David Byrne announces American Utopia, his first solo record in 14 years

David Byrne, Talking Heads founder and just generally one of the biggest dudes on the planet, has today announced his upcoming album American Utopia. The record will be released on March 9.

Putting aside his recent collaborations with the likes of Brian Eno and St. Vincent, this marks his first solo release since Grown Backwards in 2004.

david byrne new album 2018 american utopia

David Byrne has shared the details and a single track from his upcoming LP American Utopia, his first solo release in over 15 years.

Originally beginning as another project with longstanding collaborator EnoAmerican Utopia soon blossomed to include contributions from producer Rodaidh McDonald (The xx, King Krule, Sampha, Savages) as well as Oneohtrix Point Never, Jam City, Doveman, Jack Peñate, and others.

“Is this meant ironically? Is it a joke? Do I mean this seriously? In what way? Am I referring to the past or the future? Is it personal or political?” Byrne said in a statement.

“These songs don’t describe an imaginary or possibly impossible place but rather attempt to depict the world we live in now. Many of us, I suspect, are not satisfied with that world—the world we have made for ourselves. We look around and we ask ourselves—well, does it have to be like this? Is there another way? These songs are about that looking and that asking.”

Listen to the first track Everybody’s Coming To My House (a co-write with Eno) below.

American Utopia tracklist

01 I Dance Like This
02 Gasoline and Dirty Sheets
03 Every Day Is a Miracle
04 Dog’s Mind
05 This Is That
06 It’s Not Dark Up Here
07 Bullet
08 Doing the Right Thing
09 Everybody’s Coming to My House
10 Here