访谈

多么悲伤,好色的音乐将角色模型推向了聚光灯下

好榜样

他刚刚打破了他的处女秀纪录 Rx,但 Role Model 已经是音乐界发展最快的名字之一。

至少可以说,塔克·皮尔斯伯里 (Tucker Pillsbury) 又名榜样人物,他的职业生涯有了一个快速的开端。

没过多久,塔克就引起了一些音乐界大腕的注意,在 2017 年以他作为榜样的第一张专辑给已故的麦克米勒留下了深刻的印象, 被盗汽车.

在他在科切拉的首场演出结束后,我们与 Role Model 聊起了角质广告牌、粉丝的礼物以及表演最重要的方面:抓住人们的电话。

好榜样

快乐的: 嘿塔克! 你今天过得怎样? 

好榜样: 到目前为止还不错。 从我们的科切拉周末开始,我的朋友们还在这里。 我的朋友们从家里飞了出去,所以他们都还在这里,在我的客厅里崩溃。 

快乐的: 好的。 那么科切拉怎么样? 那是巨大的!

好榜样: 这太疯狂了。 我对它的期望很低,就像我对待生活中的一切一样,这让它变得很棒。 它超越了一切。 实在太棒了。 我们就像,一个他妈的。 我把一个水瓶直接踢进了我们的音板 [笑],这为一两首歌带来了一些火花。 之后就一帆风顺了。 

快乐的: [笑] 它是否塞满了任何音频或其他一切都好吗?

好榜样: 这还不算太糟糕,但我们为了一两首歌而插曲 [笑].

快乐的: 您是否在现场首次亮相专辑中的任何曲目? 

好榜样: 是的,我的意思是,节日集有点短,但节日集上的专辑还有四首歌曲。 然后我们正在为巡演制作整张专辑,除了两首歌。 

好榜样

快乐的: 不错哦! 显然每个人都有机会听这张专辑,但是当你现场播放这些曲目时,接待情况如何? 

好榜样: 这太不可思议了。 我们的第一场巡演,就在科切拉之前,就像……一个星期? 专辑发行后不到一周,人们就在唱这些歌词。 我不知道他们是怎么做到的。 我几乎不记得他们,所以我不知道。

快乐的: [笑]

好榜样: 这太疯狂了。 但这很棒。 那里有很多我认为在舞台上栩栩如生的歌曲。 所以我很兴奋。 

快乐的: 我看到一个歌迷在科切拉的表演中把手机扔给你。 以前发生过很多次吗?

好榜样: 是的,我认为这是一回事。 我在每个艺术家身上都看到了……

快乐的: 真的吗?

好榜样: 是的,我无法想象把我的手机扔到舞台上,然后相信那个人会把它还给我。 但是,是的,我的意思是,它发生在很多节目中。 每个人都拿出手机,直到我最终抓住它。 但我不知道他们为什么信任我。 

快乐的: 啊对。 那是扔了还是他们当时把它交给了你?

好榜样: 这是一次投掷。 幸运的是我抓住了它。 

快乐的: 是什么让你更紧张,踏上科切拉的舞台,或者在手机扔给你的时候把它扔掉? 

好榜样: 是的,我的意思是,现在我对表演有了新的恐惧; 我会丢掉某人的手机然后砸碎它。 

快乐的: 是的,你必须在表演排练中加入接球练习。

好榜样: [笑].

@vanessaamonet 他太好了!! @塔克 #fyp #科切拉 #好榜样 ♬ 原声 – vanessa 🪐

快乐的: 顺便说一句,祝贺新专辑。

好榜样: 谢谢!

快乐的: 你在 Instagram 上发布了一张广告牌的照片,上面写着这张专辑“太性感了”。 那一定是我见过的最好的广告牌之一。

好榜样: [笑]

快乐的: 除了 horny,你还能如何形容这张专辑?

好榜样: 看,这很难,因为这是我最喜欢的词。 所以我不知道。 天很黑,但同时也很开心。 一种情绪的过山车。 但我不知道,悲伤,快乐,角质,我猜。

快乐的: 三个主要的情绪,我喜欢它。 我还读到你有电影背景。 那么如果这张专辑是电影的配乐,那会是什么类型的电影呢?

好榜样: A24。 我不知道是什么类型,但我要把它送到 A24。 这将是一件忙碌的事情。 我不知道,我不想混淆任何人。 我不希望它像遗传一样 [笑].

快乐的: 关于电影制作,您对自己制作的音乐视频有多少投入?

