访谈

圣思科准备好让人群跳舞,因为他们进一步进入流行世界

圣思科

来自弗里曼特尔的三件套独立乐队 San Cisco 已经巩固了他们在澳大利亚音乐界的主要地位。

超过10年, 圣思科 他们用阳光普照的独立流行旋律温暖了澳大利亚,这些旋律拒绝离开你的脑海。

该小组的第四张也是最近的唱片, 在你我之间,再次敲定了那个简短的内容,赢得了粉丝的另一场好评和喜爱。

在他们为维多利亚州的一系列演出做准备时,我们与来自圣思科的 Josh 聊了聊,他们不断地放弃朗朗上口的曲调,与 Wiggles,以及他们精美的商品。

圣思科

快乐的: 那么与 The Wiggles 合作的情况如何? 摇摆不定 专辑?

乔什: 好玩! 我们对他们的音乐不是很熟悉,但是当他们推荐歌曲 Holiday 并且我们进入录音室试一试时,我们发现我们能够非常成功地对它进行 San Cisco-ify 并且它真的很快就组合在一起了。

快乐的: 似乎西澳的每个音乐家基本上都是最好的朋友。 这是真的吗?

乔什: 是的,我会说这是一个非常紧密的社区,尤其是在弗里曼特尔,我们似乎都聚集在一些酒吧和酒吧。 几个 斯派西 男孩们住在我们附近,当我们都在城里时,通常暗示我们周五要喝啤酒。

快乐的: 成为这样一个相互关联的音乐场景的一部分是什么感觉?

乔什: 这是超级鼓舞人心的,总是看到其他乐队在做什么以及他们是如何做到的。 让我们保持警惕。

快乐的: 你们都认识很久了。 在那段时间看着彼此成长为音乐家和词曲作者是什么感觉?

乔什: 我觉得它随着年龄的增长而变得更好,作为朋友和合作者一起度过了这么多时间,我们都非常同意我们想用我们的音乐做什么以及我们希望它带我们去哪里。 即使是看着彼此成长为我们生活的方方面面的人,也是一次狂野、有趣、令人兴奋的旅程。

圣思科 2022

快乐的: 你几乎是制作朗朗上口曲调的大师。 你是怎么写出这么多耳虫的?

乔什: 老实说,这对我们来说是自然而然的。 我们一直对吸引更广泛观众的音乐元素和流行音乐的本质感兴趣。 它通常也是我们自己听的那种音乐。

快乐的: 你所有的专辑都有标志性的声音,但每张专辑都有不同的子流派。 有什么声音是你想在未来尝试的吗?

乔什: 我想我们的最后一张专辑, 在你我之间 是我们更轻松、更轻松的唱片,但我认为在下一张专辑中,我们渴望将其进一步推向流行世界并让人群跳舞。

快乐的: 我还想问一下你们的商品,因为它总是令人惊叹。 你们中有人超级喜欢时尚吗?

乔什: 是的,近年来我们特别关注我们的商品范围,并更加努力地推动它们。 我们都喜欢用它来发挥创意,并将它超越普通的乐队 T 恤,变成可以在音乐场所之外穿着的东西,并且可能会在时尚界引起关注。

快乐的: “San Cisco Sports”商品非常有趣。 发布运动系列的想法从何而来?

乔什: 我想这是使我们的观众多样化以及为乐队形象添加另一个元素的另一种尝试。 使用我们的商品并在我们自己的家中对其进行建模,作为一种时尚社论来展示我们是谁以及我们喜欢什么。

San Cisco 正准备在东海岸演出几场演出,下周末在 Port Macquarie 举行的太阳节开始,然后在维多利亚周围演出,将于 10 月 11 日在 Torquay 酒店拉开帷幕,圣雷莫的 Westernport Hotel 将于12 日,然后于 XNUMX 日在墨尔本的 Forum 剧院以两场演出结束。

您可以从以下位置获取太阳节的门票 节日的网站,或维多利亚时代表演的门票 sancisco.com.

收听下面来自 San Cisco 的更多信息。

图片来自媒体

洛奇·舒斯特采访

Interviews

San Cisco are ready to get crowds dancing as they push further into the pop world

San Cisco

Hailing from Fremantle, three-piece indie outfit San Cisco have cemented their place as a staple act in Australia’s music scene.

For more than 10 years, San Cisco have been warming Australia with their sun-soaked indie pop melodies that refuse to leave your head.

The group’s forth, and most recent record, Between You and Me, nailed that brief once again, garnering another bout of critical acclaim and love from fans.

As they prepare for a run of shows in Victoria, we chatted with Josh from San Cisco about consistently dropping tunes that are catchy af, working with The Wiggles, and their exquisite run of merch.

San Cisco

HAPPY: So how was working with The Wiggles on their ReWiggled album?

JOSH: It was fun! We are not super familiar with their music but when they suggested the track Holiday and we got in the studio to have a crack at it, we found that we were able to San Cisco-ify it pretty successfully and it really came together pretty quickly.

HAPPY: It seems like every musician in WA are basically best friends. Is that actually true?

JOSH: Yeah I would say it is a pretty close knit community, especially in Fremantle there are a few pubs and bars where we all seem to congregate to. A couple of the Spacey boys live around the corner from us and when we are both in town it is usually implied that we are having beers on Friday.

HAPPY: What’s it like to be part of such an interconnected music scene?

JOSH: It is super inspiring, always seeing what other bands are up to and how they are doing it. Keeps us on our toes.

HAPPY: You’ve all known each other for a really long time. What’s it been like to watch each other grow as musicians and songwriters during that time?

JOSH: I feel like it is getting better with age, having spent so much time together as friends and collaborators, we are all very much on the same page with what we want to do with our music and where we would like it to take us. Even watching each other grow as people across the many facets of our lives is a wild, fun, exciting ride.

San Cisco 2022

HAPPY: You’re pretty much masters of making catchy tunes. How do you manage to write so many earworms?

JOSH: It is honestly what comes naturally to us. We have always been interested in the elements of music that appeal to a wider audience and the nature of pop music. It is also usually the kind of music we listen to ourselves.

HAPPY: All your albums have a trademark sound but each of them kind of plays around with different sub genres. Are there any sounds you’re keen to experiment with in the future?

JOSH: I think the our last album, Between You And Me was our more relaxed, less up beat driven record but i think moving forward with the next one we are keen to push it further into the pop world and get the crowds dancing.

HAPPY: I also wanted to ask about your merch because it’s always stunning. Are any of you super into fashion?

JOSH: Yeah in recent years we have paid particular attention to our merch ranges and have pushed them extra hard. We all love getting creative with it and taking it beyond your average band tee into something that can be worn outside of a music venue and possibly something that might get a look in the fashion world.

HAPPY: The ‘San Cisco Sports’ merch was so fun. Where did the idea come from to release a sports line?

JOSH: I guess it is another attempt at diversifying our audience as well as adding another element to the image of the band. Using our merch and modelling it in our own homes as a kind of fashion editorial to showcase who we are and the stuff we are into.

San Cisco are gearing up to play a few shows on the east coast starting with Festival of the Sun in Port Macquarie next weekend, before playing shows around Victoria, kicking off with the Torquay Hotel on the 10th of June, Westernport Hotel in San Remo on the 11th, then finishing with two shows at the Forum theatre in Melbourne on the 12th.

You can grab tickets for Festival of the Sun from the festival’s website, or tickets for the Victorian shows from sancisco.com.

Listen to more from San Cisco below.

Images via press

Interview by Lochie Schuster