性玩具:拥有 30,000 年历史的卧室信心的关键

主办单位

lovehoney 性玩具
照片:Lovehoney

您是否曾经有人找到您的小振动朋友并感到非常羞愧? 现在是时候停止担心我们的电池供电的芽了,因为新闻快讯,几乎每个人都会抽搐。

虽然我们确实生活在一个进步的时代,并且每十年变得更加开明,但人们仍然对他们对性的感受或兴趣感到羞耻并不少见。 我们和性幸福的人一起 Lovehoney,来改变这一点并使这些对话正常化。

其他所有名人或 Instagram 影响者都会让你相信我们都对这个话题充满信心和热情,但实际上,我们中的许多人仍在学习如何适应长期以来被视为禁忌话题的话题。

对于许多成年人来说,表达他们的性取向和有效地交流性是很困难的。 有幸拥有高度支持和情感进化的早期环境的人可能不会觉得这很难。

事实证明,让孩子们看到你的振动器实际上可能会在没有羞耻感的情况下促进更好的性关系。

性高潮确实是生活中美丽而有益的一部分。 它们可以增加血液循环,改善心脏健康,甚至减轻焦虑和疼痛。 性学家、科学家和性幸福品牌大使 Lovehoney,Chantelle Otten 对性高潮的重要性有以下看法:

“性高潮会释放出大量让人感觉良好的内啡肽,帮助我们睡得更好,进而增强我们的免疫系统,增强我们的认知能力并降低我们的压力水平”

几十年来,性玩具一直是性时代精神的一部分,并帮助许多人对性生活更加开放。 谁能忘记何时 欲望城市 著名的特色 兔子振动器,在世界各地的女性中引起轰动,她们突然感到有信心昂首阔步地走进性用品商店并控制自己的快乐。

Otten 是澳大利亚最大的心理性学实践的主管,他将性玩具描述为“扩展你的性自我” 可用于为您的独奏或合作游戏增添趣味。

“性玩具很神奇,它们是性神的礼物。 除了给你快乐 无论何时你想要而不要求任何回报,他们还有其他好处。 当您开始更多地了解自己的身体和 感觉很棒的领域。 它们可以帮助您探索以前从未探索过的不同感觉。”

“他们可以通过带回火花来提高与伴侣的亲密感,还可以帮助沟通,因为你必须告诉对方什么感觉很好,以及把玩具放在哪里。”

尽管许多人有幸拥有这种无忧无虑的态度,但在购买和使用性玩具方面仍然存在强烈的污名。 Cam Faser 是经过认证的专业性教练、性学家、议员和密宗瑜伽老师。 但即使有了这份简历,Cam 也承认,针对男性开发的性玩具存在一种特殊的耻辱感,尤其是自慰袖和阴茎抚摸器。

“我认为这源于这些玩具历来的营销方式,淫秽的包装和信息使对男性性行为过于简单的刻板印象永久存在。” 

 

在Instagram上查看此帖子

 

Bryony Cole (@bryonycole) 分享的帖子

世界领先的性技术专家 Bryony Cole 对此表示赞同。

“如此多的男性社会化强化了在生殖器之外探索你的身体会让你变得陌生,或者使用玩具会让你变得毛骨悚然”,她分享了。

“我们应该以与女性一样的体贴来审视男性的愉悦对话。 你在哪里感到快乐? 当您在其他领域触摸自己时,您如何探索更多感觉? 我们需要打开它,而不是关闭对话。”

虽然我们可能还没有像 Carrie Bradshaw 这样的男性来告诉世界戴阴茎环很酷,但像 Lovehoney 这样的公司正在创造 平易近人的男性性玩具 正在帮助减少污名。

作为弗雷泽工作的一部分,他帮助男性享受没有焦虑或羞耻的性体验。 所以,我们问他有哪些克服这些障碍的最佳方法。

“男人跟我说的一个普遍的耻辱是,如果他们使用性玩具,他们会觉得自己在某种程度上不像男人。 例如,当他们使用玩具时,他们可能会感到羞耻 手淫是因为他们认为他们找不到真正的伴侣。”

“一个策略 推动这一点就是投资一个玩具并有意识地使用它来唤起s的那些感觉带着充分的意识去工作,这样你就可以克服它们,用快乐来改变它们 情怀。”

可以说,自古以来,性就已经统治了世界,因此性玩具已经帮助人类“到达那里”至少 30,000 年也就不足为奇了。 第一个性玩具是用实心石头制成的,发现于德国西南部。 如果这听起来不像您对美好时光的看法,那么您肯定不是唯一一个为该行业从那时起取得长足进步而感到高兴的人!

