产品特点

规则 34 以及为什么我们梦想着他妈的虚构人物

很可能这个地球上没有一个灵魂没有幻想过他妈的一个虚构的人物。 但 刺猬索尼克 色情? 是的,朋友,这只是众所周知的冰山一角。

互联网有一句古老的格言,通常被称为第 34 条规则。没有人完全确定它的来源,但它优雅的洞察力远远超过了它的起源之谜。 本质上,该规则规定,如果可以构想出某些东西,那么互联网上就会出现色情内容。

我对这条规则的第一反应是点头,因为我的大脑试图在其中心前提上打洞。 我知道 那里有很多色情片,但我对自己的想象力有信心提出一些完全属于我自己的新变态。 我越往下走,我就越不确定,最终我别无选择,只能思考规则 34 的明显准确性。

辛普森一家色情模仿规则 34
图片:辛普森一家:XXX 模仿秀 / Full Spread Entertainment

不仅我的想象力被互联网的智囊所超越,人们已经努力通过文字、图画和视频来实现它。

我发现主流色情模仿来自 辛普森漫威的复仇者联盟. 我躲在 Reddit 的深处,目睹了刺猬索尼克巨大的阴茎穿透了它所穿过的任何东西。 在我晚饭迟到之前,我浏览了 Pornhub 的热门视频并意识到 监工、cosplay、假阳具有很好的同步性.

尽管如此,一个问题仍然无法让我震惊的脑海中腾空……为什么? 这项工作背后的技巧、努力和创造力显而易见,但背后的基本原理让我感到困惑。 事后看来,我认为我过于关注材料不是什么(至少对我而言),而不是它是什么。

色情勇敢者

要了解为什么存在某种色情制品,首先要在历史背景下理解色情制品是相当重要的。 在这个追求中,我很幸运能够拜访悉尼科技大学的艾伦麦基教授,他在性、媒体和色情方面的专业知识被证明非常有帮助。

在我们的谈话中,McKee 教授很快指出,色情作家一直处于几乎所有通信技术创新的前沿,至少在与娱乐相关的范围内。

“ E从 19 世纪发明照相机开始,人们非常热衷于接触新的通信技术,这一直是由制作色情片驱动的。 家庭电影和录像机、电脑和互联网的早期采用者,在任何情况下都是出于对制作和消费色情片的兴趣。”

只有这样,这种开创性的态度才有意义,因为互联网已经变得非常庞大(但越来越分裂和划分)。 随着新的交流平台的出现,我们对性表达和发现的古老欲望也随之出现。

但我并没有开始这段旅程,因为我对色情的盛行感到困惑; 第一批将图画蚀刻到石头上的人类很快将目光转向了灯光熄灭时会发生什么,这是完全有道理的。 我正在寻找的答案需要采取一些方法来解释为什么有人在互联网上分享任天堂的柯比被用作 Fleshlight 代理的图像(是的)。

前一阵子做的。 帅气的柯比柯比

正如麦基教授在我们的谈话中强调的那样,答案与我们对什么是娱乐的理解交织在一起。

“娱乐总是关于奇观,它是向你展示你从未见过的东西。 这是关于向你展示有趣、奇怪和小众的东西。 Freakshows 是 19 世纪娱乐的重要组成部分,这种逻辑仍在继续,不仅适用于太阳马戏团,也适用于现代色情。”

奇观是娱乐中最重要的一个组成部分。 没有它,我们就会留下陈旧的艺术,缺乏足够的动力来吸引任何类型的主流观众。 然而,构成奇观的东西是一个有点主观的东西,这就是为什么我们对娱乐的品味因人而异。

与快乐相反,景观的定义特征是你以前从未见过的东西。 奇观不一定是可取的,但它应该接近于迫使观众做出反应。 不过,什么样的反应取决于每个人的倾向,以及他们已经接触过或尚未接触过的东西。

以接吻为例,很温顺吧? 不必要。 诸如谁在亲吻谁,或亲吻发生的地点和时间等背景因素可以极大地改变对事件的感知方式。 显然,我们与执行该行为的人的关系和理解也是高度相关的。

因此,尽管您的父母在舒适的家中共享一个吻,但除此之外的任何人几乎都不会对他们感兴趣,但英格兰女王与梵蒂冈的 Kanye West 交易唾液可能会引发科学家们一直警告我们的 100 年风暴。 魔鬼在细节中,在景观方面也是如此。

掩护色情
随着时间的推移,“守望先锋”色情片的受欢迎程度。 图片:Pornhub 见解

桃子公主在礼堂里长着触手

粉丝文化与媒体积极消费的概念有着不可思议的联系。 这意味着粉丝,曾经被描述为没有头脑的大众,实际上他们非常热衷于他们选择的媒体。 他们在自己喜欢的文本中搜索隐藏的含义,考虑替代理论,并专注于他们认为最引人注目的部分。

“我们对粉丝的理解是那些制作肮脏照片和肮脏故事的人。”

