The Mirror Keys deliver pure, unadulterated groove on Take Me Home

Funk outfit The Mirror Keys latest EP Take Me Home is a pulsating mix of tunes, full of rolling basslines, killer electric guitar solos and sultry drum patterns.

Made up of guitarist and multi-instrumentalist Kurt Bryant, bassist Alan Buttery, percussionist Denis Doucet, vocalist James Morrison and keyboardist Ernesto Alcala Jimenez, the five-piece have got their sound down pat.

Five-piece The Mirror Keys have released a funky new EP Take Me Home, jam-packed full of psychedelic reggae and rolling grooves.

Starting the EP off is Under You, which features a syncopated guitar line with a wah-wah pedal effect, setting the vibe right from the beginning.

Other pieces like By My Side are more downtempo, which really allow the keys to shine alongside the smooth rambling guitar melody line. It even includes a hint of spoken word poetry, which provides the song with a distinct punchiness.

Morrison’s smooth vocals are effortlessly complimented throughout the tracks, with weaving electric guitar melodies and funky drum patterns key elements of the EP.

With members hailing from Barcelona, Melbourne, Brisbane and outback  Queensland, The Mirror Keys were born from informal funk jams, which explains the chill vibes and ease of instrumentation. Some of their musical influences include Hiatus Kyote, Anderson .Paak, Fat Night and Bill Withers.

With their mission being to “bring original funk and soul to you”(the listeners), it’s pretty safe to say they’ve succeeded in doing so thus far. We can’t wait to hear what’s next for the band!

Catch the Take Me Home below: