Film and TV

‘The Bear’ award winning soundtrack is an integral part of its narrative – check out the full list

Cousins, Television has never been this good, check out the full list of ‘The Bear’ soundtrack

Securing a win for the best television score at the 2024 Golden Globes, ‘The Bear’ isn’t just a gripping show; it’s also becoming a notable influencer in the music scene.

As the creators, Christopher Storer and executive producer Josh Senior, showcase their knack for selecting the perfect tunes, ‘The Bear’ emerges as a standout on the television landscape.

the bear full soundtrack list

Both Storer and Senior, fans of Pearl Jam and R.E.M., seamlessly weave the musical essence of these iconic bands into ‘The Bear.’ Chicago’s own cousins Wilco, play a key role in shaping the show’s atmosphere.

Reflecting on their hands-on approach to music supervision, Storer shared via a chat with Variety, “What’s cool about doing the music supervision work ourselves is that we can give the artists the full picture. We try to explain why the music is personal to us and why it fits the scene.”

Live performances inject authenticity into the show, with Episode 9 featuring a meaningful conversation set to Pearl Jam’s “Come Back” from a live Chicago performance. Storer notes, “Picking music for Season 1 felt like that was the music these characters would listen to in ‘The Bear.'”

Senior adds a down-to-earth touch, saying, “We try not to pick cool music. We want stuff we love that feels right for the show. It’s about being authentic and letting the work speak for itself.”

The carefully curated Season 1 soundtrack features a mix of alternative legends—Refused, Wilco, The Breeders, REM, and Radiohead—alongside tracks from Van Morrison, John Mayer, and more. The secong season of ‘The Bear’ continued with a diverse lineup, including Bruce Hornsby & The Range, Steve Earle, Mavis Staples, R.E.M., and various classic and contemporary artists.

In this way, “The Bear’ stands out as an authentic storyteller, using music not just as a backdrop but as an integral part of its narrative.

Check out the ‘The Bear’ soundtrack to both season one and two below:

Season one:

  • ‘New Noise’ – Refused
  • ‘Old Engine Oil’ – The Budos Band
  • ‘Don’t Give A Damn’ – Serengeti
  • ‘Don’t Blame Steve’ – Serengeti
  • ‘Via Chicago’ – Wilco
  • ‘Bulls On Parade for Orchestra’ – Walt Riberio
  • ‘Animal’ – Pearl Jam
  • ‘Rocco And His Brothers’ – Mi Loco Tango
  • ‘Ajai Finale’ – Kenny Segal & Serengeti
  • ‘Black Venom’ – The Budos Band
  • ‘Have You Seen Me Lately?’ – Counting Crows
  • ‘Saint Dominic’s Preview’ – Van Morrison
  • ‘Saints’ – The Breeders
  • ‘The Dream Is Always The Same’ – Tangerine Dream
  • ‘In Too Deep’ – Genesis
  • ‘Heat Not Heat’ – Serengeti
  • ‘Oh My Heart’ – REM
  • ‘One Fine Day’ – David Bryne & Brian Eno
  • ‘Help Me, Rhonda’ – The Beach Boys
  • ‘Loved By You’ – KIRBY
  • ‘Check It Out’ – John Mellencamp
  • ‘Wish I Was’ – Kim Deal
  • ‘Da Doo Ron Ron’ – The Crystals
  • ‘Sisyphus’ – Andrew Bird
  • ‘Impossible Germany’ – Wilco
  • ‘Call The Police’ – LCD Soundsystem
  • ‘Beat City’ – The Flowerpot Men
  • ‘Peace Blossom Boogy’ – The Babe Rainbow
  • ‘Aphasia’ – The Budos Band
  • ‘Last Train Home’ – John Mayer
  • ‘Chicago’ – Sufjan Stevens
  • ‘Spiders (Kidsmoke)’ – Wilco
  • ‘Homicide’ – 999
  • ‘Sashimi’ – Serengeti
  • ‘Let Down’ – Radiohead

Season two: 

  • ‘The Show Goes On’ – Bruce Hornsby & The Range
  • ‘Handshake Drugs’ – Wilco
  • ‘Transcendental Blues’ – Steve Earle
  • ‘New Noise’ – Refused
  • ‘She Drives Me Crazy’ – Fine Young Cannibals
  • ‘Baby, I’m A Big Star Now’ – Counting Crows
  • ‘You Are Not Alone’ – Mavis Staples
  • ‘Strange Currencies’ – R.E.M
  • ‘Goodbye Girl’ – Squeeze
  • ‘Secret Teardrops’ – Martin Rev
  • ‘Twenty Five Miles’ – Edwin Starr
  • ‘Future Perfect’ – The Durutti Column
  • ‘Make You Happy’ – Tommy McGee
  • ‘I Like The Things About Me’ – Mavis Staples
  • ‘Holiday Road’ – Lindsey Buckingham
  • ‘I’ve Been Loving You Too Long (To Stop Now) [Live] – Otis Redding
  • ‘Tezeta’ – Mulatu Astatke
  • ‘Beneath The Surface’ – Bob Bradley & Mia Bradley
  • ‘Welcome’ – Harmonia & Eno ‘76
  • ‘Bastards Of Young’ – The Replacements
  • ‘Anytime’ – Neil Finn
  • ‘Pretty In Pink’ – The Psychedelic Furs
  • ‘Tonight Tonight’ – Smashing Pumpkins
  • ‘Before The Next Teardrop Falls’ – Freddy Fender
  • ‘Can’t Hardly Wait’ – The Replacements
  • ‘It’s The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year’ – Andy Williams
  • ‘All Alone on Christmas’ – Darlene Love
  • ‘Merry Christmas (I Don’t Want To Fight Tonight)’ – Ramones
  • ‘Got My Mind Set On You’ – George Harrison
  • ‘The Little White Duck’ – Dorothy Olsen
  • ‘Dominick The Donkey’ – Lou Monte
  • ‘I Want You’ – Lindsey Buckingham
  • ‘A Marshmallow World’ – Dean Martin
  • ‘Something So Wrong’ – Crowded House
  • ‘The Things We Did Last Summer’ – Dean Martin
  • ‘The Christmas Song’ – Weezer
  • ‘Glass Concrete & Stone’ – David Byrne
  • ‘Diamond Diary’ – Tangerine Dream
  • ‘Love Story (Taylor’s Version)’ – Taylor Swift
  • ‘Lay My Love’ – Brian Eno and John Cale
  • ‘Stop Your Sobbing’ – Pretenders
  • ‘The Crane Wife 3’ – The Decemberists
  • ‘The Day The World Went Away’ – Nine Inch Nails
  • ‘New Noise’ – Refused
  • ‘Come Back (Live)’ – Pearl Jam
  • ‘If You Want Blood’ – AC/DC
  • ‘Supernova’ – Liza Phair
  • ‘Velouria’ – The Pixies
  • ‘Vega-Tables’ – Brian Wilson
  • ‘Spiders (Kidsmoke)’ – Wilco
  • ‘Animal’ – Pearl Jam
  • ‘Half A World Away’ – R.E.M