A previously unreleased John Coltrane album is on the way

Impulse Records have just announced that they’ll be releasing a previously unheard collection of John Coltrane recordings.

The album is titled Blue World and will be available on September 27th on LP, CD, and digitally – but the title track has already been made available for listening.

John Coltrane, Blue World, Impulse!
Image: Chuck StewartJohn Coltrane, Blue World, Impulse!

A previously unheard collection of John Coltrane songs is being released, and you can listen to its title track, Blue World, here

The recordings were made with Coltrane’s classic quartet at Van Gelder studio in 1964, directly between his two acclaimed albums Cresent and A Love Supreme.

At the time he had been approached by filmmaker Gilles Groulx who asked Coltrane to record music for his film Le chat dans le sac. However, Groulx only ended up using 10 minutes of Coltrane’s 37-minute recording.

Many of the songs on the album are revisions of previously released Coltrane songs, including Naima, Village Blues, Training In, and Like Sonny. However, the album’s title track is completely new.

Blue World follows last year’s highly successful release of Both Directions at Once, the “lost” Coltrane’s album.

Check out the previously unheard title track Blue World, plus the album tracklist, below.

Blue World Tracklist

01 Naima (Take 1)
02 Village Blues (Take 2)
03 Blue World
04 Village Blues (Take 1)
05 Village Blues (Take 3)
06 Like Sonny
07 Traneing In
08 Naima (Take 2)