Oisima is electrifying on Nicaragua Nights

[soundcloud url=”″ params=”color=000000&inverse=false&auto_play=false&show_user=true” width=”100%” height=”20″ iframe=”true” /]

One of the hottest Aussie producers circulating the country right now, Oisima (AKA Anth Wendt), has finally (after two long years) released his much anticipated debut LP Nicaragua Nights. The Adelaide based multi-instrumentalist carefully crafts a genre blending experience into 11 tracks with the soulfulness of Bleeding Gums Murphy’s sax.

This gracious, beanie wearing human, has caught international attention since 2011 with the two EP’s, Dusk Till Dawn and Goddess. Compliment this with his semi-regular mixtapes Jewels of Thought, the solo beatsmith has whipped up a captivating catalogue that he reworks at his regularly sold-out club shows and big stage performances.


Oisima has created an incredible, woozy, and atmospheric journey on his long awaited debut long play Nicaragua Nights 

Nicaragua Nights delivers a liquified mixture of electronica, contemporary soul, afro beats and chilled out jazz more luscious than the producer’s ever growing beard. Let yourself be teleported to the tropical night life of the South American country without the airfare costs.

The album is a product of recordings made by Wendt in his own retreat to a shack in the middle of the South Australian bush. This solitude allowed freedom of experimentation with an eclectic range of styles, capturing a woozy atmospheric journey soaked with his flawless technical proficiency and relaxed workmanship. He masters the art of vocal collaboration, working with other artists from across Australia on the album. In the past he has played with other electronic big shots such as XXYYXX, Bonobo, Ras G, Knwledge and Mux Mool as well as having his tunes remixed by Ta-ku and Slamagotchi.

The album opens with Indios, a hypnotising eastern tropical soundscape that is layered with warped synths creating an overall exotic and ambient aural experience. The vibes off this album become even more relaxed as the listener becomes encapsulated by a whirlpool of synths and pitch-shifted vocals in tracks such as Grovers Lament and Cactus Canyon. Makes Me Feel Alright and Everything About Her feature the soft, supple vocals of Archie front woman Annabel Weston, which adds an emotional overcoat to the already dreamy journey.

Well known hip-hop artists Danny Watts and Sam Al contribute spitting lines to Missin’ You Now complimenting the tropical off beats laid down by Oisima. Mei Seraswati projects harmonies that can only be described as slow and hypnotic on the saxophone and flute driven track Sun of Truth. The finishing touches on this easy going soundtrack is Oisima’s melancholic take on Rihanna‘s hit Russian Roulette, Take Your Time, which is a dark escape that is dense in textural sounds.

Word on the street is that the man himself will be doing a tour for the album in late June and early July all around Australia and New Zealand, but can we wait another two years for more chilled out vibes? Hell No!

[soundcloud url=”″ params=”color=ff5500&auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false” width=”100%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]