恩莫尔音频

Joni Mitchell - “蓝色”:为什么重要

乔尼·米切尔 蓝色 是永恒的杰作。 它的歌曲源于处理名声,以及与悲伤和新开始相关的感觉。

在1970中,如 琼妮蜜雪儿 正在处理新获得的名声,与她的关系结束 格雷厄姆纳什,并开始与詹姆斯泰勒的新恋情。 她写的歌曲将成为 蓝色 发自内心,亲自编写和制作整张专辑。

蓝色 它的音乐制作和暴露的抒情内容一样简单。 Joni Mitchell 决定在整张专辑中使用少于 10 种乐器的决定让这个深刻的真理声明无处可藏。 这是她广泛的职业生涯中最亲密和最诚实的工作。

孤独的画家

琼妮蜜雪儿 在加拿大艾伯塔省麦克劳德堡长大,她的家人四处迁徙,直到在萨斯卡通定居,她称之为家乡。 长大后,米切尔的主要兴趣是绘画,但对古典钢琴、吉他、 夏威夷四弦琴,和歌曲创作。 在感染了小儿麻痹症后——她住院了数周——她开始尝试使用其他调音方法来适应较弱的左手。 这些另类的调音将塑造她在整个职业生涯中的个人音乐选择。

仍然对艺术充满热情,米切尔在阿尔伯塔艺术学院学习,并在卡尔加里附近的民间俱乐部演奏她的音乐。 作为一个身无分文的艺术学生,她怀孕了。 知道留下她的孩子的后果,她决定把她的孩子送去收养。 在加拿大各地演出时,她遇到了 Scott 'Chuck' Mitchell,她向他倾诉她需要工作。 他说他可以让 Joni 在美国工作。

正如乔尼·米切尔在纪录片中所说,作为移民问题的解决方案,他们两人结婚了 Joni Mitchell:心灵的女人: “出于所有错误的原因“。 而关于走在过道上,她唯一的想法是,“我可以摆脱这一切”。

琼妮蜜雪儿

Mitchells 一起表演,但音乐上并不合适,Joni 觉得被 Chuck 控制金钱和表演所困。 他们于 1967 年离婚,乔尼搬到了纽约市。

Joni Mitchell 的艺术性总是给音乐界留下深刻印象,因为 David Geffen、Elliot Roberts 和 David Crosby 等人为 Mitchell 和她的民间音乐创造了机会。 1968 年首次亮相 给海鸥的歌 大卫克罗斯比担任制片人。 这是一张没有当时流行的民谣摇滚配音的个人原声专辑。 这张专辑取得了一定的成功,但更重要的是,人们都在关注她。

Joni Mitchell 的后续版本 很可能是她职业道路的核心,因为她制作了专辑中除了一首歌之外的所有歌曲并绘制了封面艺术。 获得格莱美最佳民谣表演奖,并在加拿大排行榜上攀升至第 22 位,在美国公告牌排行榜上攀升至第 31 位,其中包括这些歌曲 切尔西早上 和 双方,现在。 

名人峡谷中的女士

随着 Joni Mitchell 成长为一名艺术家,完善了她的歌曲创作和音乐风格,她发行了她的第三张录音室专辑 峡谷女士。 完全由米切尔制作——有更多的音乐家、配音和更复杂的声音,倾向于流行和摇滚制作——这张专辑收录了她最著名的三首歌曲(大黄色出租车,圆形游戏, 伍德斯托克) 调频广播迅速接受,从而创造了她的第一张金唱片。

这张专辑对 Joni Mitchell 来说是商业上的进步,让她在音乐和媒体上都成为焦点,因为它在加拿大和英国排名前 20,在澳大利亚和美国排名前 50。

迄今为止米切尔职业生涯中最大的单曲, 大黄出租车, 于 1970 年发行。这首流行抗议歌曲在澳大利亚的排行榜上排名第 11,在英国排名第 14,在她的祖国加拿大排名第 XNUMX——这首歌也被多次翻唱并作为单曲发行。

米切尔发现很难应对这个新获得的名声——她觉得自己被置于一个不稳定的基座上——所以她决定休一年的巡演和绘画。 正是在这个反思的时期,她能够有精神空间来写诚实、坦诚的歌曲以作为特色 蓝。

引用纪录片中的米切尔 Joni Mitchell:心灵的女人: “我对成名的关注感到不舒服,几乎觉得我必须对我的观众诚实,这样他们才能知道我是谁。”