好榜样: 这就像我最喜欢的部分。 我写了所有的视频,但我真的不想接受导演的功劳,因为我不是那个和那里的 DP 说话的人。 但我写了视频,并与这位导演 Dylan Knight 合作,他为我制作了很多视频。 他在每一个小细节上都与我密切合作,然后他就制作出来了。 所以我从不想拿荣誉,但我非常参与整个事情。

快乐的: 好的。 我喜欢你在视频中加入一些情节曲折,尤其是 Rx. 你对令人惊讶的人感到兴奋吗?

好榜样: 是的,这是我最喜欢的部分。 尤其是那个视频,我真的很喜欢两拍视频的想法。 我的意思是,它基本上是一个单一的视频。 但就像你说的,只要有一点点小转变,就不会像…… [喘气],但它很酷。

有它让我很高兴,感觉就像我在听那首歌时所看到的,或者当我在车里听它时的感觉,你知道吗? 在这个过程的早期,有时我会在开车时听那首歌,这会让我有点崩溃。 所以很高兴看到在相机上捕捉到。

快乐的: 说起惊喜和独特,能写出一首歌的人不多 自慰歌 并有歌词图表 天才. 当你写歌时,独特的歌词是故意的,还是只是那样发生?

好榜样: 特别是那首歌,当我写那首歌时,它只是那些你没有想到的歌曲中的一首。 我不认为有任何一首歌是我在思考的,或者质疑某件事是否还好,或者太开放等等。 我想当是释放的时候,我会想,‘嘿,我是不是在谈论耶稣有点太多了? 嘿,这会让人不舒服吗?

但是当我写歌的时候,我认为任何艺术家都不要过滤任何东西是非常重要的。 我认为像马特希利这样的人在设定完全诚实的标准方面做得非常出色。 就像,那个家伙写的歌是关于不能在旅馆房间里和一个他正在闲逛的新女孩拉屎的。 我喜欢那个。 这种诚实会让你感到不舒服,因为你知道,你经历了它。

好榜样
Instagram 的榜样

快乐的: 是的,你这么说很有趣,因为马特希利实际上正是我在听的时候想到的人 耶稣拯救. 我听说你对那首歌有点恨,只是因为它混合了宗教和性。 但我对那首歌的创作过程以及使用耶稣作为隐喻的决定很感兴趣。

好榜样: 是的,我的意思是,所有有耶稣的歌曲,我认为应该很明显,这些歌曲都不是关于耶稣基督的,也不是关于宗教的。 现在几乎每个艺术家都在使用宗教参考,因为您可以将其与许多不同的事物进行比较。 但我不知道,这只是一个好玩的东西。 特别是对于 耶稣拯救,那首歌应该是专辑的制作,它是过去式,谈论我在遇到这个人之前所处的这个非常黑暗,糟糕的时间和精神状态。

我想写一首歌来表达我多么需要那个人进入我的生活。 当他们这样做时,我唯一能与之相比的就是我想象某人如何找到上帝,或见证奇迹,或跪下等待某种更高的力量给他们答案。 这就是它背后的全部想法。 但话虽如此,我确实从那首歌中失去了大约 4,000 名追随者,所以上帝保佑。

快乐的: [笑] 是的。 不过,这是一个甜蜜的比喻。 它非常强大。 即使你失去了一些追随者,你也有一些真正的铁杆粉丝。 所以我想问一下,到目前为止,你与粉丝最疯狂或最好的互动是什么?

好榜样: 我记性太差了……我会得到最有创意的礼物,我会这么说。 我们得到最疯狂的礼物,比如我保留的好东西,我穿。 我们刚刚在波莫纳做了一场演出来开启巡演,有人给了我这件漂亮的 Shawn Mendes 巡演 T 恤。 还有一条推特上流传着一个人在一件白色 T 恤上用照片购物文字,上面写着:“我几乎没有幸免于 绝不让你走. 有人真的把它变成了衬衫,然后在舞台上给了我。 他们在巡回演出中给我的狗屎非常有创意,我喜欢它。 我都保留着。 我有所有的手镯和一切。 它病了。 这就像圣诞节。

快乐的: 哦,那太好了。 嗯,非常感谢你接电话,伙计。 和你聊天真是太好了。

好榜样: 谢谢你,兄弟。 这个真好。 感谢您抽出宝贵时间。

快乐的: 完全不用担心! 今晚你有很多事吗?

好榜样: 我不。 不过我得开始收拾行李了,因为我们星期四出发,我什么都没做 [笑].

快乐的: 哦,对了,你现在还是星期二,嘿?

