The Tallest Man on Earth gives us the title track from his forthcoming album

Swedish folk singer The Tallest Man on Earth has just released the beautiful title track to his forthcoming fourth album Dark Bird Is Home.

Picture 1

The Tallest Man On Earth (aka Kristian Matsson) has a penchant for honest storytelling in the classic folk tradition – one man, a raspy voice and a guitar. Dark Bird Is Home is no exception. The track opens with Matsson strumming away unaccompanied, contemplative and lucid as he reflects on loneliness and sadness through imagery of storms, valleys, dust and darkness. A beat heavy drum soon joins before the song erupts into a triumphant cacophony of instruments, more adventurous and expansive than anything Matsson has done in the past.

[soundcloud url=”″ params=”color=ff5500&auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false” width=”100%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]

It’s a fitting closing track to an album which is shaping up to be as just brilliant as the last three. Dark Bird Is Home, is his first studio album since 2012’s There’s No Leaving Now and is due out May 12 via Dead Oceans.

Track list details are:

1 Fields of Our Home
2 Darkness of the Dream
3 Singers
4 Slow Dance
5 Little Nowhere Towns
6 Sagres
7 Timothy
8 Beginners
9 Seventeen
10 Dark Bird Is Home