This new compilation collects oddball music from Australia and New Zealand in the 70’s and 80’s

Left Ear Records have announced a new compilation album showcasing little-known Australian and New Zealand music from 1970’s and 80’s.

Titled Antipodean Anomalies, the new compilation will feature nine tracks curated by label founder Chris Bonato and Umut Turkeri.

A new nine-track compilation album from Left Ear Records will collect oddball music from Australia and New Zealand in the 70’s and 80’s.

During the 70’s and 80’s, Antipodean nations like Australia and New Zealand were geographically isolated from the rest of the world, and this isolation allowed smaller community-focused scenes to evolve and craft their own unique reimagining of outside influences.

Across the nine tracks, the collected music will meld cutting edge computer technology with traditional sounds. We’re talking everything from Estonian folk songs to Maori tribe field recordings.

The compilation will be released on LP on August 31st, which you can pre-order now here.

For now, listen to Rainbow Generator’s City Of The Sun above, and suss out the full track list below:

1. Olev Muska – Karjapoisi Lugu (A Shepherd’s Tale)
2. Delaney/Venn – Cub Dub
3. Free Radicals – Don’t Ask
4. Toy Division – Melbourne Winter
5. Ngahiwi Apanui – He Whakapapa
6. Errol H. Tout – Metaphoric Allusions
7. Nic Lyon – Woody
8. Helen Ripley-Marshall – Green Chaos
9. Rainbow Generator – City Of The Sun

Via Vinyl Factory.