An all-female Tom Waits tribute album is coming in November

Phoebe Bridgers, Aimee Mann, Angie McMahon and Patty Griffin have been named as just a few of the artists who will feature on an all-female tribute album for iconic American musician Tom Waits.

Come On Up to the House: Women Sing Waits will be released on November 22, featuring 12 of Wait’s iconic tracks spanning across all 46 years of his incredible career as a recording artist.

A new all-female Tom Waits tribute album will feature an array of incredible artists including Phoebe Bridgers, Aimee Mann, Angie McMahon and Patty Griffin.

The album was produced by artist, author and performer Warren Zanes, whose personal essay on Waits is included in the album’s liner notes.

The record label Dualtone Music Group have released two of the lead singles off the album to give us a quick sneak peek. Catch below Patty Griffin’s cover of Ruby’s Arms off Waits’ 1980 Heartattack and Vine album as well as a cover of Downtown Train from the 1985 record Rain Dogs by Courtney Marie Andrews.

Speaking of Come On Up to the House: Women Sing Waits, CEO of Dualtone Scott Robinson said in a statement:

“Tom is a true original as a songwriter, singer and arranger. There’s just no one like him. Beneath some of the layers of sound and his truly unique vocal phrasing, are some of the most beautiful and heartfelt songs I’ve ever heard.

After some great creative discussions many years back with an old publishing colleague, the concept of focusing on the sheer beauty of these songs by having them interpreted by a group of amazing artists with stunning voices, was a must-do project.

Fast forward fifteen years later, we were thrilled with the passion and enthusiasm these artists showed when we approached them with the idea, which you can hear in their performances. Truly a musical celebration.”

TRACKLIST: Come On Up to the House: Women Sing Waits

01 Joseph: Come On Up to the House
02 Aimee Mann: Hold On
03 Phoebe Bridgers: Georgia Lee
04 Shelby Lynne & Allison Moorer: Ol’ 55
05 Angie McMahon: Take It With Me
06 Corinne Bailey Rae: Jersey Girl
07 Patty Griffin: Ruby’s Arms
08 Rosanne Cash: Time
09 Kat Edmonson: You Can Never Hold Back Spring
10 Iris Dement: House Where Nobody Lives
11 Courtney Marie Andrews: Downtown Train
12 The Wild Reeds: Tom Traubert’s Blues