Amyl & The Sniffers and Jimmy Barnes among new additions to 2019 Australian Music Prize shortlist

The Australian Music Prize has just added a stack of new names to its list of 2019 nominees. These include Melbourne band Amyl & The Sniffers, Tame Impala-affiliated psych outfit Pond and none other than Australian music icon Jimmy Barnes

19 new names have been added to the shortlist for the 2019 Australian Music Prize, including Melbourne band Amyl & The Sniffers and Jimmy Barnes

These artists join the likes of Alex Lahey, Julia Jacklin, King Gizzard & Lizard Wizard, Stella Donnelly and Thelma Plum, who are all competing for the cash prize of $30,000.

The annual music prize has been revamped for its fifteenth year, now boasting an expanded judging panel of music industry experts. A total of 250 albums were entered in for consideration for the award, with the winner expected to be announced in March next year.

Past winners of the Australian Music Prize include Courtney Barnett, A.B. Original, Sampa The Great and Gurrumul.

A full list of the new additions (in alphabetical order): 

Amyl & the Sniffers – Amyl & the Sniffers
Art of Fighting – Luna Low
Batts – The Grand Tour
Bench Press – Not the Past, Can’t Be the Future
Black Lung – The Great Manipulator
Pond – Tasmania
Robert Forster – Inferno
Russell Morris – Black & Blue Heart
Ry X – Unfurl
Sarah Mary Chadwick – Queen Who Stole The Sky
Squaring Circles – Motion
Dope Lemon – Smooth Big Cat
Ferla – It’s Personal
Gold Fields – Dalawa
Hexdebt – Rule Of Four
Huntly – Low Grade Buzz
I Know Leopard – Love Is A Landmine
Jimmy Barnes – My Criminal Record
The Beasts – Still Here
The Money War – Home
Vulture St. Tape Gang – More Mature Themes For Childish People