Floating Points set to release his second album Crush this October

Floating Points set to release his second album Crush this October

Synth pioneer Floating Points (aka Sam Shepard) has just announced the release of his second LP Crush, which will be released on October 18 via Ninja Tune. This will mark his first album in four years, following his acclaimed album Elaenia which dropped in 2015.

Crush will be Floating Points’ first album in four years and will be released via London label Ninja Tune.

The 12-track album was made over a five week period and will feature lead singles LesAlpx and Last Bloom, which were both released in June this year. The new album was inspired by his improv skills whilst performing opening shows for The xx in 2017. After touring with a live ensemble, Shepard played the The xx opening shows solo with only a Buchla synthesiser.

In a press release, Shepard said that he thought he would play “really melodic and slow building music” but instead it was “some of the most obtuse and aggressive music I’ve ever made, in front of 20,000 people every night – it was liberating”. 

Along with this album announcement comes the video accompaniment for the hypnotic track Last Bloom, which is equally driving and dripping in synthesised effects. Teaming up with production organisation Hamill Industries for the clip, the process was expanded in a statement:

“Filmed over thirty days, Last Bloom takes us through a mesmerising journey that highlights the juxtaposition of textures so central to Floating Points’ compositions, with emphasis on its ties with nature”. 

You can catch Floating Points doing the summer festival rounds this year with appearances at Beyond The Valley, Last Dance and Sun Cycle NYD.

Check out the full Crush tracklist and video for Last Bloom below:


01 Falaise
02 Last Bloom
03 Anasickmodular
04 Requiem for CS70 and Strings
05 Karakul
06 LesAlpx
07 Bias
08 Environments
09 Birth
10 Sea-Watch
11 Apoptose Pt.1
12 Apoptose Pt.2