Wrap your ears around an epic, 17-track compilation album of Parliament-Funkadelic reworks

If you’ve ever delved far enough into the realms of funk, soul, psychedelia or even disco, you would have come across the name Parliament-Funkadelic.

The fusion group, whether you best know them as Parliament, Funkadelic, P-Funk or any of the members’ solo projects, were nothing short of  legendary during the ’70s. A group of Detroit DJs and producers have now paid tribute to the iconic group’s legacy in a 17-track compilation Reworked By Detroiters.

parliament funkadelic reworked by detroiters

Celebrate the neverending legacy of Detroit legends Parliament-Funkadelic with a far-reaching new compilation album Reworked By Detroiters.

Pulling in the chops of Moodymann, Underground Resistance, Marcellus Pittman and more, it’s a brilliant balance of the old and the new. Most of the reworkers hail from house or techno backgrounds, yet they seem to have taken the remixes with the utmost sincerity.

Altogether, it’s one of the greatest tributes to P-Funk of our time. While their influence may not sit as strongly in Australia as it does in their home city, it’s certainly worthy of your attention.

Special mention goes to Moodymann’s take on Cosmic Slop and BMG’s dub on Maggot Brain. They’re stupendous. The 17-track album was announced some time ago, but is finally available to stream today.

Grab your own copy of the LP here.