Gorillaz release new album Cracker Island

The album has been highly anticipated by fans since the release of its title single, ‘Cracker Island ft. Thundercat’ in June last year.

Cracker Island, described by Rolling Stone UK as “out of this world”, is a genre-expansive collection of ten energetic and powerful songs. Produced by Gorillaz, Remi Kabaka Jr. and Grammy award-winning producer Greg Kurstin, the album features collaborations with a number of talented artists, including Bad Bunny, Stevie Nicks, Adeleye Omotayo, Thundercat, Tame Impala, Bootie Brown and Beck.

Following the release of ‘Cracker Island ft. Thundercat’, described by the New York Times as a “blissed-out groove”, Gorillaz shared ‘New Gold ft. Tame Impala & Bootie Brown’ while performing on their Gorillaz World Tour. The group then released videos for ‘Cracker Island ft. Thundercat’ andSilent Running ft. Adeleye Omotayo, both directed by Gorillaz co-creator Jamie Hewlett and Emmy-nominated Nexus Studios director, Fx Goby.

Credit: Gorillaz

Drummer Russel Hobbs described Cracker Island as “a 70s love letter to LA. Corduroy, big hair, pool parties, a different time when today was still a thousand tomorrows off”, with guitarist Noodle describing it as “a trip through many worlds, when I look back it already seems like some weird dream from another place and time”. 

“Every Gorillaz album is its own universe” said Murdoc, with 2D adding that “apart from nearly being sacrificed in a cult ceremony I really enjoyed making this album”.

Cracker Island can be purchased here.

Cracker Island track listing

  1. Cracker Island ft. Thundercat
  2. Oil ft. Stevie Nicks
  3. The Tired Influencer
  4. Tarantula
  5. Silent Running ft. Adeleye Omotayo
  6. New Gold ft. Tame Impala & Bootie Brown
  7. Baby Queen
  8. Tormenta ft. Bad Bunny
  9. Skinny Ape
  10. Possession Island ft. Beck