“我不想使用石头假阳具。 或者木头……如果你的母狗里有碎片怎么办?”, 奥顿笑着说道。

谁知道我们的祖先为了一点乐趣而在自己体内或将自己放入了其他装置? 直到古希腊著名的诱人时代,假阳具的使用才被正式记录在艺术和文学中。

希罗达斯在公元前三世纪的文字记录了两个女人之间关于当时被称为“olisbos”的对话:

“这些人当然没有像那样的公羊……这还不是全部:他们的光滑——一个梦想; 还有缝线,是羽绒的,不是线的! 尽你所能,你找不到另一个对女人如此好心的鞋匠。”

似乎直到今天仍然流传着性玩具谣言——玩具被视为伴侣的替代品——很久以前就开始了。 但奥滕肯定 “[这不是真的。 他们不会在晚上吻你,也不会抱着你。”

到 20 世纪之交,由于致力于治疗女性歇斯底里症的医疗专业人员的高需求,有超过 20 种振动器型号可供选择。 你没听错,歇斯底里——这曾经被认为是一种需要治疗的子宫疾病 '骨盆按摩'. 实际手术室的流行性泛滥导致产生了各种各样的快乐伴侣,它们依靠电力、电池、脚力或水力运行。

因此,如果您对种类繁多的现代玩具感到不知所措,或者您想知道在购物时为每个人提供的东西该感谢谁,请记住那些手臂酸痛的好医生试图治愈女性的易怒1900 年代。

 

lovehoney 性玩具
照片:Lovehoney

最终在 1952 年,美国医学会最终宣布歇斯底里症实际上不是一种疾病。 但仍有许多国家谴责性和性玩具。

沙特阿拉伯、阿拉伯联合酋长国、越南、马来西亚、印度、马尔代夫甚至泰国,其性旅游业蓬勃发展,都禁止将性玩具带入本国。

有趣的是,德克萨斯州有一项最不寻常的法律,其中一个人不能拥有或促进使用六个或更多假阳具。 五个虽然? 发疯。 虽然该法律从未被正式废除,但 2008 年,一位美国地方法官发布了一份报告,宣布它是“表面上违宪和不可执行“。

在阿拉巴马州,《反淫秽执法法》禁止销售性玩具,但居民可以合法拥有性玩具,如果他们有“真正的医疗目的”。 因此,如果您住在该州,您可能会发现自己主张歇斯底里症实际上是一种必须处理的可怕疾病。 你知道,把你的石头拿下来。

我们很幸运在澳大利亚能够购买和拥有尽可能多的快乐伙伴——如果你这样的话,甚至超过六个。

专家表示,作为发育中的青少年,使用玩具自娱自乐是一种安全探索性行为并减少对主题感到羞耻的好方法。 随着我们周围的性对话越来越广泛,性玩具工程的发展也在扩大。

自从发布了她收视率最高的播客 性的未来,Lovehoney 大使 Bryony Cole 已在世界各地巡回演出,讨论性科技行业的趋势。 当我们想到性技术和未来的性玩具时,VR 和机器人性玩偶似乎是首先想到的东西。

但 Bryony 认为即将推出的性玩具比这更简单。

“期待看到使用更多可回收材料(如海洋塑料、纯素皮革、大豆油墨和铝)设计的更安静的玩具。 就他们的技术能力而言,目前最大的障碍并不是像结合 VR 或使用人工智能那样疯狂,而是一个更简单的发展:充电能力。”

“在不久的将来,我们将能够使用充电板为我们的玩具充电,就像我们为智能手机所做的那样。 这将是对当前 USB 引脚和电源线的一个受欢迎的替代品。”

最好的情况是这些玩具现在还不会在无人机中飞走,因为人们仍然对它们感到满意。 也就是说,尽管玩具在技术上变得越来越棒,但一些用户发现使用性玩具是他们能够达到性高潮的唯一方式,而其他人即使尝试也还是有点害怕。

“没有必要急于使用远程阴茎或任何有太多技术花里胡哨的东西。 事实上,逐步提高自己的水平会更令人兴奋 精致玩具,品味旅程,” 科尔在解释玩具是如何设计来帮助你到达一个快乐的地方之前说的——没有必要被它们吓倒。

性玩具也帮助人们感觉更多地融入性空间。 随着玩具的发展越来越不像人类生殖器,似乎在 20 年后它们将完全无法辨认。 性玩具对能力不同的人也有帮助。 

Lovehoney 的 Cam Faser 还概述了性玩具如何使残障人士受益。

“对于经历慢性或急性疼痛的人来说,性高潮可以帮助暂时缓解一些疼痛。 对于患有勃起功能障碍的人,可能是由于前列腺切除术,一些玩具可以帮助勃起和维持勃起。”

今天,性玩具是一个价值数十亿美元的市场,并且由于在线性用品商店,该市场正在持续增长并且几乎可以从任何地方访问。 虽然不像我们看到的一些提倡性积极的面孔那样精通性和自信仍然是完全正常的,但知道未来是快乐的、健康的还是很令人兴奋的。 和角质!

