

快乐的: 很有趣! 嗯,非常非常感谢您抽出宝贵的时间。 

查理: 当然! 我的荣幸。

快乐的: 和你说话很愉快。 很高兴见到你。 

查理: 也很高兴认识你。 享受剩下的阳光明媚的一天。 

快乐的: 谢谢! 你也是。

查理: 再见!

快乐的: 拜拜。

查理柯林斯在她的“Undone”专辑巡演中还有三场演出,分别是 9 月 11 日至 14 日在布里斯班的 Black Bear Lodge 演出,然后是 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日星期六在悉尼的 Oxford Art Factory。 抢票 此处

你可以在下面品尝一下查理的新专辑。

提供的照片。

Lochie Schuster 接受采访。

Interviews

Charlie Collins is enjoying newfound freedom as her next chapter kicks off

Charlie Collins

Featuring some of her most intimate songwriting to date, Charlie Collins’ sophomore album Undone is full of texture and personality.

After a relationship breakdown flipped her life on its head, Charlie Collins rediscovered her spontaneity and hopped on a flight to London.

The trip involved a mixture of exploring, writing, and self-discovery, with a small side of touring across the UK with Gang of Youths.

Now that Charlie’s back in Australia and Undone is out for the world to hear, we snagged the opportunity to have a chat about the new record, getting chased by Kings Cross station security, and drinking too many pickleback shots.

Charlie Collins Undone

HAPPY: Hey! How are you going, Charlie?

CHARLIE: Hey! I’m good. How are you? 

HAPPY: I’m very well, thank you. Are you back in Australia now? 

CHARLIE: Yes! I’m back. And it’s so nice to be back in the sunshine. 

HAPPY: Nice. How was London? I’m so keen to get there one day. 

CHARLIE: Dude, it was so good. It was a life changing trip. 

HAPPY: Wow, nice! What did you love so much about it? 

CHARLIE: Just the Sunday roast, really [laughs]. No, I don’t know. I just love the cold weather. I love the food, and the music scene is so alive, and everything is just alive. I don’t know, when you’re in a new place, everything is new and exciting. 

HAPPY: Yeah. Did anything take a second to get used to or was it all pretty easy?

CHARLIE: Probably just the trains [laughs]. I’d just be like, ‘Oh, I am completely on the wrong train. I’m going east instead of west.’ 

HAPPY: [laughs] Speaking of the trains, the video for Backseat Valentine, was that filmed at a London train station? 

CHARLIE: Yeah! In Kings Cross Station and all around the stations in London. We got chased by a security guard. So when I was running, I was actually running. 

HAPPY: Oh, really? [laughs] 

CHARLIE: Yeah, it was great. [laughs] 

HAPPY: So when you were filming the shots when you were inside on the stairwell, did you have to wait for people to walk past and then just do quick takes in between? 

CHARLIE: Yeah, yeah. No, literally, people would walk past and then we’d quickly shoot and then wait. And yeah, that’s when the security guard came, ‘You can’t be filming here,’ and we were like, ‘Ah! Go, run!’

HAPPY: Oh wow, really? What was their issue with filming there? 

CHARLIE: I don’t know! I think you need a licence or something.

HAPPY: Ahhhh. Geez.

CHARLIE: We were also in an emergency stairwell. 

HAPPY: Ohhh right, okay [laughs].

CHARLIE: We were being dodgy, for sure.

HAPPY: It’s all worth it for the clip. 

CHARLIE: Yeah exactly. It’s all for the art, babe.

HAPPY: Yeah, of course. And you also just finished touring with Gang of Youths. What was that like? 

CHARLIE: It was so great. Oh, man. First of all, it was just great to catch up with them because I haven’t seen them in so long. And my first headline tour was touring with them in Australia, so to do it again, it was so great. To get to play Brixton Academy was just surreal, but it was just a whole lot of fun. It was so great to see them because I’ve been listening to their new record for so long in the making, so to hear it all come together live was like… I felt like a proud mum.

Charlie Collins
Credit: Mady Mae

HAPPY: Where did you first meet Gang of Youths?

CHARLIE: So I met them when they were like 16. Their first show was actually supporting a band that I was in [laughs]. Yeah they were super young. So we’ve kind of grown up with each other and now my brother manages them. They’re just kind of loose family and it’s nice. 

HAPPY: Aw nice. So when you were on tour, was it good to get a crowd’s reception to the new material that you’ve got coming out with Undone.

CHARLIE: Yeah, it was nerve wracking because I was also playing by myself, not hiding behind a band, and playing these songs live. And it was really cool… the responses that I got from the new stuff, I was like ‘Cool, I think this record is okay. People like it… I think.’

HAPPY: Did you feel much of the classic sophomore album pressure when you were writing Undone?

CHARLIE: No, actually. Funnily enough, I didn’t feel pressure. I just had so much I needed to get out, and so this album is just that. So I didn’t really think about anything else, or compare it to the last one because they’re two completely different stories. I’ve been through completely different things in life, so it’s just more of a progression of where I am at now and where I’m heading. 

HAPPY: Yeah, nice. I also read that you wrote the lyrics for Backseat Valentine in 10 minutes. Is that true? 

