Baker Boy and Mojo Juju win big at the 2019 National Indigenous Music Awards

The 16th National Indigenous Music Awards took place on Saturday night in Darwin, with Baker Boy and Mojo Juju taking out some of the night’s biggest awards.

Baker Boy, who won last year’s Best New Talent award, was awarded Artist of the Year. Over the past year, Baker Boy, a Yolngu-speaking hip-hop artist from Yurrwi in Arnhem Land, has gone from strength to strength, being named 2019 Young Australian of the Year and appearing on Play School’s Welcome To Country episode for Naidoc Week.

baker boy, mojo juju, national indigenous music awards
Image: Facebook

Baker Boy takes out Artist of the Year and Mojo Juju wins Album of the Year at the 2019 National Indigenous Music Awards

ARIA-nominated Wiradjuri artist Mojo Juju took out two of her four nominations, winning Album of the Year and Song of The Year for her album Native Tongue and its title track. The album, released in 2018, offers up a captivating critique of Australian cultural identity through a deeply personal exploration of her own family history.

The National Indigenous Music Awards have solidified themselves as an important landmark in the landscape of Australian music, bringing together up-and-coming Indigenous artists with those, like Jessica Mauboy and Gurrumul, who have already achieved international acclaim.

Speaking before the ceremony, National Indigenous Music Awards Reference Group Chair, Warren H. Williams commented: “In the past year, Indigenous music has continued its meteoric rise to the top of music in Australia, pushing boundaries and finding its place at the forefront of art in our country.”

Other award recipients include Melbourne songstress Kaiit, who took out New Talent of the Year, and Briggs who won Film Clip of the Year for his Life Is Incredible, whilst Deni Mobwon Community Clip of the Year.

See the full list of 2019 winners below!


Artist of the Year

Archie Roach
Baker Boy — WINNER
Electric Fields
Jessica Mauboy
Mojo Juju

Album of the Year

Archie Roach – The Concert Collection 2012 – 2018
Dan Sultan – Aviary Tales
Mojo Juju – Native Tongue — WINNER
Tia Gostelow – Thick Skin
Thelma Plum – Better In Blak

Song of the Year

Baker Boy – Black Magic
Electric Fields – 2000 and Whatever
Mojo Juju – Native Tongue — WINNER
Tasman Keith (ft Stevie Jean) – Prey
Yirrmal – For Everyone

New Talent of the Year

Dallas Woods
Kaiit — WINNER
Kobie Dee
Mambali Band
Tasman Keith

Film Clip of the Year

Briggs – Life Is Incredible — WINNER
Mojo Juju – Native Tongue
Tasman Keith (ft Stevie Jean) – Prey
Thelma Plum – Better In Blak
Yirrmal – For Everyone

Community Clip of the Year

Deni Mob – State Of The Heart — WINNER
Peppi School – Play Good Way
Numbulwar School Band – What’s The Reason?
Tiwi College – Picka Family