画画的时间变成了欧洲之旅,发现自己在希腊为自己写了一些歌 蓝色 并决定结束与格雷厄姆·纳什在一起的时间,因为她会给他发电报说, “如果你把沙子抓得太紧,它会从你的手指间流过”。 

画蓝色

1971 年,许多女性发行了有影响力的专辑。 从贾尼斯乔普林到邦妮雷特,从卡莉西蒙到卡罗尔金,她的标志性 T挂饰 (米切尔在其中演唱了和声)。 同年的其他版本是 Elton John 的 过水狂人, 门 洛杉矶女人, 比尔威瑟斯 正如我一样, 滚石乐队 粘手指, 齐柏林飞艇队 齐柏林飞艇四号, 马林·盖伊 这是怎么回事, 和约翰列侬的 想象, 标志着新兴行业的音乐制作和技术的一个时刻。

不过, 蓝色 - 完全由 Joni Mitchell 编写和制作——她做出了一个强有力的决定,放弃了标志着上述版本和她之前作品的复杂制作, 峡谷女士。 她把所有东西都剥离了,以一种极简的制作风格; 她的声音,钢琴,吉他和阿巴拉契亚扬琴,詹姆斯·泰勒(James Taylor)担任四首歌曲的吉他手,斯蒂芬·斯蒂尔斯(Stephen Stills)担任贝斯手,吉他手则是 凯里,Russ Kunkel 在三首歌曲的基本鼓上和 Sneaky Pete Kleinnow 在两首歌曲的踏板钢上。 专辑的制作 与抒情的内容完美结合。 蓝色 展示了她作为词曲作者和制作人的最高才能,以框架和揭示她最亲密的个人真相。

这张专辑立即获得了成功。 在英国排行榜上排名第三,在加拿大排行榜上排名第九,在美国公告牌排行榜上排名第 15。 在世界范围内,它被收录在无数的有史以来的前 100 张专辑中,而 NPR(国家公共广播电台)声称它是有史以来由女性制作的最伟大的专辑

虽然大部分抒情内容都集中在爱情和不安全感上,但这首歌 小绿 是对米切尔在 1965 年放弃收养的女儿的颂歌,她在 1990 年代透露了这一点。 最初写于 1967 年,它是最后一分钟的补充 蓝色.

50 年后的专辑 蓝色 仍然是对勇敢和复杂的歌曲艺术的研究。 詹姆斯布莱克已经报道 你的情况 为了取得巨大成功,Jewel、Sara Bareilles、Prince、Bjork 和 Bob Dylan 等众多艺术家都将这张专辑作为灵感来源。

蓝色 是典型的 Joni Mitchell 专辑,因为它囊括了她所有最迷人的品质; 她忏悔而又崇高的歌曲创作,她作为一个自制艺术家的力量,以及她毫不费力地精明的音乐选择都包含在这首曲目中。

Enmore Audio

Joni Mitchell – ‘Blue’: Why It Mattered

Joni Mitchell’s Blue is a timeless masterpiece. Its songs arose from dealing with fame, and the sensations associated with grief and new beginnings.

In 1970, as Joni Mitchell was dealing with newfound fame, the end of her relationship with Graham Nash and the start of a new romance with James Taylor. She wrote the songs that would become Blue straight from the heart, writing and producing the entire album.

Blue is as simple in its musical production as it is in exposed lyrical content. Joni Mitchell’s decision to use less than 10 instruments across the album left nowhere to hide inside this profound statement of truth. It’s the most intimate and honest work of her extensive career.

Joni Mitchell

The lonely painter

Joni Mitchell grew up in Fort Macleod, Alberta, Canada and her family moved around until settling in Saskatoon, which she refers to as her hometown. Growing up, Mitchell’s main interest was painting but took an interest in music with classical piano, guitar, ukulele, and songwriting. After contracting Polio — which left her hospitalised for weeks — she began experimenting with alternative tunings to accommodate a weaker left hand. These alternative tunings would shape her individual musical choices throughout her career.

Still passionate about art, Mitchell studied at the Alberta College of Art and performed her music at folk clubs around Calgary. And as a penniless art student, she fell pregnant. Knowing the consequences of keeping her child, she decided to give her child away for adoption. Whilst performing around Canada she met Scott ‘Chuck’ Mitchell, to whom she confided that she needed work. He said he could get Joni to work in the United States. As a solution to an immigration problem, the two of them married and as Joni Mitchell says in the documentary Joni Mitchell: Woman of Heart and Mind:For all the wrong reasons“. And in respect to walking down the aisle, her only thoughts were, “I can get out of this”.