CHARLIE: 10 minutes! That’s like a world record. It’s so funny. I’ve seen some that are like ‘wrote it in two hours’, ‘wrote it in an hour,’ but I haven’t seen 10 minutes. It was like an hour though, it was very quick. I wrote it with Xavier Dunn, he’s one of my good friends, and he’s just like, ‘you have all these beautiful, sad songs that mean so much, but I know you and you love to party and you’re a bit of a wild bitch.’ 

And so he’s like, ‘Let’s write something like that, that brings out that side of you that people have never seen.’ And so we just were riffing off each other. He’d write a line and then he’d be like, ‘Go!’ And I was like, ‘Yeah!’ And then it was like, ‘Oh my God, we have a song’ [laughs].

Charlie Collins

HAPPY: So it was a really smooth process?

CHARLIE: So smooth! And then I recorded the vocals, just one off straightaway in like, 10 minutes and everything that is on that song is just from the writing session. 

HAPPY: Oh nice. I must have confused recording it in 10 minutes with writing it in 10 minutes. That’s what I’ve done there [laughs]

CHARLIE: Ohhh yeah, yeah, yeah. 

HAPPY: That’s still so impressive. 

CHARLIE: Yeah, it was very quick and fun and I love it. I love that you can kind of see that fast paced energy in it. And even when I was singing, it was like, ‘Okay, go! Record, sing!’ and I was like ‘Argh!’ And I thought about redoing the vocals because it was just in his little studio in his bedroom. But I was just like, I don’t think I’ll be able to recreate that because it has that desperation and chaos in the sound. So we just kept it all.

HAPPY: It was meant to be. I also wanted to ask, because this is some of the most intimate music you’ve written to date. Do you find it difficult to open up in that vulnerable way when you’re working with other people? 

CHARLIE: I think because all the people that I worked with are just good friends, so it would just be stuff we’d talk about anyway. But in this case we wrote about it. So I would have told them all this stuff, but it just happened to turn into a song. So it was actually easy. Yeah, it was very seamless. 

HAPPY: Do you think solo traveling helped open up your song writing to reach that level of vulnerability? Or is that kind of unrelated? 

CHARLIE: I don’t know… I think my vulnerability truly just comes from within [laughs]. That sounds so stupid. But it’s true. I’ve just always been a writer where I can’t make up a story. It’s really hard. And when I write, it has to be exactly the truth, and exactly how I’m feeling. So it kind of just all comes out because essentially it’s like therapy for myself. And if I don’t talk about exactly how I’m feeling truthfully, it’ll be something I’ll bury and it’ll eat me away. So yeah. Always keeping it honest. Sometimes too honest [laughs].

HAPPY: You also talked about how your last few years have urged you to get in touch with your more spontaneous side again. Other than flying to London, what other spontaneous things have you been up to? 

CHARLIE: Well, London was definitely the most spontaneous. I’ve only been back in the country for like a week, and I’m still getting over jet lag. So I haven’t had the chance to do something spontaneous… yet. Oh! I went out the other night and did like five pickleback shots, which I regret. I don’t know if that’s spontaneous. I think that’s just stupid. 

HAPPY: Nah that’s spontaneous. Yeah, that counts [laughs].

CHARLIE: Okay, did that count? [laughs] Alright, sick. I just did a bunch of picklebacks, it was great. And then spewed like an hour later! [laughs]

HAPPY: Oh no! That’s so rough. 

CHARLIE: It was rough, yeah. I can’t drink whisky for a bit. 

HAPPY: [laughs] And so with the release of the new record, you’ve also got some shows coming up in Australia. What can fans expect from those shows?

CHARLIE: Obviously new songs, I’ve got a new band and I think it’s just going to be an emotional experience. Just playing these songs live, wondering if I can even get through them without breaking down, yeah. It’s going to be very raw and emotional. And I’m also excited to share that with other people, so we can all connect together and be in it together. 

HAPPY: When you’re performing without your band, do you have any tactics to replicate a similar amount of energy when it’s just you performing or do you just completely strip it back and make it a solo performance?

CHARLIE: Yeah, I think it’s something that you have to consciously think about, definitely. Even when I did the Gang of Youths shows, I definitely brought things down a little bit, because you’re also responsible for creating the light and shade, and the dynamic, just you and your guitar. So you’ve got to think about that. For me, I don’t just smash it out. You have the moments and the softer moments and you can create new moments. So yeah, definitely. I do think about that [laughs].

HAPPY: Nice. Well, that’s pretty much all the questions I’ve got for you. Are you about to jump into a rehearsal? 

CHARLIE: Yeah, I’ve got a rehearsal.

HAPPY: So fun! Well, thank you very, very much for taking the time. 

CHARLIE: Of course! My pleasure.

HAPPY: It was lovely speaking with you. And lovely to meet you. 

CHARLIE: Lovely to meet you too. Enjoy the rest of your sunny day. 

HAPPY: Thank you! You too.

CHARLIE: Bye!

HAPPY: See ya.

Charlie Collins has three shows left on her ‘Undone’ album tour, playing Brisbane’s Black Bear Lodge May 9 and 11, then Oxford Art Factory in Sydney on Saturday the 14th of May. Grab tickets here

You can get a taste for Charlie’s new album below.

Photos provided.

Interviewed by Lochie Schuster.