New Order to reissue their 1981 debut album Movement with previously unreleased music

Movement was the first transition, or movement if you will, of the band Joy Division to their new New Order. Now you can relive it all again with the reissue of their 1981 debut album.

This box set titled Movement (Definitive Edition) will be released on April 5, 2019 via the Rhino store.

New Order are reissuing the 1981 classic Movement on box-set in early 2019. Time to relive the triumph of this band’s first move away from Joy Division.

The box set includes Movement on vinyl, CD, a bonus CD with a set of unreleased songs on it, a DVD packed with live shows and interviews, and a hardcover book.

New Order will also reissue four 12″ singles on March 8th, including Ceremony (Versions 1 and 2), Everything’s Gone Green and Temptation.

Movement is an experimental pop album which is at times jarring, mechanical, emotional, dramatic and beatboxy. It was recorded just after the death of Ian Curtis in Stockport, which marked the end of Joy Division.

The latest record to come out of New Order was Music Complete in 2015.

Boxset Inclusion Details:

Unreleased tracks

  1. Dreams Never End (Western Works Demo)
  2. Homage (Western Works Demo)
  3. Ceremony (Western Works Demo)
  4. Truth (Western Works Demo)
  5. Are You Ready For This? (Western Works Demo)
  6. The Him (Cargo Demo)
  7. Senses (Cargo Demo)
  8. Truth (Cargo Demo)
  9. Dreams Never End (Cargo Demo)
  10. Mesh (Cargo Demo)
  11. ICB (Cargo Demo)
  12. Procession (Cargo Demo)
  13. Cries And Whispers (Cargo Demo)
  14. Doubts Even Here (Instrumental) (Cargo Demo)
  15. Ceremony (1st Mix – Ceremony Sessions)
  16. Temptation (Alternative 7”)
  17. Procession (Rehearsal Recording)
  18. Chosen Time (Rehearsal Recording)

Live Shows
Hurrah’s, NY 1980
Peppermint Lounge, NY 1981

TV Sessions
Granada Studios 1981
BBC Riverside 1982

Other Performances
Ceremony CoManCHE Student Union 1981
In A Lonely Place Toronto 1981
Temptation Soul Kitchen, Newcastle 1982
Hurt Le Palace, Paris 1982
Procession Le Palace, Paris 1982
Chosen Time Pennies 1982
Truth The Haçienda 1983
ICB Minneapolis 1983

Via Pitchfork.