不出所料,这通常是性行为。 只要同人小说存在,有抱负的作家和粉丝就已经探索了性 “如果” 他们最喜欢的作品。 对于回避角色性取向的作品(如卡通、儿童友好节目或许多电子游戏)尤其如此; 可能是因为这意味着作者有一块空白的画布可以投射,可能是因为这似乎更忌讳。

无论哪种方式,这类作品都可能引起观众的强烈反响,因为它们将角色置于与我们对他们的理解格格不入的环境中。 正如麦基教授简洁地说,色情的部分快感是“观看 事情进入了你知道他们不应该去的地方”,并且这条法令延伸到色情的叙述中。

你问什么叙述? 我可能只需要说开头、中间和结尾——或者开头和结尾。 性有其固有的叙事结构,这就是为什么它看起来如此令人满意的原因之一。 如果色情内容能够以我们讨论过的方式引入额外的眼镜元素,那么它可能会非常引人注目。

现在,关于我们对虚构人物的看似奇怪的痴迷,从这个框架来看,这实际上并没有那么令人惊讶。

我们对虚构人物发生性行为的想法并不感兴趣,尽管这完全有可能,但它对我们来说很新奇。 我们正在目睹与我们先前对它的理解相矛盾或陌生的事物的存在。 我们正在目睹规则被打破,启示正在拉开帷幕。

我们在外太空看桃公主带着触手怪。 无论如何,这是一件相当壮观的事情。 至少,足够壮观,以至于很难将视线移开。

但这是否也大错特错? 很难不去假设什么样的人会对消费或创造这种材料感兴趣。 同样,在它与反社会行为或恋童癖等各种社会问题之间划清因果关系也有点诱人。 毕竟,卡通和电子游戏与儿童有关,无论对错。

然而,这样做会很危险,而且非常不公平。 人类倾向于在他们看不到自己的地方寻找邪恶或其概念。 这就是为什么小众利益集团和少数群体经常受到诽谤——经常是因为与他们无关的事情。 把我们不理解的事情归咎于他者是很诱人的,因为它可以让我们掩饰自己的无知。 不幸的是,它很少将我们引向真正的罪魁祸首。

当被问及这种扶手椅式的哲学思想时,麦基教授简单地说:

“人们喜欢各种各样的色情内容,在不同的时间出于不同的原因享受各种各样的东西,享受人们做爱的卡通形象并没有天生的病态。”

仔细观察,我相信我们最初问题的答案是该断言的核心。 因为在我们最奇异的欲望的中心是提醒我们,我们都在寻找同样的东西:激发我们的兴趣并让我们感觉活着的东西——一些壮观的东西。

恰巧,奇观就像美一样,千差万别。

News

Rule 34 and why we dream about f*cking fictional characters

The likelihood is that there isn’t a soul alive on this earth who hasn’t fantasised about fucking a fictional character. But Sonic the Hedgehog pornography? Yes friend, and that’s just the tip of the proverbial iceberg.

The internet has an age-old adage that is often referred to as Rule 34. Where it comes from no one is entirely sure, but its elegant insight far outstrips the mystery of its origins. But what does Rule 34 mean exactly? Essentially, the fnf rule 34 states that if something can be conceived of, then there is porn of it on the Internet.

My first reaction to the fnf 34 rule was to nod along as my brain tried to crack holes in its central premise; I know there’s a lot of porn out there, but I felt confident in my imagination’s ability to come up with some fresh perversion that was entirely my own. The further down the rabbit hole I went the less sure I became, and eventually I was left with little option but to ponder the apparent accuracy of Rule 34.

the simpsons porn parody rule 34
Image: Simpsons: The XXX Parody / Full Spread Entertainment

Not only had my imagination been outrun by the brain trust of the internet, people had already diligently gone about realising it through text, drawings, videos and Rule 34 pictures online.

I found mainstream porn parodies of everything from The Simpsons to Marvel’s Avengers. I skulked through the recesses of Reddit and bore witness to Sonic the Hedgehog’s monstrous cock penetrating anything and everything in its path. And before I was even late for dinner I skimmed through Pornhub’s trending videos and realised Overwatch, cosplay, and dildos have great synchronicity.

Still, a question refused to vacate my shell-shocked mind… why the Sonic the Hedgehog rule 34 inclusion? The skill, effort, and creativity behind much of this work is immediately apparent, but the underlying rationale left me confused. In hindsight, I think I was too fixated on what the material isn’t (at least to me), rather than what it is.

Pornography the Brave

To understand why a certain kind of pornography exists, it is first rather important to understand pornography in a historical context. In this pursuit I was fortunate enough to be able to call on University of Technology Sydney Professor Alan McKee, whose expertise on sexuality, media, and pornography proved extremely helpful.

In our conversation, Professor McKee was quick to point out that pornographers have been at the forefront of almost all communication technology innovation, at least insofar as they relate to entertainment.

“Every drive to engage with new communications technologies, from the invention of the camera in the 19th century onwards, has been driven by making porn. The early adopters for home movies and VCRs, for computers and the internet, were driven in every case by an interest in making and consuming porn.”