“时尚品牌和美容品牌正在开发性玩具系列并与 Lovehoney 等大型性健康品牌合作,这一事实让我希望这些玩具将被纳入我们的健康和保健制度中”, 奥顿分享。

“我希望这种关于性的‘耻辱’被消除,我相信我们将有一个更加积极的未来。”

Sex toys: a 30,000-year-old key to confidence in the bedroom

PRESENTED BY

lovehoney sex toys
Photo: Lovehoney

Have you ever had someone find your little vibrating friend and been absolutely mortified? It’s about time we stop worrying about our battery-operated buds because newsflash, just about everyone jerks off.

While we are certainly living in a progressive time and becoming more enlightened every decade, it’s not uncommon for people to still live with shame around their feelings about or interests in sex. We, along with the Sexual Happiness People at Lovehoney, are here to change that and normalise these conversations.

Every other celebrity or Instagram influencer would have you believe that we are all confident and enthusiastic about the topic, but in reality, so many of us are still learning to be comfortable with what has been deemed a taboo subject for so long.

For many adults, expressing their sexuality and communicating about sex effectively can be difficult. People who are lucky enough to have had highly supportive and emotionally evolved early environments may not find it so tough.

As it turns out, leaving your vibrator out for the kids to see may actually foster a better relationship around sex without shame.

Orgasms truly are a beautiful and beneficial part of life. They can increase circulation, improve your heart health, and even alleviate anxiety and pain. Sexologist, scientist, and ambassador to sexual happiness brand Lovehoney, Chantelle Otten has the hookup on just how important orgasms are:

“Orgasm releases a bunch of feel-good endorphins that help us sleep better, which in turn strengthens our immune system, sharpen our cognition and lower our stress levels”

Sex toys have been a part of the sex zeitgeist for decades and have helped so many become more open about their sex life. Who can forget when Sex and the City famously featured the Rabbit vibrator, creating a buzz among women everywhere who, all of a sudden, felt the confidence to strut into a sex shop and take control of their self-pleasure.

Otten, who is the director of the largest psycho-sexology practice in Australia, describes sex toys as “extension of your sexual self” that can be used to spice up your solo or partnered play.

“Sex toys are magical, they are a gift from the sex gods. Apart from giving you pleasure whenever you want without asking for anything in return, they also have other benefits. They are great for your self-confidence as you start to learn more about your body and the areas that feel amazing. They can help you explore different sensations that you haven’t explored before.”

“They can improve intimacy with your partner by bringing back the spark and can also help with communication, as you have to tell each other what feels good, and where to place the toy.”

Even though many are blessed with this kind of care-free attitude, there is still a strong stigma around the purchase and use of sex toys. Cam Faser is a certified professional sex coach, sexologist, councillor, and tantric yoga teacher. But even with that resumé, Cam acknowledges there’s a particular stigma around sex toys developed for men, especially masturbation sleeves and penis strokers.

“I think this stems from the way these toys have historically been marketed, with lewd packaging and messaging that perpetuates oversimplified stereotypes about male sexuality.” 

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Bryony Cole (@bryonycole)

Bryony Cole, a world-leading expert on sex tech, agrees.

“So much of the socialisation of men reinforces that exploring your body outside your genitals makes you strange, or that using a toy makes you a creep”, she shared.

“We should be aiming to examine the male pleasure conversation with the same thoughtfulness as women. Where do you feel pleasure? How can you explore more sensation when you touch yourself in other areas? Instead of shutting down the conversation we need to be opening it up.”

While we may not yet have the male equivalent of Carrie Bradshaw to tell the world that it’s cool to wear a cock ring, having companies like Lovehoney creating approachable sex toys for men is helping to reduce the stigma.

As a part of Fraser’s work, he helps men enjoy sexual experiences free of anxiety or shame. So, we asked him what some of the best ways to push through those barriers were.

“A common shame that men speak to me about is the feeling that they’re somehow less of a man if they use sex toys. For example, they may feel shame if they use a toy when masturbating because of the perception that they cannot find a real partner.”

“One strategy to push through this is to invest in a toy and use it intentionally to bring up those feelings of shame with full awareness so that you can work through them, using pleasure to shift those feelings.”

Sex has arguably run the world since the dawn of time, so it’s hardly surprising that sex toys have been around helping humans ‘get there’ for at least 30,000 years. The first-ever sex toy was made of solid stone, found in southwest Germany. And if that doesn’t sound like your idea of a good time, you’re certainly not the only ones who are glad the industry has come a long way since then!

“I wouldn’t want to be using a stone dildo. Or wood for that matter… what if there is a splinter in your coochie?”, Otten said with a laugh.

