Our fav Icelandic Queen Björk, takes Best Live Performer at AIM Awards

Björk wins Best Live Performer at AIM Awards, cementing her status as the legend we always knew she was.

Harking back to Björk‘s Sugarcube days where her raw and unbridled stage antics left anyone in attendance assured of her future success, either with the cubes or without, was no brainer, its no surprise that she has snagged the Best Live Performer award at the AIM Awards.

Set for September 26 at London’s Roundhouse, the AIM Awards has unveiled its final nominees, with Björk securing the spotlight as Best Live Performer, our fav Icelandic Queen triumphed over strong contenders like Beabadoobee, Muna, and even Babymetal in a last-minute dash of public votes.

Bjork utopia press shots AIM

Dr. Charisse Beaumont, a key figure behind Black Lives in Music (BLIM), has been named Diversity Champion. Her work in shaping an inclusive music industry shines through, including BLIM’s Anti-Racism Code. Beyond awards, Beaumont’s relentless commitment earned her an honorary doctorate from the University of West London, sharing the honour with BLiM co-founder Roger Wilson.

AIM Awards 2023, top nominees like Raye and Shygirl lead the pack with three nods each. Alongside them, Ezra Collective, Obongjayar, Kelela, and Jessica Winter embrace multiple nominations, capturing the eclectic spirit of independent music.

Save the date – September 26 – and check out the full list of nominees below:


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Björk (@bjork)

Diversity Champion
Charisse Beaumont – Black Lives in Music

Best Live Performance
Björk (One Little Independent)

PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Artist
AntsLive (Payday Records, Trademark Records)
John Summit (Off The Grid Records)
Surya Sen (Skint Records)
Vibe Chemistry (DnB Allstars Records)
Wet Leg (Domino Records)

Music Entrepreneur of the Year
Alex Brees – Un:hurd
Caius Pawson – Young / Space
Jess Kangalee – Good Energy PR
Keturah Cummings – Forward Slash
Yasin El Ashrafi – HQ Familia

Best Boutique Label
Chess Club
Glasgow Underground
Rough Bones
So Young Records

Best Independent Label
Defected Records
Forever Living Originals
Hospital Records
One Little Independent

Best Creative Campaign
Because Music (Shygirl – ‘Nymph’)
Dirty Hit (Rina Sawayama – ‘Hold The Girl’)
Human Re Sources (RAYE – ‘My 21st Century Blues’)
Ninja Tune (Young Fathers – ‘Heavy Heavy’)
Partisan Records (Ezra Collective – ‘Where I’m Meant To Be’)
XL Recordings (Yaeji – ‘With A Hammer’)

The previously announced nominees are as follows:

UK Independent Breakthrough

Ezra Collective (Partisan Records)
I.Jordan (Ninja Tune)
Overmono (XL Recordings)
Shygirl (Because Music)
Suki Waterhouse (Sub Pop)

Best Independent Track (Meta)
Connie Constance – ‘Hurt You’ (Play It Again Sam)
Enny – Charge It (FAMM)
Four Tet – ‘Three Drums’ (Text Records)
Makaya McCraven – ‘Dream Another’ (XL Recordings)
Overmono – ‘Good Lies’ (XL Recordings)
Raye, 070 Shake – ‘Escapism’ (Human Re Sources)
Shygirl – ‘Shlut’ (Because Music)
Sudan Archives – ‘Selfish Soul’ (Stones Throw Records)
Yeah Yeah Yeahs – ‘Spitting Off The Edge of The World’ feat. Perfume Genius (Secretly Canadian)
Yves Tumor – ‘Echolalia’ (Warp Records)

Best Independent EP/ Mixtape
Bellah – ‘Adultsville’ (Base ‘N’ Rebulz X Marathon Music Group)
ENNY – ‘We Go Again’ (FAMM)
Jessica Winter – ‘Limerance’ (Lucky Number)
Saint Joshua – ‘EP2’(Ditto Music)
yunè pinku – ‘Babylon IX’ (Platoon)

Best Independent Album
Avelino – God Save The Streets (More Music Records/ OddChild Music)
Kelela – Raven (Warp Records)
Little Simz – No Thank You (Forever Living Originals)
Nova Twins – Supernova (Marshall Records)
Obongjayar – Some Nights I Dream of Doors (September Recordings)
Oliver Sim – Hideous Bastard (Young)
Raye – My 21st Century Blues (Human Re Sources)
Rina Sawayama – Hold The Girl (Dirty Hit)
Shygirl – Nymph (Because Music)
Wu-Lu – LOGGERHEAD (Warp Records) 

Best Independent Remix
Sega Bodega Remix (One Little Independent) – Björk – ‘Ovuke (feat. Shygirl)’
Soulwax Remix (Deewee / Because Music) – Charlotte Adigéry & Bolis Pupul – ‘Cliche’
Nu:Tone Remix (Hospital Records) – GLXY – ‘Butterfly Effect (feat. Hugh Hardie & Visionobi)’
Jamie XX remix (Young) – Oliver Sim – ‘GMT’
Boys Noize (Secretly Canadian) – Yeah Yeah Yeahs – ‘Wolf’

One To Watch (BBC Music Introducing)
Jessica Winter (Lucky Number)
Juice Menace (Supernature)
Flowerovlove (FAE GRP)
Laughta (MDLBEAST)
Master Peace (PMR)

Best Independent Video (Vevo)
Ezra Collective – ‘No Confusion ft. Kojey Radical’ (Partisan Records)
Kelela – ‘Enough For Love’ (Warp Records)
Obongjayar – ‘I Wish It Was Me (Live)’ (September Recordings)
Raye, 070 Shake – ‘Escapism.’ (Human Re Sources)
Wesley Joseph – ‘Monsoon’ (EEVILTWINN)