Jim Henson rarity Emmet Otter’s Jug-Band Christmas is getting its first-ever soundtrack release

We’d excuse you if Emmet Otter’s Jug-Band Christmas was a new name. The series, produced by the much-loved Jim Henson Company, was premiered in December 1977 but somewhat left in the shadow of projects like The Muppets or Labyrinth.

It was a charming Christmas ensemble, following Ma and Emmet Otter as they form a band to win big at a local talent show. Now, over 40 years since the show first aired, the soundtrack is being released for the first time.

Emmet Otter’s Jug-Band Christmas
Photo: The Jim Henson Company

Jim Henson rarity Emmet Otter’s Jug-Band Christmas will celebrate its first-ever soundtrack release this November, on CD, vinyl and digital.

Paul Williams’ soundtrack will be released in full and then some, with The Jim Henson company calling track 16 Born In A Trunk“lost” song that never made it to screen.

Emmet Otter’s Jug-Band Christmas OST will be released digitally and on CD everywhere, but for vinyl enthusiasts there’s a catch. This particular piece of wax will only be available as part of Record Store Day’s Black Friday takings, so count your luck and prepare to grab one.


01. The Bathing Suit That Grandma Wore
02. Jam Session
03. Ain’t No Hole In The Washtub
04. When The River Meets The Sea
05. Bar-B-Que (Jug Band)
06. Carrots The Dancing Horse
07. Bar-B-Que (Yancy Woodchuck)
08. Dancing Rabbit Act
09. Squirrel Acrobatic Act
10. Our World
11. Brothers
12. Riverbottom Nightmare Band
13. Our World-Brothers
14. Our World-Brothers Club Reprise
15. When The River Meets The Sea Reprise
16. Born In A Trunk

Via Consequence of Sound.