Soft spot for video game music? Dive into a 34-track compilation of early treasures from Hyperdub Records

Hyperdub Records, the label run by Kode9 and known for artists such as Burial, have announced a new compilation of pioneering Japanese video game music titled Diggin in the Carts.

The collection will be available this November, and features music from games such as Alien Soldier, Thunder Force IV, and the Nemesis series, amongst a ton of others.

diggin in the carts hyperdub video game music
Art by Koji Morimoto

Love yourself some video game music? Go back to the genre’s legendary roots with Diggin in the Carts, a killer new compilation curated by Hyperdub Records.

“Some of the greatest art is created within limitations, and often the most pioneering and influential periods in electronic music have resulted from artists pushing existing technology to its limits,” Hyperdub said in a statement.

Check out the tracklist below, and head here to grab a copy for yourself.


Konami Kukeiha Club – Opening (Cosmic Wars)
Konami Kukeiha Club – Mazed Music (Nemesis)
Norio Nakagata – Big Mode (Genpel Touma Den)
Michiharu Hasuya – Hidden Level (Solomon’s Key)
Konami Kukeiha Club – A Planet Of Plants (Nemesis II)
Manabu Saito – Telepathy (Chatty)
Konami Kukeiha Club – Equipment (Nemesis 3 The Eve Of Destruction)
Konami Kukeiha Club – BGM 3 (Motocross Maniacs)
Toshiya Yamanaka – Visual Scene 1&2 (Wer Dragon)
Goblin Sound – Opening (Hisou Kihei X-Serd)
Tadahiro Nitta – An-Un [Ominous Clouds] (Xak II)
Yuzo Koshiro – Temple (Actraiser)
Konami Kukeiha Club – Road To Agartha (Moryou Senki MADARA)
Hiroyuki Kawada – King Erekiman (The Legend of Valkyrie)
Katsuro Tajima – Exercise (Mega Panel)
Goblin Sound – Game Over (Hisou Kihei X-Serd)
Konami Kukeiha Club – Beyond The Terminus (Block Hole)
Kazuko Umino (Zuntata) Waltz of Water and Bubbles (Liquid Kids)
Hiroto Saitou – Main Stage BGM 1 (Time Cruise II)
Yasuhisa Wantanabe (Zuntata) – Area 26-10 (Metal Black)
Hiroto Saitou – Site 3-1 [Torrid City] (Metal Stoker)
Tadahiro Nitta – Metal Area (Illusion City)
Hiroto Saitou – Site 6-2 (Metal Stoker)
Mausmi Itou – Tactics 4 (Super Royal Blood)
Goblin Sound – My Phase [Stage 12-14] (Vixen 357)(
Hiroaki Yoshida – Kyoushin [Lunatic Forest] (Dragon Gun)
Konami Kukeiha Club – Underwater Dungeon – (Esper Dream 2)
Technosoft – Shooting Stars (Thunder Force IV)
Soshi Hosoi – Mister Diviner ( The Majhong Touhhaiden) 04:52
Jun Ishikawa – Main Theme (Alcahest)
Kazuhiko Nagai – Keel (Golden Axe II – The Duel)
Koichi Ishibashi – Bad Data (Dezaemon)
Yasuaki Fujita – What is Your Birthday (Tarot Mystery)
Kazuo Hanzawa – Oblivious Past (Alien Soldier)

Digging this? Check out our list of video game soundtracks you should buy on vinyl:

Via FACT Mag.