Get lost in the expansive prog-rhythms of Broken Hymns’ new EP Peyote

Walking into the music of Broken Hymns is like walking into some sprawling, elaborate labyrinths. Each of their songs branch out into new, unexpected sonic directions; and by following them, you’ll likely be left disorientated, but undeniably captivated.

With the release of their new EP Peyote, the Perth-based outfit further build their penchant for crafting expansive prog-rock gems that push firmly against the boundaries of genre. If you’re not already familiar with this band, we strongly recommend you change that.

On their new EP Peyote, Perth-based five-piece Broken Hymns craft an elaborate labyrinth of prog-rock brilliance.

Throughout the new EP, Broken Hymns—made up of vocalist Caleb Mader, bassist Tommy Lee, guitarist Cristian Sturm, guitarist Alex Watzek, and drummer Jess Lambert—glide through a mind-bending concoction of prog, alt-rock, metal, and punk to deliver something uniquely their own. With jarring rhythms, bone-rattling instrumentation, and arresting vocal melodies, Peyote is bursting at the seams with unbridled musical energy.

EP opener Change Me immediately establishes the band’s far-reaching sonic vision. The track expands and retracts, navigating a series of spell-binding auditory wormholes. One moment you’ll be floating along Mader’s droning vocals, and the next you’ll be locked in a dark, progressive groove.

From here, Broken Hymns pull in myriad directions—they never sit in one place for too long. Awful Fate is a huge, gloomy anthem that soars on bone-rattling arrangements. Psychowarfare is one of the EP’s most rhythmicly experimental tracks, while Voice Of The Voiceless builds steadily into something truly epic.

By the time the EP’s closing track Prevent The Descent fades back out of existence, you’ll have been completely transfixed by Broken Hymn’s unique brand of prog-rock.

These still may be early days for this Western Australian outfit, but judging by the quality of everything we’ve heard so far, I think we can safely expect plenty more great tunes.

In the meantime, do yourself a favour and listen to the new EP above.