Queens of the Stone Age unleash raw power with “In Times New Roman…” and intoxicating single “Emotion Sickness”

“Emotion Sickness,” the exhilarating single from “In Times New Roman…,” is a testament to Queens of the Stone Age’s prowess in crafting hypnotic and unapologetically raw sonic experiences.

Queens of the Stone Age, the titans of rock, have finally unveiled their highly anticipated eighth studio album, “In Times New Roman…” Prepare to be engulfed by its raw power and unapologetic brutality, as it takes you on a journey of unparalleled beauty. Set to release on June 16th, this album is a testament to their unrivaled artistry.

With “In Times New Roman…”, founder Joshua Homme and his bandmates deliver their most critical and poignant lyrics to date. Within the realm of music, scars and scabs transcend their physical origins, becoming powerful metaphors that illuminate the transformative journey of artists. Queens of the Stone Age fearlessly embrace these metaphoric marks, harnessing their raw essence to create captivating beauty and resonate with listeners on a profound level.

Queens of the Stone Age - In Times New Roman...
Credit: Andreas Neumann

Feeling disconnected from the music around them, the members of Queens of the Stone Age took matters into their own hands. “In Times New Roman…” is the manifestation of a band creating the music they crave, while providing a sonic sanctuary for the rest of us. As Homme sings, “The world’s gonna end in a month or two,” it begs the question: What will you do with the time you have left? Though they may not save us, Homme, Van Leeuwen, Fertita, Shuman, and Theodore offer us solace amidst the chaos.

The first glimpse into “In Times New Roman…” comes with the mesmerizing track, “Emotion Sickness.” It wraps you in a comforting embrace of hypnotic QOTSA choruses and off-kilter grooves, tinged with an undercurrent of emotional turbulence.

In a world that has tested us all, the band members have faced their own heartbreak and losses. Yet, who among us hasn’t experienced bouts of emotion sickness? A lyric video for “Emotion Sickness,” brought to life by Liam Lynch, debuts today.

“In Times New Roman…” was meticulously recorded and mixed at Homme’s own Pink Duck studio, with additional recording sessions at Shangri-La. The album was produced by the band themselves, while the mixing duties were skillfully handled by Mark Rankin.

On June 16th, you can experience this masterpiece across all digital platforms, as well as in the tangible form of vinyl and CD. The artwork and double LP gatefold packaging, crafted by longtime collaborator Boneface, add another layer of visual brilliance. The vinyl edition will be available in black, green, red, silver, and blue, offering a diverse palette to match the musical journey within.

Queens of the Stone Age - In Times New Roman...

Prepare to be swept away by the sheer force and artistic genius of Queens of the Stone Age’s “In Times New Roman…”. This album is a testament to their unwavering creativity and ability to push boundaries. So mark your calendars, embrace the chaos, and immerse yourself in this sonic masterpiece when it arrives on June 16th. It’s a gift from rock gods to cherish and savor.

Track list for Queens of the Stone Age – In Times New Roman…

1. Obscenery
2. Paper Machete
3. Negative Space
4. Time & Place
5. Made to Parade
6. Carnavoyeur
7. What the Peephole Say
8. Sicily
9. Emotion Sickness
10. Straight Jacket Fitting

Queens of the Stone Age, In Times New Roman… out June 16th on Matador / Remote Control Records.