A treasure trove of Prince's rarest demos are set for official release

A treasure trove of Prince’s rarest demos are set for official release

The Prince Estate have announced a collection of previously unreleased demos titled Originals. 

The new album features Prince’s original takes on songs he wrote for other artists, and includes tracks like Manic Monday (The Bangles), You’re My Love (Kenny Rogers), Nothing Compares 2 U (The Family), and The Glamorous Life (Sheila E.).

The treasure trove that Prince left behind has been further plundered with the release of his earliest demos titled Originals. 

The collection was selected collaboratively by the Prince Estate and Jay-Z. After his death in 2016 it was noted that Prince had a back catalogue of over 3,000 songs so the posthumous releases should be rolling out for years to come.

With the recent re-issue of The Versace Experience – Prelude 2 Gold for Record Store Day, there is still plenty of exciting treasures to find in the vaults of such a prolific artist.

Before he passed Prince had been working on on a memoir titled The Beautiful Ones, which is set to be published by Random House as an unfinished work later this year. Furthermore, the estate have also posthumously released a deluxe edition of Purple Rain, as well as a demo album titled Piano & A Microphone 1983.

Originals will be released on June 7.