David Byrne and Brian Eno’s first collaborative album set for vinyl reissue with some new surprises

My Life In The Bush Of Ghosts, the first collaboration between Brian Eno and David Byrne, is set to be reissued on vinyl. It’s the first time since 2006 that the album has been pressed, and the first time since a previously unheard 2009 remaster.

Originally released in 1981, the record is an oddball collection of sampling work, tribal rhythms and wacky ambience. Despite meeting a mixed critical reception at the time, My Life In The Bush Of Ghosts left an undeniable mark on popular music.

Take it from Pink Floyd’s Rick Wright:

“[The album] knocked me sideways when I first heard it – full of drum loops, samples and soundscapes. Stuff that we really take for granted now, but which was unheard of in all but the most progressive musical circles at the time… The way the sounds were mixed in was so fresh, it was amazing.”

brian eno david byrne My Life In The Bush Of Ghosts vinyl reissue

My Life In The Bush Of Ghosts, the eminent collab between Brian Eno and David Byrne, is set for vinyl reissue after a profound remaster.

The remaster saw the album expanded for vinyl reissue, now featuring new tracks, outtakes and you guessed it, a few ambient jams for good measure. For listeners coming into this for the first time, if you’re big on The Avalanches you’ll certainly find a home in this record.

Find the album and tracklist below, and grab your copy here.


1. America Is Waiting
2. Mea Culpa
2. Regiment
4. Help Me Somebody
5. The Jezebel Spirit
6. Very Very Hungry
7. Moonlight In Glory
8. The Carrier
9. A Secret Life
10. Come With Us
11. Mountain Of Needles
12. Pitch To Voltage
13. Two Against Three
14. Vocal Outtakes
15. New Feet
16. Defiant
17. Number 8 Mix
18. Solo Guitar With Tin Foil
19. Help Me Somebody (drum track)
20. Help Me Somebody (vocal track)
21. Help Me Somebody (ambient track)
22. A Secret Life (drum track)
23. A Secret Life (vocal track)
24. A Secret Life (ambient track)

Via The Vinyl Factory.