Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross release their score for the internet-breaking Netflix film Bird Box

The newest Netflix horror sensation Bird Box, whose memes precede it, was scored by none other than Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross of Nine Inch Nails.

They have now released the eerie 10-track, 66 minute long, abridged version of the Bird Box soundtrack, which will have your heart jumping all over again.

trent reznor atticus ross bird box soundtrack

Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross have released an abridged version of their soundtrack to Netflix horror sensation Bird Box.

High-resolution audio is available for purchase on the Nine Inch Nails website, though the same version will be available to stream by the 25th January.

The pair say they “will be releasing a more expansive (read: more self-indulgent) physical-only offering this Spring that will contain an additional hour of music and artwork that colours further outside the lines.”

A statement on their website says, “Like all soundtrack records we release, we aim for these to play like albums that take you on a journey and can exist as companion pieces to the film and as their own separate works.”

“We’ve created a significant amount of music and conceptual sound for Bird Box, a lot of which never made it to your ears in the final version of the film. We’ve decided to present you with this version of the soundtrack record that represents what Bird Box is to us. We hope you enjoy.”

The film is set in a dystopian world where people encounter their greatest fears, and covering your eyes with a blindfold is the only protection.

As well as BirdBox, the duo scored Jonah Hill’s Mid 90sThe Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, and The Social Network, which won an Academy Award for best original score in 2011.


01. Outside
02. Undercurrents
03. Looking Forwards and Backwards
04. What Isn’t Anymore
05. Sleep Deprivation
06. Careful What You Wish For
07. A Hidden Moment
08. And It Keeps Coming
09. Close Encounters
10. Last Thing Left

Via Consequence of Sound.