好榜样: 是啊是啊。 现在还是星期二。 我们昨晚刚回来,所以我一直在从周末恢复过来。

快乐的: 好的。 好吧,晚安,伙计。

好榜样: 你也是! 再次感谢你。

快乐的: 谢谢!

Role Model 的首张专辑现已发行。 尝尝下面的“Rx”。

提供的照片。

Lochie Schuster 的采访。

Interviews

How sad, horny music shot ROLE MODEL into the spotlight

Role Model

He’s only just dropped his debut record Rx, but Role Model is already one of the fastest growing names in music.

Tucker Pillsbury AKA Role Model, has had an express paced start to his career to say the least.

It didn’t take long for Tucker to catch the attention of some of the biggest names in music, impressing the late Mac Miller with one of his first releases as Role Model in 2017, stolen cars.

Off the back of his debut performance at Coachella, we chatted to Role Model about horny billboards, gifts from fans, and the most important aspect of performing: catching people’s phones.

Role Model

HAPPY: Hey Tucker! How’s your day going? 

ROLE MODEL: It’s good so far. My friends are still here from our Coachella weekend. My friends flew out from home, so they’re all still here and crashing in my living room. 

HAPPY: Nice. So how was Coachella? That’s huge!

ROLE MODEL: It was insane. I went into it with very low expectations, as I do with everything in life, which made it great. It exceeded everything. It was incredible. We had like, one fuck up. I kicked a water bottle straight into our sound board [laughs], which blew some sparks for a song or two. And then it was smooth sailing after that. 

HAPPY: [laughs] Did it stuff up any of the audio or was everything else alright?

ROLE MODEL: It wasn’t anything too bad, but we were cutting in and out for a song or two [laughs].

HAPPY: Did you live debut any of the tracks from the album during the set? 

ROLE MODEL: Yeah, I mean, the festival set’s a little bit shorter, but there’s still four songs off the album on the festival set. And then we’re doing the whole album for the tour, except for like, two songs. 

Role Model

HAPPY: Oh nice! And so obviously everyone’s had the chance to listen to the album, but what was the reception like when you played the tracks live? 

ROLE MODEL: It was pretty incredible. Our first show on tour, it was right before Coachella and it was like… a week? Not even a week after the album was out, and people were singing the words. I don’t know how they do it. I can barely remember them, so I don’t know.

HAPPY: [laughs]

ROLE MODEL: It’s insane. But it was great. There’s a lot of songs on there that I think come to life on stage. So I’m excited. 

HAPPY: I saw that a fan  threw their phone up to you during the performance at Coachella. Has that happened many times before?

ROLE MODEL: Yeah, I think that’s a thing. I see it with every artist though…

HAPPY: Oh really?

ROLE MODEL: Yeah, I can’t imagine throwing my phone on stage and just trusting that person to get it back to me. But yeah, I mean, it happens at a lot of shows. Everybody holds out their phone until I grab it eventually. But I don’t know why they trust me. 

HAPPY: Oh right. So was it a throw or did they hand it to you that time?

ROLE MODEL: It was a throw. Luckily I caught it. 

HAPPY: What made you more nervous, stepping out onto the Coachella stage, or the thought of dropping the phone as it was thrown to you? 

ROLE MODEL: Yeah, I mean, now I just have a new added fear to performing; that I’m gonna drop someone’s phone and shatter it. 

HAPPY: Yeah, you’ll have to add catching practice into your performance rehearsals.

ROLE MODEL: [laughs].

@vanessaamonet he was soooo good!! @tucker #fyp #coachella #rolemodel ♬ original sound – vanessa 🪐

HAPPY: By the way, congrats on the new album.

ROLE MODEL: Thank you!

HAPPY: You posted a picture on Instagram of a billboard that says the album “is so horny”. That’s gotta be one of the best billboards I’ve ever seen.

ROLE MODEL: [laughs]

HAPPY: Other than horny, how else would you describe the album?

ROLE MODEL: See, that’s hard because that’s my favourite word. So I don’t know. It’s very dark but very happy at the same time. Kind of a roller coaster of emotions. But I don’t know, sad, happy, horny, I guess.

HAPPY: The three main emotions, I love it. I also read that you’ve got a background in film. So if the album was a soundtrack to a film, what kind of movie would it be?

ROLE MODEL: A24. I don’t know what genre, but I’m gonna send it off to A24. It would be something hectic. I don’t know, I don’t want to confuse anyone. I don’t want it to be like Hereditary [laughs].

HAPPY: On the topic of filmmaking, how much input do you have on the music videos that you make?

