​ ​
happy mag subscription

A box set compiling John Coltrane’s 1963 recordings has just been announced

A 5xLP box set collating music from five albums John Coltrane recorded in 1963 is set to be released this month. This follows on from Both Directions at Once, an album Coltrane recorded in 1963 which was finally released in June this year.

As with that album, the release comes by way of Impulse! Records, the artist’s original label from back in ’63 and the company which would became synonymous with Coltrane’s music.

john coltrane box set 1963

Delve into one of John Coltrane’s most prosperous years with John Coltrane – 1963: New Directions, a new box set dropping this month via Impulse! Records.

The release will compile tracks from Both Directions at Once, as well as from four other albums; John Coltrane and Johnny Hartman, Dear Old Stockholm, Newport ‘63and Live at Birdland. Peep the full tracklist below.

John Coltrane – 1963: New Directions is available November 30th via Impulse! Records. Pre-order your copy here.


1. Vilia (Take 3)
2. Vilia (Take 5)
3. Untitled Original 11383
4. Nature Boy
5. Impressions (Take 1)
6. Impressions (Take 2)
7. Impressions (Take 3)
8. Impressions (Take 4)
9. Untitled Original 11386 (Take 1)
10. Untitled Original 11386 (Take 2)
11. Untitled Original 11386 (Take 5)
12. One Up, One Down (Take 1)
13. One Up, One Down (Take 5)
14. Slow Blues
15. They Say It’s Wonderful
16. Lush Life
17. My One and Only Love
18. Autumn Serenade
19. Dedicated to You
20. You Are Too Beautiful
21. After the Rain
22. Dear Old Stockholm
23. I Want to Talk About You
24. My Favorite Things
25. Impressions
26. The Promise
27. I Want to Talk About You
28. Afro Blue
29. Your Lady
30. Alabama

Via The Vinyl Factory.


Leave a Reply

November 14, 2018