The 5 new records we’re listening to today

Happy Friday, y’all. The end of a working week means the beginning of a weekend’s listening, and as ever, there are plenty of new records to wrap your ears around.

Whether you’re sitting at work with the headphones in, zoning out at home before a big weekend, or road trippin’ somewhere divine, here are five new slices you’ll definitely want to wrap your ears around.

sampa the great the return Barun Chatterjee new records

New music Friday is here. Check out the five brand spankin’ new records we’re spinning  this fine day.

Alex Cameron – Miami Memory

A “love letter” to his girlfriend JemimaMiami Memory  marks Alex Cameron’s third solo album and a deeper foray than ever into his creative realm – one of toxic masculinity, empowered sex workers, family breakdowns, and filthy romance.

It’s a little more subdued than the charged pop energy of Forced Witness, though Cameron’s prose stands just as tall. Wrap your ears around his latest set of tales below.

Sampa The Great – The Return

A monstrous, 77-minute listen, I could write about Sampa The Great’s debut album The Return for 1000 words. Deeply chained to her heritage, the record features appearances from her family members (by way of samples, vocal features, and appearances in videos), plus themes of cultural re-discovery, self-enlightenment, and success despite disadvantage.

The album is littered with incredible features, too. Sampa’s sister Mwanje sings on the opening track, Ecca Vandal appears on Dare To Fly, and the record’s insane, 9-minute title track enlists the talents of thando, Jace XL, Whosane and Alien.

Listen to The Return below.

Metronomy – Metronomy Forever

It’s been a hot minute since Metronomy captured the ear of the entire indie industry, but their skills have far from diminished. Metronomy Forever is as tight as a nail, a record brimming with dainty melodies and juicy beats for days.

In proper Metronomy style, the album was preceded by a couple of amazing videos – for the first time self-directed by band member Joseph Mount. If you dig the album, definitely give the videos a spin too.

Sandy (Alex G) – House of Sugar

A new album from Alex G is always a treat, and House of Sugar is no exception. A little weird and more than a little wonderful is the elevator pitch as usual; it’s a record full of sky-high musical moments and some truly breathtaking lo-fi vocals.

It’s the kind of album that you can just fall into, leaving the real world behind for a little while. Do just that below.

Angel Olsen – Lark

With her new single Lark, Angel Olsen has shared the second taste of her upcoming album All Mirrors. The new track is dramatic yet serene, accompanied by a video which casts her amongst rivers, streets and mountaintops.

Check out the new single below, and look out for All Mirrors on October 4th.