新闻中心

毕加索为女儿制作的从未见过的“如何绘画”书籍即将展出

毕加索为他的大女儿玛雅制作的“如何绘画”书籍已被发现,并将在巴黎博物馆展出。

想象一下被 20 世纪最伟大的艺术家之一教如何绘画? 想象一下,那个伟大的艺术家是你的父亲。 Pablo Picasso 为他的女儿 Maya Ruiz-Picasso 精心创作,这可能是有史以来最酷的“如何绘画”书籍。

在她五岁的时候,玛雅的父亲为他的女儿制作了一些非常引人入胜、深思熟虑和有教育意义的练习册来学习如何绘画。 填充 这些书页上充满了色彩缤纷、有趣的图像、动物、小丑、杂技演员和鸽子,所有这些都是为了教他的女儿如何使用颜色和形式。

巴勃罗毕加索,玛雅人,
巴勃罗·毕加索,玛雅,杰奎琳,凯瑟琳,1955 年。照片:马克·肖

他的孙女戴安娜·维德迈尔-鲁伊斯-毕加索在翻看家里的储藏室时偶然发现了这些作品。 发现它们动人又美丽,她把它们展示给现年 86 岁的母亲,许多美好的回忆如潮水般涌来。

Widmaier-Ruiz-Picasso 告诉 观察员: “她说,‘当然,那些是我小时候的速写本’。 我们在家庭中往往很形象,所以她立刻就陷入了那个时代。 这是一个非常感人的时刻,不仅因为你在谈论最伟大的艺术家之一,还因为它让它变得非常人性化。 我很兴奋。 然后我就被感动了。”

毕加索的父亲是一位绘画教授,所以他很自然地也以同样的方式教他的女儿,Widmaier-Ruiz-Picasso 也分享道: “有一个漂亮的页面,他在画一个碗,她在画一个碗。 有时她在做一个图像,而他在做另一个,向她展示正确的方法。 有时他们会描绘不同的场景。 其他时候,他会画一只狗或一顶帽子。 有时他会用整页来画一个特定的东西。 其他时候,他在描绘某些场景,马戏团的场景。 这非常有趣。”

毕加索和玛雅
照片:卫报

巴黎毕加索博物馆的新藏品包括优雅的鸟类折纸雕塑,他从他的一些原始展览邀请中为玛雅带来了生命,以及他的 许多玛雅人的肖像、个人财产和照片,以及他为女儿制作的速写本,都是第一次展出。 

毕加索和玛雅
照片:卫报

玛雅非常怀念她的父亲 “我仍然记得我们在厨房见面并一起画画的那些时刻。 这是公寓里唯一温暖的地方。”

毕加索展览巴黎
照片:卫报

在为展览创作的随附书中,玛雅写道: “谁在看毕加索的画布时从未听过它说,‘一个孩子可以做到这一点!’ 20世纪的许多艺术革命都招来了嘲讽和丑闻,这是事实,但在毕加索的案例中,这种判断却隐含着一丝真实。 正如他的第一个女儿玛雅回忆的那样,“生命的奥秘,因此童年的奥秘,总是让我的父亲充满兴趣”。

新的 玛雅·鲁伊斯-毕加索,巴勃罗之女, 在展览 巴黎毕加索博物馆 一直持续到 31 月 XNUMX 日。

News

Never before seen ‘How to Draw’ books that Picasso made for his daughter are set to go on display

‘How to Draw’ books that Picasso made for his eldest daughter Maya, have been discovered and are set to go on display in a Paris Museum.

Imagine being taught how to draw by one of the greatest artists of the 20th Century? Imagine also, that great artist was your dad. Pablo Picasso lovingly created for his daughter Maya Ruiz-Picasso, what might just be the coolest ‘how to draw’ books ever created.

When she was just five years old, Maya’s father made some very engaging, thoughtful, and educational workbooks for his daughter to learn how to draw. Filling the books with pages of colourful, playful imagery, animals, clowns, acrobats, and doves, all designed to teach his daughter how to use colour, and form.

Pablo Picasso, Maya,
Pablo Picasso, Maya, Jacqueline, Catherine, 1955. Photo: Mark Shaw

His granddaughter, Diana Widmaier-Ruiz-Picasso, found the works by chance while looking through the family’s storage. Finding them touching and beautiful she showed them to her mother, now 86, for whom many fond memories came flooding back.

Widmaier-Ruiz-Picasso told the Observer: “She said, ‘Of course, those are my sketchbooks when I was little”. We tend to be very visual in the family so immediately she was plunged into that time. It was a very moving moment, not only because you’re talking about one of the greatest artists but also because it made it very human. I was excited. Then I was moved.”

Picasso had been taught to draw by his father, a professor of drawing, so it came very naturally to him to also teach his daughter in the same way, Widmaier-Ruiz-Picasso also shared: “There’s a beautiful page where he’s drawing a bowl and she’s drawing a bowl. Sometimes she’s making an image and he’s doing another, showing her the right way to do it. Sometimes they would depict different scenes. Other times, he would draw a dog or a hat. Sometimes he’s using the whole page to draw one particular thing. Other times, he’s depicting certain scenes, scenes of the circus. It’s very interesting.”

picasso and maya
Photo: Guardian

The new collection at the  Musée Picasso Paris includes elegant origami sculptures of birds that he brought to life for Maya from some of his original exhibition invites, and his many portraits of Maya, personal possessions, and photographs, along with the sketchbooks that he made for his daughter, are being shown for the first time. 

picasso and maya
Photo: Guardian

Maya remembers her father with great fondness “I still have fond memories of those moments when we met up in the kitchen to draw together. It was the only place in the apartment where it was warm.”

picasso exhibit paris
Photo: Guardian

In the accompanying book created for the exhibition, Maya writes: “Who has never heard it said when looking at a canvas by Picasso, ‘A child could have done that!’ Many of the artistic revolutions of the 20th century were greeted with mockery and scandal, it is true, but in Picasso’s case, there is a hint of truth in that judgment. As Maya, his first daughter, recalls, ‘the mystery of life, and therefore of childhood, always filled that father of mine with interest’.”

The Maya Ruiz-Picasso, daughter of Pablo, exhibition at the Musée Picasso Paris runs until the 31st of December.