D’Angelo and Josh Homme feature on the Red Dead Redemption 2 soundtrack

The Red Dead Redemption 2 soundtrack has been announced and it’s jam-packed with amazing artists.

The Music of Red Dead Redemption 2: Original Soundtrack, produced by Grammy award-winning Danny Lanois, will be released on July 12th.

The soundtrack for Red Dead Redemption 2 will be released on July 12th, it features new material from D’Angelo, Josh Homme and Willie Nelson.

American video game publisher, Rockstar Games, managed to get new material for the game from D’Angelo for the first time in four years in a track called Unshaken. Additionally, Willie Nelson and Josh Homme are also included in the line up with their own separate renditions of Cruel World.  The record also features music from Lanois, Rhiannon Giddens, Daryl Johnson, Rocco DeLuca, Joseph Maize and Darryl Hatcher.

When talking about DeLuca’s track, Crash and Burn, Lanois describes it as“a defiant mantra of faith and values, preaching balance in the most turbulent of times.”

Lanois also talks about the freedom he experienced while creating the soundtrack, “Red Dead Redemption 2’ provided a terrific compositional space, vast and covering a range of emotional textures—a real place for my imagination to run wild… From recording with Rhiannon Giddens in Nashville, to New Orleans with my friend Cyril Neville, to New York City with D’Angelo, to Willie Nelson and Josh Homme, the inspiration never quit!”

Take a look at the tracklist below:

The Music of Red Dead Redemption 2: Original Soundtrack 

01. Unshaken – D’Angelo
02. Moonlight – Daniel Lanois, Daryl Johnson, Joseph Maize, Darryl Hatcher and Rhiannon Giddens
03. That’s The Way It Is – Daniel Lanois
04. Mountain Finale – Daniel Lanois
05. Crash of Worlds – Rocco DeLuca
06. Cruel World – Willie Nelson
07. Red – Daniel Lanois
08. Mountain Hymn – Rhiannon Giddens
09. Mountain Banjo – Rhiannon Giddens
10. Table Top – Daniel Lanois
11. Love Come Back – Daniel Lanois
12. Oh My Lovely – Daniel Lanois
13. Cruel World – Josh Homme