Best New Music: Fazerdaze, Angel Olsen, The Buoys and more

Welcome back to Happy Mag’s Best New Music, every Friday we highlight the best new releases from the past week.

Another Friday comes to pass and the weekend awaits, we’ve made it friends! Before we clock off and crack a cold one, we have got another week’s worth of amazing new music releases to share with you.

From the highly-anticipated new track from Fazerdaze, to stunning new music from Angel Olsen, and The Buoys we have got some real treats for you today; so without further ado, let’s get into that sweet sweet music.


Fazerdaze – Flood Into

In the form of her latest single “Flood Into,” the songstress-cum-multi-instrumentalist Fazerdaze, née Amelia Murray, has delivered yet another pristinely crafted and irresistibly hooky composition, now available across all platforms after previously being relegated to vinyl-only status. Situated within the larger context of Murray’s cathartic and impactful new EP “Break!,” this project marks her return to the limelight after a hiatus of over five years, offering a deliciously nebulous, shoegaze-inspired soundscape bursting with shimmering vocals, fuzzy guitars, and a raw-yet-glossy aura that’s wholly and uniquely Fazerdaze.

Angel Olsen –  Nothings Free

Angel Olsen, the mercurial singer-songwriter who made waves with her acclaimed 2020 album “Big Time,” is set to drop a new EP featuring previously unreleased outtakes from that project. Dubbed “Forever Means,” the four-track effort is slated for release via the Jagjaguwar label on Friday, April 14th. Accompanying the announcement is the release of “Nothing’s Free,” the EP’s opening track, which Olsen described as an introspective piece about reaching a breaking point where self-denial is no longer tenable, and one can no longer ignore the need to truly be oneself. Olsen’s knack for turning such deeply personal reflections into soaring and anthemic folk rock continues to shine through on this latest offering.

Danika – Down Love EP

Danika, the introspective singer-songwriter known for her unflinching honesty and deft storytelling, has just dropped her latest EP, “Down Love,” via the Endless Recordings label. Danika has never been one to shy away from confronting life’s hard truths head-on, using her voice and guitar to capture the ups and downs and lessons learned along the way. Since joining the Endless Recordings and WAT families, Danika’s star has been on the rise, with a highly praised east coast headline tour in 2022 and the release of her acclaimed “When Love Comes” EP in 2021. Now, in 2023, “Down Love” offers yet another glimpse into the artist’s evocative songwriting and soul-stirring melodies.

The Vanns – Ever

Australian rockers The VANNS are back with a bang in 2023, releasing the first track, “Ever,” from their highly anticipated new studio album, Last Of Your Kind. With experiences and lessons learned from their time on the road and in the studio, the band beautifully fuses these elements with new sonic inspirations, resulting in a vibrant and engaging sound that showcases The VANNS’ growth and evolution.

The Buoys – I Want You

Australian-based alternative rock group The Buoys have unleashed their latest creation, a lively and electrifying track dubbed “I Want You”. Blending fuzzy guitar riffs with raw, unbridled vocals, the quartet delivers an unapologetically gritty and rough-hewn anthem that celebrates the thrills of a no-strings-attached romance. The band describes the track as a sonic snapshot of those exhilarating yet fleeting moments when you lock eyes with that special someone, silently communicating with one another that it’s time to leave and explore new horizons.

Masego –  Masego

Atlanta’s Masego returns with his sophomore album that showcases his ever-evolving multi-talented spirit, proving he’s a force to be reckoned with in R&B, hip-hop, dance, and beyond. Released via EQT Recordings/Capitol Records, the featureless album boasts 14 tracks, including previously shared hits like “You Never Visit Me,” “Two Sides (I’m So Gemini)” and “Say You Want Me,” featuring captivating backing vocals from Ambré, Destin Conrad, and Ari PenSmith.

Casa Rosa –  Lone Rider

Casa Rosa, the sibling duo from Sydney, continues to challenge the boundaries of alt-indie and country with their latest single “Lone Rider,” which offers a captivating and introspective sound. The Harpers’ unyielding passion for experimentation and pushing the limits of genre conventions is on full display in this bewitching new track.


Listen to our full Best New Music playlist below and be sure to follow Happy Mag on Spotify