The Jesus and Mary Chain release Damage and Joy, first LP since 1998

The Jesus and Mary Chain release Damage and Joy, their first record since 1998

Welcome to Monday folks, what is usually the most grim instalment of your working week. Today, however, is different. Today you get to listen to the first new music from The Jesus and Mary Chain in almost two decades, because Damage and Joy has hit the airwaves.

The noise ambassadors who carved a rebellious niche against the corny 80s pop sphere are personal favourites, and we’ve been waiting with baited breath for Damage and Joy since it was announced.

Photo: Steve Gullick
Photo: Steve Gullick

In the time it took The Jesus and Mary Chain to release Damage and Joy, you could have raised a child to drinking age. Yeah, we’re pretty excited.

Spotify users can listen to the album below. Initial reviews have been mixed, some praising it as a reinvention of their iconic, creative monstrosity Psychocandy, while doubters walk a similar line, instead saying it doesn’t hold up for the same reasons.

You’ll just have to decide for yourself.


01. Amputation
02. War On Peace
03. All Things Pass
04. Always Sad
05. Song For A Secret
06. The Two Of Us
07. Los Feliz (Blues and Greens)
08. Mood Rider
09. Presidici (Et Chapaquiditch)
10. Get On Home
11. Facing Up To The Facts
12. Simian Split
13. Black And Blues
14. Can’t Stop The Rock