新闻消息

Red Hot Chili Peppers – 'Unlimited Love':专辑评论

红辣椒 无限的爱 在短暂的时刻猛烈打击,但从不放松激情。

来自世界上最著名的放克/另类摇滚四人组的新十年和新的大型产品, 红辣椒. 自 2006 年以来首次以 John Frusciante 为特色 Arcadium舞台, 无限的爱 是一张温暖、中等的专辑,在小片段中表现强劲,却没有达到他们标志性热门歌曲的赞歌或原始、情感效果。

吉他手 Frusciante、贝斯手 Flea 和鼓手 Chad Smith 展示了一些完美无瑕的即兴演奏,例如单曲的后半部分,这张 17 首曲目、70 分钟的专辑有很多内容可以让您尽情享受 这些是方法,它的结尾引导着精湛的鼓声 谁的 基思·穆恩。

照片由克拉拉巴尔扎里

无限的爱 主打单曲, 黑色的夏天, 是这张专辑中最吸引人的曲目,但很明显,放克四人组并不是为了创造流行歌曲,而是他们正在探索重新认识彼此的乐趣——他们没有什么可以证明的,除了重申重聚的感觉超好的。

辣椒, 毕竟是另类摇滚和放克金属的典型代表(双关语),如果你有足够的音乐天赋支持的话,Anthony Kiedis 生动地证明了荒谬的抒情即兴创作的适销性——看, 加利福尼亚州 环游世界。

尽管这张专辑的中等作品的接受度有些低迷, 无限的爱 是一种认真的爱的劳动。 这张专辑的声音温暖是因为它是直接从磁带中掌握的,Flea 在 Instagram 上评论说 “没有计算机参与,也没有额外的压缩或限制器……就像他们过去所做的那样”。

从此以后 展示了朋克摇滚的努力,作为对迷恋起泡的颂歌,Flea 用拨片敲击他的贝斯以产生有节奏的即兴演奏,再加上由 Chad Smith 召集的强大的汤姆凹槽。

水口舞 引导更圆润的加州时代的放克音乐比喻; Frusciante 直观的节奏吉他演奏、配音和流畅、舒缓的伴唱声不那么原始,但仍然非常紧凑、时髦,并且不可否认地提升了。

海报儿童 与比利乔尔的古怪平行 我们没有开火 Kiedis 以抒情的方式用手指作画,在有意义和无意义之间徘徊,“泡泡糖,一杯汤,肮脏的花花公子南达圈,箍上的小香蕉,现在我知道乐队是鲁卡”。

她是情人 明显是音乐上的佼佼者; 朗朗上口,平衡,时髦。 Kiedis 在歌词中表演了他的无调性口语说唱,再次重复了性和结识情人的快乐。 Flea 在副歌中的贝斯演奏很巧妙,演绎出一种二元反旋律。 再一次,Frusciante 的和声是一个美丽的资产。

受孕时 她是情人,基迪斯在接受制片人里克·鲁宾采访时透露:

“我过去每天都开车经过那棵开满粉红色花朵的树,这似乎是一种关系的隐喻。 你钦佩这个东西,但一旦你试图支配或挑选它或让它遵守你的议程,它还会是狂野和自由的吗? 可能不是。”

让他们哭吧 是一首让人想起 Sly and the Family Stone 的午夜巡游歌曲 如果你想让我留下 带有切分音的合唱,带有雷鬼风格的波普,配有管风琴和合唱小号。 这一切都非常性感和时髦,尤其是当 Frusciante 撕碎一个 15 秒的面部融化独奏时。

坦格洛 以类似的方式结束专辑 绊脚石 绑起来 CALIFORNICATION. 结尾的曲目是对爱在身份中唤起真理的力量的颂歌——爱被描述为一个无常的家,不可避免地以心碎告终,总是注定要被单相思: “当我和你在一起时,我觉得自己像我自己,并不陌生,是别人的影子……当我在那个领域失去你时,我弯弯的眼睛难以掩饰,告诉我一次,把我的托盘给我,哦,让它去吧,现在我们必须祈祷,让我们祈祷”。

评论褒贬不一,有些严厉,有些则更为宽容。 给它一个 6.2 而 守护者 称其为臃肿、自我放纵的努力。 我认为它倾向于称它为协调一致的,尽管它缺乏流行感。

这些安排经过深思熟虑,高效且引人注目,有节奏的切分音是和弦且平衡的。 它不拘一格地从其他风格中汲取灵感,从硬朋克到深情的放克。 Frusciante 的吉他作品是有目的的,就像他融化的独奏一样 黑色夏天她是情人,而他的配音工作则是经过深思熟虑和缩减; 唯一放纵的努力是一些 Kiedis 的歌词,但是该死的,有没有人听到结尾处的散落声 环游世界?

