News

The Beards are calling it quits and they’ve announced a massive 35 date farewell tour to say goodbye

It’s a sad day for bearded folk around the world. The most successful beard-focused band to grace the world stage, your mates The Beards, have announced they will be calling it quits.

the beards breakup

The band posted on their Facebook this morning:

“BIG NEWS GUYS! As of next year, we will no longer be active as a touring band. We are hanging up the touring boots and focusing our time and energy on “Phase Two” of our pro-beard operation, but not before we do a massive farewell tour of Australia & New Zealand in 2016 to say thank you to everyone who’s come out to see us over the years.”

Although it is at the moment unclear what “Phase Two” entails, we can only assume it will be something of beauty.

Fans of the band will be treated to a 35-date tour to say farewell, set taking place between January and July. The tour will be split into two distinct parts, one being a stripped back acoustic show, the second will be their usual live rock ‘n’ roll show in all its beardy glory. Check out all the dates below:

Wed 20 Jan – WEST TAMWORTH LEAGUES, TAMWORTH COUNTRY MUSIC FESTIVAL NSW
Sat 06 Feb – HOUGHTON FESTIVAL, HOUGHTON SA
Sat 13 Feb – MEATSTOCK, SYDNEY SHOWGROUNDS NSW
Thu 25 Feb – ROYAL OAK HOTEL, LAUNCESTON TAS
Fri 26 Feb – WARATAH HOTEL, HOBART TAS
Sat 27 Feb – RED HOT MUSIC, DEVONPORT TAS
Fri 11 Mar – BAR INDIGO (LEISURE INN), ROCKINGHAM WA
Sat 12 Mar – ROSEMOUNT HOTEL, PERTH WA
Sun 13 Mar – WINTERSUN HOTEL, GERALDTON WA
Fri 15 Apr – BODEGA, WELLINGTON NZ
Sat 16 Apr – KINGS ARMS TAVERN, AUCKLAND NZ
Wed 20 Apr – PIER HOTEL, ESPERANCE WA
Thu 21 Apr – THE WHITE STAR, ALBANY WA
Fri 22 Apr – DUNSBOROUGH TAVERN, DUNSBOROUGH WA
Sat 23 Apr – PRINCE OF WALES, BUNBURY WA
Wed 11 May – YARELLA SPORTS CLUB, GLADSTONE QLD
Thu 12 May – LIONLEIGH HOTEL, ROCKHAMPTON QLD
Fri 13 May – MAGNUM’S, AIRLIE BEACH QLD
Sat 14 May – DALRYMPLE HOTEL, TOWNSVILLE QLD
Sun 15 May – THE JACK, CAIRNS QLD
Sat 21 May – JIVE BAR, ADELAIDE SA
Wed 25 May – THE LOFT, WARRNAMBOOL VIC
Thu 26 May – THE GOLDEN VINE, BENDIGO VIC
Fri 27 May – SS & A CLUB, ALBURY NSW
Sat 28 May – THE AREA HOTEL, GRIFFITH NSW
Thu 9 June – RAILWAY CLUB HOTEL, DARWIN, NT
Fri 10 June – RAILWAY CLUB HOTEL, DARWIN, NT
Sat 11 June – KATHERINE HOTEL, KATHERINE, NT
Wed 15 Jun – THE SPOTTED COW, TOOWOOMBA QLD
Thu 16 Jun – THE SOUNDLOUNGE, GOLD COAST QLD
Fri 17 Jun – SOL BAR, MAROOCHYDORE QLD
Sat 18 Jun – THE TRIFFID, BRISBANE QLD
Thu 23 Jun – KAROVA LOUNGE, BALLARAT VIC
Fri 24 Jun – THE BARWON CLUB, GEELONG VIC
Sat 25 Jun – CORNER HOTEL, MELBOURNE VIC
Thu 30 Jun – BEACHCOMBER HOTEL, TOUKLEY NSW
Fri 01 Jul – THE CAMBRIDGE HOTEL, NEWCASTLE NSW
Sat 02 Jul – THE METRO, SYDNEY NSW

The band say there are still more dates to be announced.