Who knows what other contraptions our ancestors were putting inside themselves, or putting themselves inside, for a little bit of fun? It wasn’t until the famously tantalising times of ancient Greece that the use of dildos was formally documented in art and literature.

A third century BC text by Herodas documents a conversation between two women about what was then known as the ‘olisbos’:

“The men certainly have no rams like those… And that’s not all: their smoothness – a dream; and the stitches, of down, not of thread! Hunt as you might, you could not find another cobbler so kindly disposed towards women.”

It seems that a sex toy rumour that still floats around to this day – that toys are seen as a replacement for a partner – started a long time ago. But Otten affirms “[this is] not true. They don’t kiss you and hold you at night.”

By the turn of the 20th century, there were more than 20 vibrator models available due to the high demand from medical professionals devoted to curing women of hysteria. You heard right, hysteria – which was once thought of as a womb disease to be treated with ‘pelvic massages’. The epidemic flooding of actual operating theatres caused the production of a huge variety of pleasure companions, running on electricity, batteries, foot-power, or water-power.

So if you ever feel overwhelmed with the vast variety of contemporary toys to choose from, or you are wondering who to thank for having something for everyone when you’re shopping, just remember those good doctors with sore arms trying to cure women of irritability in the 1900s.

 

lovehoney sex toys
Photo: Lovehoney

Eventually in 1952, the American Medical Association finally declared that hysteria was, in fact, not an ailment. But there are still many countries that condemn sexuality and sex toys.

Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Vietnam, Malaysia, India, Maldives and even Thailand, with its booming sex tourism industry, all prohibit sex toys from being brought into their countries.

Funnily enough, Texas has one of the most unusual laws where a person cannot possess or promote the use of six or more dildos. Five though? Go nuts. While the law was never formally repealed, in 2008 a US District Judge released a report declaring it to be “facially unconstitutional and unenforceable“.

In Alabama, the Anti-Obscenity Enforcement Act prohibits the sale of sex toys, however residents can legally own sex toys and may buy them if they have a “bona fide medical purpose”. So if you’re living in the state, you might find yourself advocating that hysteria is actually a terrible sickness that must be dealt with. You know, to get your rocks off.

We are lucky in Australia to be able to buy and own as many pleasure pals as we please – even more than six, if you roll that way.

Experts say that using a toy for self-pleasure as a developing teen is an excellent way to explore one’s sexuality safely and reduce shame around the subject. And as the sexual conversation around us broadens, so too do the developments of sex toy engineering.

Since releasing her top-rated podcast Future of Sex, Lovehoney Ambassador Bryony Cole has toured stages around the world to discuss trends in the sex tech industry. When we think of sex tech and the sex toys of the future, VR and robotic sex dolls seem to be the first things that come to mind.

But Bryony thinks that what’s around the corner for sex toys is a little more simple than that.

“Expect to see quieter toys designed with more recycled materials such as ocean plastics, vegan leathers, soy-based inks, and aluminium. In terms of their technical capabilities the biggest barrier at the moment isn’t something as wild as incorporating VR or using artificial intelligence, it’s a much simpler development: charging capabilities.”

“In the near future we will be able to use charging pads, as we do for our smartphones, to charge our toys. This will be a welcome replacement of the current usb pins and cords.”

It’s probably for the best that the toys aren’t going to fly off in a drone just yet, as people are still getting comfortable with them. That said, as technically wonderful as toys are becoming, some users have found that using a sex toy is the only way they are able to have an orgasm, while others are still a little scared off even trying.

“There is no need to rush toward teledildonics or anything with too many technology bells and whistles. In fact, it’s much more exciting to work your way up incrementally to more sophisticated toys and savour the journey,” Cole stated before explaining how toys are designed to help you get to a place of pleasure – there’s no need to be intimidated by them.

Sex toys are also helping people feel more included in the sexual space. As toys are being developed to look less and less like human genitals, it seems in 20 year’s time they’ll be completely unrecognisable. Sex toys can also be helpful to people with different levels of ability. 

Lovehoney’s Cam Faser also outlined how sex toys can benefit someone living with a handicap.

“For people that experience pain, either chronic or acute, orgasms can help relieve some of this pain temporarily. For people with erectile dysfunction, perhaps due to prostatectomy, some toys can help with getting and maintaining an erection.”

Today, sex toys are a multi-billion-dollar market that’s continuing to grow and remains accessible from nearly anywhere thanks to online sex shops. Though it is still perfectly normal not to be as sex-savvy and self-assured as some of the faces we see promoting sex positivity, it’s exciting to know that the future is happy, healthy. and horny!

“The fact that fashion labels and beauty brands are developing sex toy ranges and partnering with big sexual wellness brands like Lovehoney gives me hope that these toys will just be included as part of our health and wellness regime”, Otten shared.

“I hope that this ‘shame’ is taken away around sexuality and I do believe that we will have a more sex-positive future ahead of us.”