无限的爱 以冥想祈祷的精神洗礼结束,作为最后的曲目 坦格洛 放开它对错误的爱的控制,也许还没有解决——一旦世间发生的事情消失了,剩下的就是爱,就像无限的爱。

News

Red Hot Chili Peppers – ‘Unlimited Love’: Album Review

The Red Hot Chili Peppers’ Unlimited Love hits hard in bite-sized moments, but never eases in passion.

A new decade and a new sizeable offering from the world’s most renowned funk / alt-rock foursome, the Red Hot Chili Peppers. The first effort to feature John Frusciante since 2006’s Stadium Arcadium, Unlimited Love is a warm, middling album that comes strong in bite-sized moments without attaining the anthemic or raw, emotive effect of their landmark hits.

There is plenty to sink your teeth into on the 17-track, 70-minute album with guitarist Frusciante, bassist Flea, and drummer Chad Smith displaying some insanely flawless jams, such as the second half of single These are the Ways, whose outro channels the masterfully flourished drumming of The Who’s Keith Moon.

Photo by Clara Balzary

Unlimited Love’s lead single, Black Summer, is the album’s catchiest track, yet it’s obvious that the funk foursome are not here to create pop hits, but rather they are exploring the joy of becoming reacquainted with one another – there is nothing for them to prove, except to restate that being reunited feels so good.

The Peppers, after all are the poster children (pun intended) of alt-rock and funk metal, with Anthony Kiedis living proof of the marketability of nonsensical lyrical improvisation if you’re backed by enough musical talent – see, Californication’s Around the World.

Despite the somewhat lacklustre reception of the album’s middling compositions, Unlimited Love is an earnest labour of love. The album’s sonic warmth is owed to the fact that it was mastered straight from tape, with Flea commenting from Instagram that “no computers were involved or extra compression or limiters… like they used to do”.

Here Ever After showcases a punk-rock effort as an ode to the effervescence of a crush, with Flea bashing his bass with a pick to produce a rhythmic riff coupled with a powerful tom groove mustered by Chad Smith.

Aquatic Mouth Dance channels a mellower Californication-era funk musical trope; not hardly as raw, but still invitingly tight, funky, and undeniably elevated by Frusciante’s intuitively rhythmic guitar playing, overdubs, and smooth, soothing backing vocals.

Poster Child is a kooky parallel to Billy Joel’s We Didn’t Start the Fire where Kiedis finger-paints lyrically, toeing the line between sense and nonsense, “bubble gum, a cup of soup, dirty dandy nanda loop, a small banana in your hoop, and now I know the band is Ruca”.

She’s a Lover is an obvious musical standout; catchy, well-balanced, and funky. Kiedis performs his atonal, spoken-word rap on the verse, once again riffing on sex and the joy of getting to know a lover. Flea’s bass delivery in the chorus is clever, performing a dyadic countermelody. Again, Frusciante’s backing vocals are a beautiful asset.

On conceiving She’s a Lover, Kiedis said in an interview with producer Rick Rubin revealed:

“I used to drive past the tree every day that was covered in pink flowers and it seemed like a metaphor for a relationship. You admire this thing as it is, but once you try to dominate or pick it or make it adhere to your agenda, will it still be wild and free? Probably not.”

Let ‘Em Cry is a midnight cruising song reminiscent of Sly and the Family Stone’s If You Want Me to Stay with a chorus that syncopates into a reggae-esque bop, complete with organ and a chorus trumpet. It’s all very sexy and groovy, especially when Frusciante shreds a 15-second face-melting solo.

Tangelo concludes the album in a similar manner to the way Road Trippin’ tied up Californication. The closing track is an ode to love’s power to evoke truth in identity – love is described as an impermanent home that inevitably ends in heartbreak, always fatefully left unrequited: “when I’m with you I feel like myself, no stranger, the shadow of somebody else… when I lost you out in that field my crooked eyes could hardly conceal, tell me one time and bring me my tray, oh, let it go and now we must pray, let us pray”.

Reviews have been mixed, with some scathing and others more forgiving. Pitchfork gave it a 6.2 while The Guardian called it a bloated, self-indulgent effort. I think it apt to call it a concerted one, despite its lack of pop sensibility.

The arrangements are considered, efficient, and compelling, the rhythmic syncopation is polyphonic and balanced. It draws eclectically from other styles, from hard punk to soulful funk. Frusciante’s guitar work is purposeful, like his melting solo’s on Black Summer and She’s a Lover, while his overdub work his considered and pared-back; the only indulgent effort is some of Kiedis’ lyrics, but damn, has anyone heard the scatting on the end of Around the World?

Unlimited Love ends with a spiritual wash of meditative prayer, as the final track Tangelo lets loose its grip on love gone wrong and perhaps unresolved – and what’s left once the earthly happenings fade away, well, something like a love unlimited.