ROLE MODEL: It’s like my favourite part. I write all the videos but I don’t ever really want to take directing credit because I’m not the one that’s talking to the DP’s there. But I write the video and I work with this director, Dylan Knight, who’s done a lot of my videos. He works with me really closely with every little detail and then he produces. So I don’t ever want to take credit, but I’m very involved in the whole thing.

HAPPY: Nice. I love that you incorporate little plot twists into your videos, especially Rx. Do you get a kick out of surprising people?

ROLE MODEL: Yeah, that’s my favourite part. With that video specifically, I just really love the idea of a two shot video. I mean, it’s basically a single take video. But like you said, just having the slightest little turnaround there, it’s nothing that’s going to be like… [gasps], but it’s cool.

It made me happy to have that in there and it kind of felt like what I see when I listen to that song or how I feel when I’m listening to it in my car, you know? There were times early on in the process when I would listen to that song in my car driving, and it would tear me apart a little bit. So it was cool to see that captured on camera.

HAPPY: Speaking of surprises and uniqueness, not many people could write a song called Masturbation Song and have the lyrics charting on Genius. Are unique lyrics intentional when you write songs, or does it just kind of happen that way?

ROLE MODEL: That song specifically, when I wrote that, it was just one of those songs [where] you don’t think about it. I don’t think there’s any song where I’m thinking, or questioning if something’s okay or not, or too open or whatever. I think when it’s time to release, that’s when I’m like, ‘Hey, am I talking about Jesus a little bit too much? Hey, is this going to make people uncomfortable?’

But when I’m writing the songs, I think it’s so important for any artist to not filter anything. I think people like Matt Healy do an amazing job of setting that standard of complete honesty. Like, that dude writes songs about not being able to take a shit in a hotel room with a new girl that he’s hanging out with. I love that. That’s the type of honesty that makes you uncomfortable because, you know, you go through it.

Role Model
Role Model via Instagram

HAPPY: Yeah funny you said that because Matt Healy is actually exactly who I thought of when I was listening to Jesus Saves. I heard that you copped a bit of hate for that song just because it mixed religion and sex a little bit. But I’m interested what the writing process was for that song, and the decision to use Jesus as a metaphor.

ROLE MODEL: Yeah, I mean, with all the songs with Jesus in it, I think it should be obvious that none of it is about Jesus Christ and none of it is about religion. Almost every artist now is using religious references because you can compare it to so many different things. But I don’t know, it’s just a fun thing to play with. And especially for Jesus Saves, that song was supposed to set up the album and it was past tense, talking about this really dark, shit time and mental state that I was in before meeting this person.

I wanted to write a song showing how badly I needed that person to come into my life. And when they did, the only thing I could compare it to was how I imagine someone finds God, or witnesses a miracle, or on their knees waiting for some sort of higher power to give them an answer. So that was the whole idea behind it. But that being said, I did lose like 4,000 followers off that song, so God bless.

HAPPY: [laughs] Yeah. It’s such a sweet metaphor though. It’s pretty powerful. And even though you lost a few followers, you’ve got some truly diehard fans out there. So I wanted to ask, what’s the wildest or best interaction you’ve had with a fan so far?

ROLE MODEL: I’m so bad at remembering… I get the most creative gifts, I’ll say that. We get the craziest gifts, like good shit that I keep, and I wear. We just did a show in Pomona to open up the tour, and someone gave me this beautiful Shawn Mendes tour t-shirt. And there’s a Twitter meme going around of someone photoshopping text on a white t-shirt and it said, ‘I barely survived the release of neverletyougo. And someone actually turned it into a t shirt and gave it to me on stage. They’re so creative with the shit that they give me on tour and I love it. I keep all of it. I have all the bracelets and everything. It’s sick. It’s like Christmas.

HAPPY: Aw, that’s so nice. Well, thanks so much for jumping on the call, man. It was so nice chatting to you.

ROLE MODEL: Thank you, man. It was very nice. Thank you for taking the time.

HAPPY: No worries at all! Do you have much happening tonight?

ROLE MODEL: I don’t. I need to start packing though, because we leave on Thursday and I haven’t done a thing [laughs].

HAPPY: Oh yeah, it’s still Tuesday for you, hey?

ROLE MODEL: Yeah, yeah. It’s still Tuesday. We just got back last night, so I’ve been recovering from the weekend.

HAPPY: Nice. Well, have a good night, man.

ROLE MODEL: You too! Thank you so much again.

HAPPY: Thank you!

Role Model’s debut album is out now. Get a taste for ‘Rx’ below.

Photos provided.

Interview by Lochie Schuster.