Sampa The Great, Thelma Plum and The Chats lead 2019 J Awards nominations

triple j have kicked off the ABC’s Ausmusic month by announcing the nominees for the 2019 J Awards.

Melbourne-based rapper Sampa The Great leads the charge, getting nominated in three of five award categories, with singer-songwriter Thelma Plum and viral punk rock trio The Chats also receiving multiple nominations.

J Awards

Sampa The Great has been nominated for three J Awards, including Australian Album of the Year, Artist of the Year, and Australian Music Video of the Year.

Aussie hip-hop veterans Hilltop Hoods have been nominated for a fifth time for their most recent album The Great Expanse, while previous winners Stella Donnelly (2017 Unearthed Artist of the Year) and Flume (2013 Australian Album of the Year) are also among the shortlisted acts.

2019 will also see the introduction of the You Done Good award, aimed at celebrating individuals and groups who have made positive contributions to the music industry through philanthropy and fostering diversity.

A full list of the nominations can be found below:

triple j Australian Album of the Year

G Flip – About Us
Hatchie – Keepsake
Hayden James – Between Us
Hilltop Hoods – The Great Expanse
Holy Holy – My Own Pool Of Light
Matt Corby – Rainbow Valley
Northlane – Alien
Sampa The Great – The Return
Stella Donnelly – Beware Of The Dogs
Thelma Plum – Better In Blak

Double J Artist of the Year

Julia Jacklin
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard
Nick Cave
Sampa The Great
The Teskey Brothers

Unearthed Artist of the Year

Adrian Eagle
George Alice
Spacey Jane
The Chats
Tones And I

triple j and Rage Australian Music Video of the Year

Briggs – Life Is Incredible (feat. Greg Holden) (dir. Dylan River)
Flume – Hi This Is Flume (dir. Jonathan Zawada)
Sampa The Great – Final Form (dir. Sanjay De Silva)
The Chats – Identity Theft (dir. Matt Weston)
Thelma Plum – Better In Blak (dir. Claudia Sangiorgi Dalimore)

triple j You Done Good Award

Dylan Alcott
Harry The Poo Roadie
Heidi Leffner
National Indigenous Music Awards
Sarah Aarons

The winners will be announced on Friday 21st November. You can find more info on the shortlisted acts here.