Premiere: Rowena Wise heals old wounds on new single ‘We Are Nothing’

“[We Are Nothing] is about trying to open yourself up,” Rowena Wise said of the new preview of her just-announced album. 

Rowena Wise’s new single We Are Nothing is premiering today on Happy Mag. Lifted from her forthcoming album Senseless Acts of Beauty, We Are Nothing (28 February), is carried by propulsive percussion and whirring atmospherics, as bound by Wise’s ever-wistful vocals.

Later, fuzzy guitar melodies and a climactic chorus bring We Are Nothing to euphoric heights, as Wise reflects on remaining present even amid past traumas. 

Rowena Wise single 'We Are Nothing'
Credit: Nick Mckk

“We are nothing,” Wise croons on the ascendant hook, “nothing but the moment we’re in.” Speaking of We Are Nothing in a press statement, Wise said “the song is about trying to open yourself up.”

The Melbourne-based artist continued: “I’ve been questioning my selfhood lately and started to notice that my thoughts can come and go outside of my control. I’ve realised that I can’t be the sum of my thoughts.” 

The single was produced by Robert Muiños, with a band that included drummer Jess Ellwood, bassist Rich Bradbeer and guitarist Matt Dixon.

Rowena Wise single 'We Are Nothing'
Credit: Nick Mckk

“The music was synonymous with the sentiment of the song,” Wise said of the production process. We Are Nothing follows New Years and Nobody’s Saviour as the third single to be lifted from Wise’s upcoming debut album. 

Set for release on May 10, Senseless Acts of Beauty was also produced by Muiños, and is said to capture the energy of Wise’s live shows with the assist of her band.

The album will be a reflection of the artist herself, delivering a body of work that feels both human and vital. Wise is inspired by the storytelling sensibilities of 60s folk, bringing an indie flair to her heartfelt tales of all life’s wonders and messes.

Listen to We Are Nothing below.