Happy Friday Staff Picks: P J Harvey, The Drums and more

Welcome back to Happy Mag’s Staffs Picks, where every Friday we highlight our favourite new music releases from the past week. 

Another Friday comes to pass and the weekend awaits, we’ve made it friends! Before we clock off and crack a cold one, we have got another week’s worth of amazing new music releases to share with you.

From the hughly anticipated album from King Krule, to the sweet indie punk stylings of Teen Jesus and the Jean Teasers, we have got some real treats for you today; so without further ado, let’s get into that sweet sweet music.


PJ Harvey  I Inside the Old I Dying

PJ Harvey unveils “Inside the Old Year Dying,” a delicate and dark masterpiece that exemplifies her quintessential artistry, solidifying her position as the reigning queen of her craft.

Anyma  Welcome to The Opera (with Grimes)

Grimes unveils her highly anticipated release, “Welcome to the Opera,” a collaborative track with electronic music producer Anyma (aka Matteo Milleri from Italian duo Tale of Us), which she has been teasing in live performances for over a year.

Teen Jesus & The Jean Teasers  — Never Saw It Coming

TEEN JESUS AND THE JEAN TEASERS reveal their softer side in “Never Saw It Coming,” a poignant track highlighting the strength found in overcoming challenges with the support of friends, featuring drummer Neve van Boxsel’s heartfelt vocals layered over strings and acoustic guitar, accompanied by an accompanying video she directed and edited.

The Drums — Obvious

The Drums are set to release “Obvious,” a blissful new song that embraces the beauty of interdependence, along with their introspective releases leading up to their forthcoming sixth studio album.

King Krule — Flimsier

Today, King Krule unveils his fourth studio album, “Space Heavy,” a 15-track masterpiece that immerses listeners in the captivating depths of Archy Marshall’s subterranean sonic universe, showcasing his evolution as King Krule, with the title track “Flimsier” taking center stage.

Kita Alexander — 7 Minutes in Heaven

Kita Alexander unveils her introspective new single, “7 Minutes In Heaven,” a captivating track that beautifully represents the aesthetic and sonic essence of her upcoming album, as she describes it as her companion and closest confidant.

Pink Pantheress — Angel (Barbie Soundtrack)

Atlantic Records drops the captivating new single “Angel” by UK-based artist and producer PinkPantheress, adding to the star-studded “BARBIE THE ALBUM” after the successful artist reveal and initial teasers.

RVG — Common Ground

RVG (Romy Vager Band) recently premiered their compelling track “Common Ground” along with a visually striking music video, resonating with melancholic dream pop melodies that resonate from the song’s opening chords while Romy Vager candidly reveals her emotional wounds, confessing, “I contemplate surrender, I’ve reached my limit, I no longer desire my own existence.”

Durry — Coming of Age

Durry, the dynamic brother/sister duo, is set to release their rebellious indie rock single “Coming of Age,” a modern take on Dolly Parton’s classic “9-5,” accompanied by a nationwide tour and their highly anticipated debut album, Suburban Legend.


Listen to our full Best New Music playlist below and be sure to follow Happy Mag on Spotify