​ ​
Gorrillaz are a virtual, trip hop band who formed in London in 1998 by Blur frontman Damon Albarn and artist Jamie Hewlett. The band primarily consists of four animated members: Stuart “2-D” Pot, Murdoc Niccals, Noodle, and Russel Hobbs. In reality Albarn is the only primary contributor.
The Gorillaz self titled debut album went triple platinum in Europe and earned an entry in the Guinness Book of World Records for Most Successful Virtual Band. Gorillaz second album Demon Days (2005) went six times platinum in the UK and twice platinum in the US via Parlophone Records.
Gorillaz have since released four more album with 2018s The Now Now being the most recent and have accumulatively sold 20 million records worldwide.