Get ready to bow down: Rock & Roll Hall of Fame announces 2023 class of inductees

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame just dropped its 2023 class of inductees and it’s a sizzling hot lineup of legends, trailblazers, and chart-toppers.

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame has unveiled its highly anticipated 2023 class of inductees, and it’s an eclectic mix of artists spanning genres and generations.

From country and rock singer-songwriters Willie Nelson, Kate Bush and Sheryl Crow to the late, soulful pop icon George Michael and quintessential vocal group The Spinners, the class reflects a diverse range of musical styles.

willie nelson

One of the most notable inductees is the politically charged rock band Rage Against the Machine, who, after being nominated four times, finally earn their spot in the coveted Hall. Also inducted is Kate Bush, whose experimental, literary hits of the ’80s have experienced a revival, breaking into the top 10 of the Billboard Hot 100 singles chart last year.

“It’s something I just never thought would happen. Thank you so much to everyone who voted for me. It means a great deal that you would think of me. It’s such a huge honour. Now, as part of the initiation ceremony, I get to find out about the secret handshake … there is one, right?” Kate Bush

The Hall’s definition of “rock and roll” has expanded considerably over the last decade to include artists from rhythm and blues, country, and gospel genres. This year’s class highlights this evolution, with the inclusion of rapper and futurist Missy Elliott, who joins Michael, Crow, and Nelson as one of the artists inducted after just one nomination.

Along with the seven performers, guitarist Link Wray and hip-hop innovator DJ Kool Herc will be recognized in the Hall’s “musical influences” category. Chaka Khan, Al Kooper, and Bernie Taupin will receive awards for “musical excellence,” and the late Soul Train creator, producer, and host Don Cornelius will receive the Ahmet Ertegun Award, which is given to influential figures in the industry.

Joel Peresman, the President and CEO of the Hall of Fame, expressed his desire for Kate Bush to grace the induction ceremony with a live performance on November 3rd. Rolling Stone reported that Peresman said, “We open that door. It’s up to her.” The stakes are high, as this would mark Bush’s first live performance in nearly a decade, following her 2014 London concert residency, Before the Dawn, which itself was her first live performance in 35 years.

The 38th annual induction ceremony will be held on Friday, Nov. 3, in Brooklyn, where the legendary artists will be celebrated for their contributions to the world of music.

The full 2023 list of the 38th annual inductees:

Performer Category

  • Kate Bush
  • Sheryl Crow
  • Missy Elliott
  • George Michael
  • Willie Nelson
  • Rage Against the Machine
  • The Spinners

Musical Influence Award

  • DJ Kool Herc
  • Link Wray

Musical Excellence Award

  • Chaka Khan
  • Al Kooper
  • Bernie Taupin

Ahmet Ertegun Award

  • Don Cornelius