It only makes sense then that this pioneering attitude has persevered as the internet has grown wildly vast (yet increasingly divided and compartmentalised). As new communication platforms emerge, so too does our ancient appetite for sexual expression and discovery.

But I didn’t start this journey because I was puzzled by the prevalence of pornography; it makes perfect sense that the first humans to etch drawings into stone quickly turned their gaze to what happens when the lights go out. The answer I was searching for needed to go some ways in explaining why someone on the internet is sharing images of Nintendo’s Kirby being used as a Fleshlight proxy (yep).

Made this a while ago. Handsome kirby from Kirby

And the answer, as Professor McKee highlighted in our conversation, is intermingled with our understanding of what constitutes entertainment.

“Entertainment is always about spectacle, it’s about showing you things you have never seen before. It’s about showing you things that are interesting, strange, and niche. Freakshows are a key part of 19th century entertainment and that logic continues, not to just Cirque du Solei, but also to modern pornography.”

Spectacle is the single most important component of entertainment. Without it we are left with stale art that lacks sufficient motivation to attract any sort of mainstream audience. However, that which constitutes spectacle is a somewhat subjective matter, which is why our taste in entertainment varies so much from person to person.

The defining characteristic of spectacle, as opposed to say pleasure, is that it’s something you haven’t seen before. A spectacle isn’t necessarily desirable, but it should come close to forcing a response from its audience. What type of response though will depend on each individual’s proclivities, as well as what they have or haven’t already been exposed to.

Take the example of kissing, pretty tame right? Not necessarily. Contextual factors such as who is kissing who, or where and when the kissing is taking place, can drastically alter how the event is perceived. Obviously our relationship with and understanding of those performing the act is also highly relevant.

So while your parents sharing a snog in the comfort of their home will hardly be of much interest to anyone bar them, the Queen of England trading spit with Kanye West in the Vatican could produce the 100 year storm scientists have been warning us about. The devil’s in the details, and the same is true when it comes to spectacle.

overwatch porn
Popularity of ‘Overwatch’ porn over time. Image: Pornhub insights

Princess Peach in the auditorium with tentacles

Fan culture is incredibly intertwined with the concept of active consumption of media. What is meant by this is that fans, once characterised as the mindless masses, are in fact extremely engaged with their chosen mediums. They search their favourite texts for hidden meanings, contemplate alternate theories, and focus on the bits they find most compelling.

“Our very understanding of who fans are is people who make dirty pictures and dirty stories.”

And unsurprisingly, this is often sex. As long as fan fiction has existed, aspiring writers and fans have explored the sexual ‘what ifs’ of their favourite works. This is particularly true of works which shy away from the sexuality of their characters (like cartoons, child-friendly programs, or many video games); possibly because it means authors have a blank canvas on which to project, possibly because it seems more taboo.

Either way, these sorts of works are likely to elicit strong responses from audiences because they place characters in circumstances that are alien to our understanding of them. As Professor McKee succinctly put it, part of the thrill of pornography is “watching things go into places that you know they shouldn’t go”, and this edict extends past the obvious into the narrative of the pornography.

What narrative you ask? I probably needn’t say more than beginning, middle, and end – or start and finish. Sex has an inherent narrative structure to it, and that’s one of the reasons why it’s so satisfying to watch. And if pornography manages to introduce an extra element of spectacles in the ways we’ve discussed, then it’s likely to be pretty compelling.

Now, in regards to our seemingly bizarre obsession with fictional characters, it isn’t actually all that surprising when viewed through this framework.

It isn’t so much that we are turned on by the thought of a fictional character having sex, although that’s perfectly possible, it’s that it’s novel to us. We are witnessing something exist that appears to be contradictory or foreign to our prior understanding of it. We are watching rules be broken, and revelation tearing down the curtains.

We are watching Princess Peach in outer space with a tentacle monster. And by all accounts, that is a rather spectacular thing. Spectacular enough, at least, that it’s hard to look away.

But is it also spectacularly wrong? It’s difficult not to hypothesise about the kind of person who would be interested in consuming or creating Rule 34 Sonic material. Similarly, drawing a causal line between it and various societal issues such as antisocial behaviour or pedophilia is somewhat tempting; cartoons and video games are associated, rightly or wrongly, with children after all.

However, to do so would be dangerous and grossly unfair. Humans tend to search for evil, or its point of conception, in places they don’t see themselves. Which is why niche interest groups and minorities are so often vilified – frequently for things that have little to do with them. It is seductive to blame the Other for that which we don’t understand because it allows us to gloss over our own ignorance. Unfortunately, it rarely leads us to the actual culprit.

When asked about this sort of armchair philosophising Professor McKee simply remarked:

“People enjoy all kinds of pornography, a whole range of things for different reasons at different times, and there is nothing innately pathological about enjoying cartoon images of people having sex.”

And on closer inspection, I’m convinced that the answer to our original question lies at the heart of that assertion. Because at the centre of our most bizarre desires is a reminder that we are all essentially searching for the same thing: something that excites our interest and makes us feel alive – something spectacular.

It just so happens that spectacle, like beauty, is vastly diverse.