The Mitchells performed together, but it was not a good fit musically and Joni felt trapped by Chuck’s controlling of the money and performances. They divorced in 1967 and Joni moved to New York City.

Joni Mitchell’s artistry always impressed the music community as people like David Geffen, Elliot Roberts, and David Crosby were creating opportunities for Mitchell and her folk music. 1968 saw the debut release Song To A Seagull with David Crosby as producer. It’s a solo acoustic album with none of the folk-rock overdubs which were in vogue at the time. The album had moderate success, but people were watching her.

Joni Mitchell’s subsequent release Clouds may very well have been the nucleus for her career path as she produced all but one song on the album and painted the cover art. Clouds won a grammy for Best Folk Performance and climbed up the charts to number 22 on the Canadian charts and number 31 on the US Billboard charts, and featured the songs Chelsea Morning and Both Sides, Now. 

Lady in the canyon of fame

As Joni Mitchell was growing as an artist, refining her songwriting and her musical style, she released her third studio album Ladies of The Canyon. Produced entirely by Mitchell — with more musicians, overdubs and a more sophisticated sound leaning towards pop and rock production — this album hosted three of her most notable songs Big Yellow Taxi, The Circle Game, Woodstock, which FM radio briskly took to, resulting in her first Gold record.

This album was an upward progression commercially for Joni Mitchell and put her in the spotlight both musically and in the press, as it was in the top twenty in Canada and the UK and the top fifty in Australia and the US.

The biggest single in Mitchell’s career so far, Big Yellow Taxi, was released in 1970. This pop protest song reached number six on the charts in Australia, number 11 in the UK and number 14 in her home country of Canada — the song has also been covered and released as singles many times since.

Mitchell found it hard to deal with this newfound fame — she felt she was being put up on an unstable pedestal — so she decided to take a year off touring and paint. It was in this reflective time period she was able to have the mental space to write the honest, truth baring songs to be featured on Blue. To quote Mitchell from the documentary Joni Mitchell: Woman of Heart and Mind: “I felt uncomfortable with the attention of fame, and almost felt like I had to be honest to my audience so they knew who I was.”

The time off for painting turned itself into a European trip, finding herself in Greece to pen some of the songs for Blue and make the decision to end her time with Graham Nash, as she would telegram him and say “If you hold sand too tightly, it will run through your fingers”. 

Painting the colour blue

1971 saw many women release influential albums. From Janis Joplin, Bonnie Raitt, Carly Simon, to Carole King with her iconic Tapestry (on which Mitchell sang backing vocals). Other releases in the same year from Elton John’s Madman Across The Water, The Doors’ L.A. Woman, Bill Withers’ Just As I Am, The Rolling Stones’ Sticky Fingers, Led Zeppelin’s Led Zeppelin IV, Marin Gaye’s What’s Going On and John Lennon’s Imagine marked a moment in music production and technology in music.

However, for Blue — entirely written and produced by Joni Mitchell — she made the powerful decision to step away from the sophisticated production that marked the aforementioned releases and her previous work, Ladies of The Canyon. She stripped everything away for a minimal production style; her voice, piano, guitar, and Appalachian dulcimer, with James Taylor on guitar for four songs, Stephen Stills on bass and guitar on Carey, Russ Kunkel on basic drums for three songs and Sneaky Pete Kleinnow on pedal steel on two songs. The album’s production marries beautifully with the lyrical content. Blue shows the highest form of her talent as a songwriter and producer to frame and reveal her most intimate personal truths.

The album was met with instant success. Number three on the UK charts, number nine on the Canadian charts, and number 15 on the US Billboard charts. Across the world, it has been featured in countless Top 100 albums of all time and NPR (National Public Radio) claims its the greatest album made by a woman of all time

While most of the lyrical content is focused on love and feelings of insecurity, the song Little Green is an ode to the daughter Mitchell gave up for adoption in 1965 which she revealed in the 1990s. Originally written in 1967 it was a last-minute addition to Blue.

50 years on and the album Blue still remains a study of brave and sophisticated songcraft. James Blake has covered A Case of You to great success and a diverse range of artists like Jewel, Sara Bareilles, Prince, Bjork and Bob Dylan have cited the album as an inspiration.

Blue is the quintessential Joni Mitchell album, as it encapsulates all of her most alluring qualities: her confessional yet sublime songwriting, her power as a self-produced artist, and her effortlessly astute musical choices are all contained within this collection of tracks.