Hear the first 4 tracks from Bon Iver and The National’s new collab project Big Red Machine

Knowing full well that there’s a huge crossover between fans of The National and Bon Iver, here’s some news that probably made a few enthusiasts piss their pants.

Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon and Aaron Dessner of The National have announced their new collaborative project dubbed Big Red Machine and shared four tracks from their upcoming self-titled album together.

Graham Tolbert big red machine justin vernon aaron dessner the national bon Iver
Photo: Graham Tolbert

Like The National? Love Bon Iver? Chances are you’ll go weak at the knees for Big Red Machine, a new project headed by Justin Vernon and Aaron Dessner.

The four tracks released today are GratitudeLylaHymnostic, and Forest Green, and the pedigree is most definitely heard. It’s leaning more towards the tightly produced 22, A Million sphere of things on a first listen, but I’m sure more of Dessner’s character will shine through in time.

Aaron Dessner is the primary songwriter for The National (with lead singer Matt Berninger writing the bulk of their lyrics), a composer and multi-instrumentalist in his own right.

Listen to the four new tracks below.

Big Red Machine’s self-titled debut album will be released August 31st via JagJaguwar. A full tracklisting plus pre-order links for CD and vinyl can be found on Bandcamp.

Via Consequence of Sound.