Record Store Day 2019: Courntey Barnett and Midnight Oil announce exclusive releases

Wax collectors and vinyl vultures alike will be celebrating Record Store Day on Saturday, April 13th.

To add to the radiance of incredible releases already announced, a further list of one-off exclusives has been announced by some of Australia’s greatest artists.

The Record Store Day gods have smiled upon us, delivering an incredible line up of one-off Australian exclusives including Midnight Oil and Courtney Barnett.

The toast will include Aussie legends such as Midnight Oil, The Birthday Party, Bob Evans, Jebediah and Broderick Smith, offering up some much-welcomed re-issues and new material alike. To add icing to the cake are some of the hottest modern treasures such as Courtney Barnett, The Amity Affliction, Hockey Dad and Tash Sultana.

Perhaps the most exciting is a previously unreleased tune from Barnett titled Everybody Here Hates You on 12′, with Small Talk on the B-side. Furthermore, the art is hand illustrated by Courtney herself.

Catch all of the juicy details on the rest of the artists below.

Record Store Day 2019 Australian Exclusive Releases

Bob Evans ‘Suburban Songbook’ YELLOW LP:
The very first time on vinyl for the ARIA Awards winning solo album ‘Suburban Songbook’ from Jebediah’s front man. Released as a Record Store Day exclusive on limited edition yellow vinyl.

Broderick Smith ‘Suitcase’ LP:
Originally released in 1992, this is the first pressing for this 12″ vinyl album re-release from the iconic Australian singer and bluesman. Follows the successful auto-biographical book release in 2018.

Courtney Barnett ‘Everybody Here Hates You’ 12″:
‘Everybody Here Hates You’ is a brand new track from Courtney that is an exclusive release for RSD with a track released last year ‘Small Talk’ as the B-Side. The artwork is hand illustrated by Courtney herself.

Hard Ons ‘Harder & Harder’ 7″:
‘Harder & Harder’ is the first single from the legendary Australian band the Hard-Ons forthcoming album to be released later this year, the first recordings since the early 2000’s with Keish back on vocals.

Hockey Dad ‘Dreamin’ 12″:
Re-issue theband’ss debut ep ‘Dreamin’ on limited splatter vinyl for the day with bonus track, their cover of The Vines ‘Get Free’.

Jebediah ‘Of Someday Shambles’ 2LP:
This release features the original 13 track album plus two bonus tracks on opaque purple violet coloured vinyl.

Johnny Diesel & The Injectors ‘Johnny Diesel & The Injectors’ 2LP:
Johnny Diesel & The Injectors is the eponymous debut album by Diesel, originally released in 1989, the album has been lovingly remastered on 2LP, 45RPM heavyweight vinyl. Absolutely no reason to cry in shame adding this to your collection!

Midnight Oil ‘Pleasure Island, Live’ RED/WHITE 2LP:
Recorded live on 1/19/98 at Pleasure Island Walt Disney World Orlando Florida for the Big Bang Radio Broadcast concert series. This coloured vinyl album (with outstanding sound quality!) for Record Store Day 2019 is this performance’s first release on a physical format!

Mother & Son ‘Mother & Sun’ LP:
Re-issue of cult favourite Wollongong garage pop duo.

Regurgitator’s Pogogo Show LP:
‘The Really Really Really Really Boring Album’ LP Renowned Brisbane funtime outfit Regurgitator release their latest project: a sugar-soaked record cooked up especially for kids! And released on vinyl for RSD.

Tash Sultana ‘Flow State’ 2LP WHITE VINYL:
Tash Sultana’s massive debut album ‘Flow State’ is getting a special pressing for RSD on WHITE vinyl.

The Amity Affliction ‘Youngbloods’ AQUAMARINE LP:
Youngbloods is the 2010 sophomore album from Brisbane metalcore heavyweights The Amity Affliction. The third pressing of the vinyl, is a RSD exclusive in a limited aquamarine colourway containing two bonus tracks ‘Snicklefritz’ and ‘15 Pieces of Flare’.

The Apartments ‘Live At L’Ubu’ 2LP:
Australian band The Apartments, led by Peter Milton Walsh are issuing their first LIVE album, a two‐disc recording by French television in 2015 of the band’s legendary performance at L’Ubu club in Rennes, France. Mixed by Wayne Connolly, mastered by Don Bartley in Australia, The Apartments ‐ LIVE at L’Ubu is the Greatest Hits collection fans have been wanting for a long time.

The Birthday Party ‘Mutiny/Bad Seed’ 2LP:
The final two studio recordings by seminal Australian post-punk band The Birthday Party, compiled as a 2 EP set. After the extreme sounds of 1981’s Junkyard, the band relocated to Berlin in August 1982. Now an intense and tightly focused four piece, the band recorded two extraordinary EPs – The Bad Seed and the posthumously released Mutiny. The Bad Seed remains the band’s most fully realised and enduring recording.

The Loved Ones ‘Magic Box’ PINK LP:
Originally released in 1967, ‘Magic Box’ features the hit singles ‘Ever Lovin’ Man’ and ‘Sad Dark Eyes’ along with ‘The Loved Ones’ which was later covered by INXS. The Loved Ones are regarded as one of the most significant Australian bands of the 1960’s. 52 years later, the album has been lovingly remastered and released on limited edition hot pink 180gm vinyl.

The Reels ‘The Reels’ LP:
To this day, The Reels still stand tall as pioneers of that sound and the most innovative and successful Australian indie rock bands of all time. First and only pressing in this format to celebrate 40 years of The Reels.